Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Evans Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 910 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

49 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2009

I took my daughter out of this school a few years ago mostly due to the rude, sarcastic front office staff. It was really disgusting. The principal did nothing to help when I complained.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2009

My daughter went to Evans from K thru 1st grade...I found the staff wonderful, supportive and kind. The Principal was the Best! I moved, and she is now a student at Casselberry Elementary, and this is another great school. I have 5 children and have had experience with plenty of schools over the years. These are the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2009

The office people is the worse, rude and very arrogant. I totally agree with the comments that they have good teachers but in general the staff is real bad, see the web page, you can't communicate with the teachers they are always asking just for money and the kids have a lot of press. My child does not like to go to school. I totally agree they don't care about learning in general, the only format that they understand is FCAT....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

We have never been so disappointed with a school! From the front office to the principal they are condescending and rude! There may be a few good teachers but they are overshadowed by the 'just putting in my time'teachers. I have witnessed the principal just sit back and watch her front desk staff be rude and nasty. I truly believe that the tone of the school is set by the principal and I can just hope she is retiring soon!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2009

This is an excellent school. My Daughter has a great teacher. Evans is very well organized and they do care very much about the students education. I never had a problem with the front desk staff. Everytime I walk into the front desk they great me.. My child is an A student. We love Evans Elementry.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2009

We are completely unhappy with Evans, and removing our child. I agree with the other posters that the teaching is completely centered around the FCAT, with no regard for any real life learning. There are a few good teachers, but for the most part, parents are actively discouraged from participating in the child's education. Most teachers do not allow parents to volunteer in the classroom. If you walk into the front office, you will be more likely met with sarcasm (if you're not ignored) than help. The school is disorganized -- my child has been frequently misplaced. If you have an intelligent child who tests well and you fit the average demographic (race, political views, etc) for this area, then your child should love this school. If you have any differences, then you should consider one of the magnet schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2009

This school is a great school for the average student. The school performs very well on the FCAT, and they have some great teachers here. As soon as the current principal retires and they get some new people into the guidance department they should be fine. Most parents and kids loves this school. I would recommend his school for the average student and you child will do well at this school. Please do not move to this school if you child is gifted or has any disability. This school does not know how to deal with these students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

I have two girls who go to school. There have been a couple of times when they were under par but their teachers were so helpful to the girls and to my husband and myself. They showed us what we could do at home to help them and took extra time with the girls. I love the support in the school and how involved the parents are. I think it makes Evans a strong school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2008

My son has been in three diffrent schools in his short school career.A total of one year is all it took to make me transferre him out. The office staff was one of the rudest I have ever experinced, I dreaded going in to the office for anything. FCAT was top Priority. Their outlook on a child a little out side the box and vary out going is harsh. I would never put my son back in that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2008

My son has been in three diffrent schools in his short school career.A total of one year is all it took to make me transferre him out. The office staff was one of the rudest I have ever experinced, I dreaded going in to the office for anything. FCAT was top Priority. Their outlook on a child a little out side the box and vary out going is harsh. I would never put my son back in that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2008

I transferred my child as soon as I could from this school. We felt that the teaching was primarily FCAT related. We wanted a well rounded education for our children a we felt this WAS NOT a priority at EVANS. We felt our teacher was apathetic and detached. We got no support from the principle who seemed to view our concerns as a nuisance. We have since moved our children to different Seminole County School and are extremely pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2008

Evans is a nice looking school, the staff is friendly, but we have had a teacher that we did not feel was up to par two different years at this school. Evans is FCAT centered. They are not able to truly help when a child needs anything extra. It's a 'that's not my job' feel from some of the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2008

I have had several experiences w/ elementary schools, and I am very disappointed w/ Evans. The teacher (principle included) seemed to care primarily about the schools FCAT statedus and less about providing students w/ a well rounded education. My son was labeled as below grade level at Evans b/c he thinks outside the box, after transfering he was tested as gifted (this was from a different Seminole county school) tested as gifted at all other schools but b/c they think outside the box....not allowed at this school!!! He was later tested at another Seminole County School and placed in gifted math and is above grade level in all subjects...they took the time to get to know my child. If you want a child with strong critical thinking skills...Run from Evans...if you are happy w/ just good testing taking scores,and questionable teachers ..Evan is the place for you!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2008

Evans is a fabulous school. I came from the state of Massachusetts and my child was in a very high ranking district up north. I can tell you that Evans is academically in that same outstanding range. They truly work with the parents and have programs that enrich and assist all students to perform at high level standards. They truly stick to the motto no child left behind. Kudos to Evans Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

achademicly this is a great school, only problem is if you don't get a good teacher you have no help from the higher office! The front office staff would be happy if there were no parents allowed into the school or on the phone! They are rude and unhelpful. This also includes the principal who lets them get away with it! Most teachers are great but as previously stated - soon move onto better run schools so each year you take pot luck! If we were able to send our kids somewhere else we would!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

My daughter went to this school and we had no problems. My son who has ADD went to this school and we spent years trying to get him the support he needed in order to be successful at Evans. Overall, we were very disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2007

This school was supposed to be a great school due to it being modernized and the computer lab. It has been great for one of my children who fits the norm. However, my other child has not had a nice experience. If you get an experienced teacher everything is great. If not, you are out of luck. The teachers have very little flexibility in the classroom. Overall, we are seeking to move into another school system as Evan's is not prepared to deal with these issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2006

Overall this school is an OK school, it all depends on the teacher your child is assigned to. If you do not have the 'right' teacher and your child does not fit the 'Normal' mold then its not that great of a school. Their primary focus is preparing for the test(FCAT) which is why this school seems good from the outside, but if the school is that great then why would so many teachers leave as they had leave after last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

We left a private school because so many of our neighbors raved about Evans Elementary. This is our 3rd year and we could not be more satisfied. The enrichment programs, media center and computer lab exceeded what he was getting at a small private school. The teachers have been phenomenal and very responsive to our son and us. He is thriving and we are so happy with our decision to have him go to Evans.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2006

Overall, I'm not displeased with Evans. Academically, the school does well, but it teaches to the test and at least in our experience, it fails to take into consideration that these little kids need downtime, too. I am currently looking to transfer my son to another school, or else move outside the boundaries of Evans Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

146 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

153 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

152 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

152 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

127 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 61%
Hispanic 21%
Black 8%
Asian 6%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 172%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 26%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 55%53%61%
Master's degree 44%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • 5 Star Award (2006)
  • 5 Star Award (2007)
  • A+ school for the past 7 years. (2007)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30
School end time
  • 3:00
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • MS. CAROLANN DARNELL
Fax number
  • (407) 320-9899

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 East Chapman Road
Oviedo, FL 32765
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 320-9850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT