Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

884 students|Seminole
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
53 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 72 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Evans Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2016
- a parent
My daughter has been at Evans for 3 years now, and we have loved every one of her teachers. She just completed the second grade, and was actually sad about summer coming and no longer getting to go to school every day. They are obviously providing a wonderful environment for the kids there!

Evans Elementary School 5

Posted October 16, 2015
- a parent
This is my daughter's 2nd year at Evans and it has been a wonderful experience. She is in 1st grade and has excelled in academics. Her teacher last year and this year are great and she enjoys going to school. She is an AR reader and I love this program to challenge and push her further. We love Evans!


Evans Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 16, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Slavik made Kindergarten a wonderful experience for my daughter. Because of her, my daughter got a great first experience in a school environment and set the tone for her excitement for learning.

Evans Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted October 16, 2015
- a parent
I love the message you can find all over the school, "Make good choices" as a reminder to students

Evans Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 16, 2015
- a parent
My daughter invited her teacher to her birthday and she actually showed up. I thought that was so nice for her to take time out of her weekend and to show up and it meant to o much to my child.


Evans Elementary School 5

Posted January 23, 2015
- a parent
I find the school very good in taking of kids education needs. My daughter has been in Evans for 2 years and all teachers have been great so far. I have no complaints.

Evans Elementary School 3

Posted October 22, 2014
- a parent
The school does not follow state law for student to teacher ratio. The school always has three or four extra students in class then what is allowed by state law. Look at the test scores history on this page, you can see the decline of the school slowly as the free lunch kids increase. The comment I read about the Section 8 housing is in line with the decline of the test scores and is valid to some degree. Anyway the communication is ok, but the administrative staff always seems to be reactive and planning for events are not very coordinated. The teachers like all government schools are just teaching to the CommonCore standardized test. If the subject or topic is not in the test then your child is not taught it. The whole school years focus is the standardized test not learning. Honestly its not the teachers fault they seem to be being pulled in all directions by their management, union, politicians, and corporations. So Evans is a Ok school, your child will focus on memorizing standardizing testing and fundraising but as for independent critical thinking skills look elsewhere if you can. (homeschooling or private schools)

Evans Elementary School 5

Posted May 28, 2014
- a parent
My Kindergarten student had a wonderful experience at the school. The teacher was very creative and made my little one's learning experience fun. She looked forward to every day and was sad when the year ended. As for the staff, they learned who I was very early on and made me feel at home. My only criticism would be the after school programs, which I felt were a little lacking.


Evans Elementary School 3

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
Evans is a decent school, with good teacher/student ratios. It was a GREAT school under previous leadership. However, the new principals are floundering, creating policies that don't allow you to lunch with your child (1x week only), and they do not do a good job of keeping parents informed and engaged. The Gifted program is a joke - it is only 1x week, on the "short" day. So, my child is bored the rest of the week, and likely to disrupt the others due to boredom. The front office staff has been rude to me, and to other students or parents who have come in while I've been there. We used to be excited to be at Evans and are now looking at other options.

Evans Elementary School 1

Posted May 16, 2014
- a parent
Awful place. Teachers sulk and complain. Students bully each other relentlessly with no consequences. Parents bully the teachers and administration. There is a complete lack of boundaries between teachers and parents and they can often be overheard gossiping together which makes for an incredibly uncomfortable environment. The inmates are running the prison.

Nearby schools

Evans Elementary School
100 East Chapman Road, Oviedo, FL  32765
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 72 reviews. (407) 320-9850
Last modified Evans Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top