Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Christa Mcauliffe Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 769 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 4, 2013

The teachers are all young, dolled up, barely old enough to have kids themselves, straight out of college, and think because they went to college for 4 years they know how to take care and teach children - sadly mistaken. There is no patience with students who have any slight problems or just don't want to be pressed into their pattern. They try to "weed the unfavorable" students out as early as possible in order to get the best rating they possibly can in order to keep their jobs. Please do your homework before sending any chiild to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2013

Hello, My name is Linda I am looking into relocating to NE NEOSHO ST Palm Bay Florida. My worried is that my grandaughter have slight learning disability . she needs extra help at school. Does the school have programs or extra help? I apreciate for any information that my help. Thank you, Linda


Posted February 24, 2011

I do hope the next time I go into the school I have a better experience. I walked into the office to ask when registration starts for Kidnergarden. I said "Hi, my son turns five next month and I would like to know what he would need to enroll?" The woman did not smile, nothing all I got was "Registration is in April." Really smug and rude. Absolutely uncalled for. She stands there staring at me while I'm trying to figure out what I did wrong she says "So, are you in the district?" I said "I think so my house is just two blocks down the road." She smarts off with "Doesn't matter you have to find out before I can help you." I had enough of it, so I stated "Well I couldn't locate anything online. I'll just go somewhere else thank you." Suddenly she changes her attitude with "Oh wait I can check for you." I do hope next time I have a better experience because this is the only school in my district. Really not happy at all. I wish I could take him to John F. Kennedy Elementary the staff was really sweet and helpful. It hurts that I can't take him there instead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

My girls have been attending this school for four years now. They have excelled greatly thanks to the great teaching and structure provided at Christa McAuliffe. I am very thankful that they were able to attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2007

My daughter has attended this school for 6 yrs now, and my son for 2. The office staff, & teachers are great. Parent involvement is good and the principle and vice principle are doing a great job with the school. I have enjoyed watching my children grow and learn here and would like to thank everyone at Christa Mcauliffe for doing such a great job with my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

Christa McAuliffe is an excellent school that we have been proud to be a part of for the last 6 years. The school has a great curriculum and a superb teaching staff. I was always a part of 'Field Day' and all field trips as an 'Apple Corp' chaperone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

It is a wonderful school with great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2006

Excelent teachers, they take there time to teach each child based on there capabilities and if they can not achieve that they will find a tutor to help my child has increased his learning by one full grade ahead
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2006

My daughter thrived here. A safe and warm environment to learn. Walked the walk on character development with the students and didn't just talk the talk. Good class sizes and dedicated teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2005

My daughter attended this school for k and it was wonderful. The staff in the office was great every time that I had a question they always had an answer. My daughter's teacher was great as well. The only thing that I did not like was the cafateria food. My daughter usually brought her own lunch. That was the only downfall to the entire school. I would recmmend this school to anyone with kids in elem school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2005

I think this school is just wonderful. The teachers and students are nice. The school is very clean. A very good learning environment.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 11, 2005

This is an excellent school, the atmosphere is great and they are truley concerned on education I am very happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2004

My son has attended this school for the past two years, and my daughter for the past year. I would have to say that I have really appreciated this school for both of my children. What has really helped me stay involved with their education at Christa McAuliffe is the prompt responses to my emails to their teachers. Both of my children are also enrolled in the Educare program and enjoy it immensely. We have moved and the children will be attending Palm Bay Elementary next year. We will definitely miss all of the staff and students at Christa McAuliffe.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
54%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

105 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 50%
Black 21%
Hispanic 21%
Two or more races 6%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 7%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 69%58%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. CAROL A RODDENBERRY
Fax number
  • (321) 952-5985

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

155 Del Mundo Street Northwest
Palm Bay, FL 32907
Website: Click here
Phone: (321) 768-0465

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT