Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Southwest Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 966 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 15, 2013

I had 2 children attend for all of 7th and 8th grade. Both children excelled in the GAPP program with HONORS! I appreciate the sternness the principal sets with dress code and pda. The students know what is expected from the and their behavior. No surprises at all! Thank you to the GREAT SOUTHWEST! I look forward to my next 2 children to start next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

My child graduated from two years in the GAPP program. We went out of area and drove miles to attend. Excellent program within the school, teachers were very challenging and involved. Excellent art and music teachers as well. Principal stays on top of child behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

Both of my children attended this school. My daughter just graduated from the GAPP program. Both of them took Band and really excelled. My husband and I really love the administration here! They go out of their way to set things straight. My son took art here and did wonderfully. My daughter took tv productions and loved it. They were both involved in clubs and enjoyed watching the basketball games. We did have to do Out of Area enrollment when the schools were redistricted, but wouldn't have had it any other way! Great teachers, staff and organization! GO BRONCOS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2013

Over all this school is great. My daughter is has been in full GAP and has received everything that I could have asked for from her teachers. The only complaint that I have is in regards to the acknowledgment that my daughter and her team mates have NOT received for their achievement in FPS. The past two years the principal has made a very big deal about the Math Team and TSA but very little is said about FPS and the accomplishments that these kids have made. The FPS team won 3rd place in state this year and nothing was said at the end of year ceremony in regards to this but the achievements that the Math team and TSA made were talked about in detail. My daughter was very discouraged and very hurt by this and felt that her hard work was not good enough compared to the other 2 teams. I feel that if you are going to make a big deal about certain groups during an award ceremony and need to do so for the others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2013

Southwest Middle School is a family that is fully involved with the children at all times. The teachers give their all in teaching and getting the kids to learn to the best of their ability. They shoot for the stars with all the kids. Tutoring and extra help is always available, the teachers and staff go above and beyond for the kids. I am glad my daughter attended Southwest. She has excelled in her confidence and in her academics. She was challenged and took full advantage of this and when she needed help she got all the help she needed to achieve what she wanted. As far as the fighting and bullying this is in all schools no matter how bad and good schools are. Its just the way the kids are, but here at Southwest they hold no tolerance for that and we have a police officer on campus all the time so the kids are in control alittle more. I would not have put my daughter in any other school here in Palm Bay. I am very pleased with the way my daughter has developed into a caring, responsible young adult in all aspects.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2013

Do not put your child in this school. Not satisfied on how the school's administration team handled bullying in the school. This review is based on what happened to a family member of mine. The bulling became very serious and noone within the school takes it seriously. The child in question is not being home schooled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2012

I am a parent of a very difficult 8th grader, however I have been undermined at every turn just to get her to pass. She has been experiencing serious mental issues through out the year, and yet, all the school does is suspend her for being tardy, thus further rewarding bad behavior with a day out of school. When I have expressed my outrage at this ridiculous practice, I have been laughed at and ridiculed by the administration. Only one counselor has attempted to help out with our apparently hopeless situation. If you are looking for a supportive learning environment that values student assistance over policy enforcement, don't send your child to this
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2012

Excellent School! My child has attended this school for 3 years. This is her last year and I have never had a complaint about this school. The teachers are wonderful and care about each student. The school principal and administration, counselors etc. take pride in their work making sure that every child succeeds and is treated with respect. The advance courses offered have excellent staff too. I'm so blessed my child attends this school. Great school! an A+++++++++++ school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2011

i go to southwest at the moment and it is a great school there are activities for everyone and the advnced program is great :)


Posted September 16, 2009

Three of my five children were invovled in their excellent music programs. The teachers are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2008

This school is great! My daughter started middle school this year and couldn't be happier! Great advanced classes, great teachers, the principal is very involved. Beginning Band with Ms Berry is Awesome!! Taking kids from never playing instruments to concert in a few short months!! Amazing. She is an inspiring teacher. Great school overall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2008

This school has far exceeded my expectations. The office staff, faculty and everyone involved has been great from the start. I understand that a school's success is only great when the student puts forth the effort to make it so. Thanks goodness for Southwest. Great school! A+++
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2006

The administration does not contact parents, and in my opionion shows favoritism towards certain students, and when they do call you, theres no help for you. I had 4 children go through this school, and I do not like the way they were treated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2006

I was not impressed with Southwest at all. I never received any phone calls from the teachers even though my daughter was not doing too well. The locker situation is like none I have ever seen and my daughter and her classmates had several books & PE uniforms stolen from their lockers. The teachers did nothing when my daughter brought this to their attention and we owed the school $25 for the books being stolen. I have put my daughter in a charter school for the 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2006

The teachers are good, but the administration doesn't listen to parents
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2005

My child is relatively new, and so far I'm impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2005

My daughter received a great education at southwest. She was more than prepared for high school. The skills she developed in the GAP program will serve her the rest of her school career.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2005

southwest middle school has an excellent program for children education.the school is very safe and the administration is very responsible and capable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2003

'THE GREAT SOUTHWEST' is an excellent school in all areas. My child is in 8th grade at Southwest Middle School and loves it. Her excellent grades show it. I, as a parent, am very impressed with our teachers and staff. We have an excellent academic program and many extracurricular activities. We are proud to be an 'A' school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

388 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

431 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

320 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

491 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

489 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

491 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

484 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

182 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
85%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 52%
Black 22%
Hispanic 18%
Two or more races 6%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 56%58%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 6%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. D. TODD SCHEUERER
Fax number
  • (321) 952-5819

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Track
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

451 Eldron Boulevard Southeast
Palm Bay, FL 32909
Website: Click here
Phone: (321) 952-5800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT