Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Columbia Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 615 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 12, 2013

Columbia Elementary how is that a school can now 2 years in a row lose registration paper work ? even after calling to make sure the paperwork was turned in and that the school had it . we were told that they did have it but today all of a sudden it disappeared on the day of registration . hopefully winning 5000$ will help this school hire better people so important paper work isn't just misplaced or lost
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2012

My child is in a pre-school program due to a language delay. I adore his teacher and her assistant. He has come so far and learned so much by attending his class. The administration has also been helpful and wonderful with his transition from a home therapist to his school class. Everyday he does something new and my fridge is full of his work. My husband and I couldn't be more proud of him or more grateful to his teacher and her assistant...the only thing I detest is the lack of parking and the disaster of a car loop--neither of which affect my son's learning on any level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2011

Columbia is the school for you if: * You put your child's learning solely in the hands of the teacher without being involved. * Your child's voice is irrelevant when seeking support or help from their teacher. * Cleanliness is optional. * its o.k for your child to stay in the office during teaching time. * Low moral, lack of diversity on staff, limited extra-curricular activities isn't important. * Poor leadership and complacent staff is acceptable( not all, but most) * Limited resources are outdated/broken. * your child can be talked down and treated any kind of way. Parents, if you are zoned to use this school please be active in your child's learning. Visit often. Use your voice and utilize your rights as a parent. Remember, teachers get paid regardless if your child is learning or not. It's o.k. to make them do their jobs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

I disagree with most of the last reviewer's comments. The adminstrative staff has always been friendly helpful and the teachers do a good job. I think too often they are burdened down with getting the kids ready for testing that they can't always focus on the particular needs of their class. My son has always had homework every day since day 1. He is finishing second grade this year and started here in kindergarten. My issues with the school are as I stated before, the teachers focus so much on what the state thinks is important for testing that students that have issues in other areas don't get the practice they need. My son is above average in reading and math but has difficulties with writing. There isn't much time in class to work on writing skills because they focus so much of the time on reading comprehension.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2009

I have NOT had a pleasant eexperience at Comumbia Elementary! The administrative staff is very rude and unhelpful. The teachears are pretty friendly but they DO NOT teach. Everydsy my child comes home without homework. I'm afraid of what life will be like for her when she tansititons to middle school. I know I will have to be in there with her even more because it will be so different for her. I wish I had not sent her there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2008

the school needs alot of cleaning and updating.The teachers do not teach well enough for gifted students.I am happy with the extra ciricular activities.I felt like in 6th grade I was treated like i was in kindergarden.I was not ready for the big change between elementary school and middle school.We had line order and had to sit that way in lunch.Three to a table and you were not facing anybody.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2007

As far as I am concern this school is one of the best in Brevard County. They have an excellent principal and staff, and a lot of other public school administrators could learn a lot from them.


Posted July 16, 2007

Great school. Excellent maintenance. Teachers always in high spirits. Kids actually enjoy learning.


Posted April 10, 2007

Speaking from firsthand experiences I personally would not suggest this school. I don't think it is totally poor but much more could be done to bring its rating up from 6 to 10. The sky is the limit on how to raise the academics of the students. Columbia offers music and art. I haven't noticed much parent participation at the school. I don't participate much due to the unfriendly office atmosphere, low morale amongst staff and complacent attitudes. Unfortunately its easier to keep my child there and work with him at home with add'l resources. If your are looking for a good school who is in the business of meeting the needs of children I suggest you research the local schools in our area. Christie McAuliffe, Westside, Port Malabar and Lockmar have had some great reviews. Good luck in your search for good quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2006

Parents, please consider other nearby public schools other than Columbia for your children. The students are out of control and basically running the school. Low morale and turnover of teachers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
42%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

98 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 54%
Black 20%
Hispanic 16%
Two or more races 9%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 9%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 69%58%61%
Master's degree 29%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. PAMELA J BLOUNT
Fax number
  • (321) 952-5854

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1225 Waco Boulevard Southeast
Palm Bay, FL 32909
Website: Click here
Phone: (321) 676-1319

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT