Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Carillon Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 881 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 28, 2014

This is a fabulous school with great teachers , the comment written on jan 27 th is totally shocking and in my opinion and I'm sure many others opinions is definitely not true
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

The second grade teachers have so much passion in what they do. They believe in their students. Amazing school. I dislike the exterior entrances, but I believe the administration does their best to make it safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2014

The school is full of hazing and abusive teachers. It is more like a survivor camp not like a school. One teacher told me it is my fault that she even has to work. Aweful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2013

I went to carillon and now I'm a student at Hagerty. I had really good teachers. My favorite teacher that I had is Ms. Patterson she's always their for all her students, and she's understanding.


Posted January 18, 2013

We absolutely LOVE Carillon! The administration, staff and faculty are 100% devoted to the education and safety of our kids! I would highly recommend anyone moving to the Oviedo area to check Carillon out! It is one of the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2012

I can not say enough about the teachers at this school. They are wonderfully caring and committed to their students. The music teacher especially is out of this world dedicated. My children have been attending this school for several years and I can't say enough about it. Love love love the teachers here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2012

Carillon Elementary is a fabulous school. I have 2 children there now, and my 3rd starting in the fall. We walk to school whenever we can. I know my children are safe there and they learn exponentially every day! Teachers at Carillon truly care for the education of my children. Love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2012

My 2 children LOVE Carillon and the staff is very supportive. We moved in walking distance to Carillon and have never regretted it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

What a great school! Currently have a 4th grader, 1st grader and a 3 year old coming soon! I couldn't have asked for better teachers, staff or principal, all wonderful people!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2010

While I was very excited initially about this school, my excitment turned to disapointment. There is a strong "clique" at this school and bullying has been going on for years. I know of several parents who have removed kids and the administration blames it on the one being bullied. I have had to pull my child out due to school inaction. How long will the administration allow this to go on? Even one case of bullying is too much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2010

Having three children go to this school and thrive the way they have, I have to say the faculty at Carillon are dedicated to the children and hold high standards of education to themselves. They have always been 100% with all my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Close friendships and wonderful teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2009

Carillon Elementary School is a wonderful school! For any parent to say that there are cliques, needs to look at themselves and see how much they are volunteering at the school. It's real easy to complain and do nothing to better the school. Get involved! Parents that are involved enjoy spending time together, talking about the school and how they can make it better. As far as bullying, the school can only do so much. Maybe as parents, we should step up and teach our own children to be more kind and understanding. Bullying is a behavior that kids learn at home. And fundraising??? If not for fundraising at our school, there would be no Math Superstars, or Accelerated Reader, or Super Scientist, and no special activities that our children enjoy and learn from. Everything costs money--even copies!!! That's where the fundraiser money goes. Back into our school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2009

Over the years there have been parental cliques being formed, that could be leading to the bullying as mentioned by other parents. Perhaps this school is suffering from too much parental intervention, and too much fund-raising.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2009

What can I say, as a military family moving around, out of 5 schools we have been to, this school by far exceeds the others. My children are very happy here, and so am I.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2008

The problem with bullies at this school is out of control and the staff is in denial. Getting a meeting with the principal after meetings with the teachers and counselors have failed is impossible. The teachers are amazing with what they have to work with,the counselors as well however when you get to the top of the chain it all falls apart and you get nowhere. I wish there were more parent involvement it may cut down on issues and bring awareness to the situations within the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2008

I strongly agree with the last 2 as well, about the principal, the new principal hides in the office and is peoccupied with numbers and FCATS rather than the students. There is NO communication between parents and the principal unless the parent really pushes. This makes a uncomfortable situaltion during meetings as you feel the pricipal is not there to help in any way, except keeping her numbers up. It is truely a shame. Thank goofness for the teachers and staff, on the other hand, they are excellent and very supportive. They alone deserve 5 stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2008

Would have to reluctantly agree with the previous entry. I had written years ago about the excellent staff, faculty and principal, but the new principal is very stand-offish, very clinical...elementary principals need to be a bit softer and more communicative with parents and children...this is really an improtant age for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

My both kids went to school here, the staff is amazing the new principal does not have the leadership qualities to run the school, there is lack of communication between the parent and the principal.The school preformance is declined in the past year. The school deserves the good rating because of the great teachers who pour out their soul who make our children succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2005

My son started Kindergarten at this school and so far I am very pleased with it. The facilities are great, they have comptuer lab, music and art classes. The drop off and pick up arrangement is very organized and I feel as if my child is quite safe. I have recieved lots of communication from my child's teacher so far. This school really deserves all the good ratings it gets.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

139 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

139 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

183 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

183 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

182 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

86 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 69%
Hispanic 14%
Asian 7%
Black 6%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 9%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 57%53%61%
Master's degree 43%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DR. ANALYNN J JONES
Fax number
  • (407) 320-4699

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3200 Lockwood Boulevard
Oviedo, FL 32765
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 320-4650

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT