Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Royal Palm Charter School

Charter | K-8 | 281 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2014

Royal Palm Charter School is an excellent school. It is Kindergarten through 8th grade. I have been involved with the school for several years and I only see it getting better and better. The education my children have received there has exceeded my expectations! The teachers, staff and principal strive to make education a priority. There are several after-school clubs available that help enrich and encourage the children. If you are looking for a friendly atmosphere where your child will excel look no further. The parent involvement and support help make this school a great school! If you want your child to have an advantage in their education over other schools in our area, this should be your choice for your children s school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

As a teacher, I couldn't be more proud to be part of the Royal Palm team. Our principal and staff go out of their way to provide an excellent working environment. The ability to teach to our students' individual needs coupled with continuing education opportunities make going to work a joy.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 30, 2014

I am proud to tell everyone that my children attend Royal Palm Charter. They cater to each child's needs and truly love each child. All the teachers know and care for all the kids! All the students are caring to one another, it's amazing to see the older students interact and love on the younger students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2014

Royal Palm has a beautiful new building with cafeteria, library, music, and art. I am so thankful my child could continue her advanced education at Royal Palm with their middle school program. The teachers and staff are exceptional and caring. Feels like a family atmosphere, my children enjoy and feel safe here. I also love that Royal Palm offers many after school clubs and sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2014

I LOVE THE STAFF AND TEACHERS AT ROYAL PALM. The middle school program is small, but mighty. My son is so ready for 9th grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2014

Royal Palm goes above and beyond any other school!! My daughter is well above grade level in both math and reading. She loves going to school every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2014

I could not be more proud to represent Royal Palm Charter School as a Kindergarten teacher for the second year in a row. From the moment I arrived on campus I knew this place would feel like a close-knit family and I was correct! The teachers truly care about their students and take the time to differentiate instruction so that all students have a chance to flourish at their own pace. Every student is guided toward their goals and provided with the assistance needed in order to reach their fullest academic potential at Royal Palm. Our Principal, Mrs. Shannon Shupe, has experience teaching multiple grade levels and thus, brings an attitude of hard work, dedication and an understanding of different family situations to her leadership role. She is easy to approach and will surely go out of her way in any way she possibly can for her staff, students and parents. Our Assistant Principal, Tresa Vernon, also brings many years of teaching experience to the table as well as experience being a Principal herself. This allows her to assist in the daily running of such an amazing school with grace, poise and confidence. Come see Royal Palm for yourself! You won't be disappointed.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 29, 2012

I'm not understanding why a teacher would write such negative things about their place of employeement. I sure hope you are not one of my children's teachers.....I can't imagine if you are that unhappy, that you would provide a quality education for mine or anyone elses children. I have only been a parent at Royal Palm for a few years....and the things that you are talking about are inaccurate. I have never felt as if my children were not safe in the pick up or drop off line. My children love to eat outside and if the weather is not adequate, then the boys and girls eat in their classroom. There are no perfect schools, but the positives sure outweigh the negatives at this one. My children are getting an excellent education and that should be number one on any parents list.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2012

School's education standards have dropped drastically. Math and Science are dramatically behind current education standards for grades 4th 7th.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2012

- Does not have adequate parking. - Does not curtail bad student behavior or enforce their own rules and punishments. - Provides an extremely dangerous student pick-up environment. - Lunch room is outside, so students sweat while eating and deal with bugs. - Mathematics education is deplorable! Sixth grade still learning decimals. - No science books and not enough books to go around in other subjects. - A lot of the good teachers have left to other schools.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 25, 2012

I have nothing but positive feedback about this school. The staff and teachers are great, and the classes are fantastic. My son has excelled exponetially since we moved him to Royal Palm. Why this other parent would rate it one star because she got a speeding ticket is ridiculous. The police are out there because Royal Palm is right on a busy road with minimal parking. 1+1=2. Maybe take some classes yourself?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2012

This school is a good for your childern to have a strong learning background but as far as the police sitting in front of the school waiting to ticket the parents every month what gives no other school has this going on execpt for Royal Palm Charter School. Is there some kinda of a deal going on with the sherriff's department and the school's owner.


Posted March 6, 2012

As a staff member I appreciate being a part of an atmosphere where my thoughts and concerned are valid. I appreciate just being able to teach and not jumping through hoops. I'm allowed to look at each student as an individual and plan my days as needed, not by what day/time it is and what the county said I should be doing...but rather by what my students truly need. I love the Core Knowledge program and appreciate being able to give my students a much broader education rich with history/literature and science. There is much more to life than just math/science.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 5, 2012

This school is the best school i've been to in my intire life . you should come here. At this school they are loving and caring peole and students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2011

If you look at the recent teacher turn-over, it says a lot about how it has been run. More than half of the main teaching staff is new this upcoming year. Even the teachers hate it.


Posted July 24, 2011

I should give certain teachers a much higher score. Overall, the teachers are fantastic. The whole scores drops because of the pricipal and the management team. She (the principal) is extremely petty and childish. She talks about employees, students, and parents behind their backs. He (the manageron site) is a bully. I have seen him, standing over a teacher, yelling openly using profanity while students are present. The teachers put up with horrible treatment! The extracurricular activities are great, except for sports- nearly nothing (excpet soccer) when they can force a teacher to take on the responsibilty. The principal of 2010/ 2011 has managed to ruin the morale in the matter of ONE year, causing many teachers to leave or strongly look for other employment. If you want a loving school, this ISN'T for you. She makes this place uncomfortable. The other reviews must have been made before the current principal took over. PS: Most students don't fail in a charter school because of funding. Repeating a grade voids the funds the school gets from that particular student. Its all about money- not necessarily students drastic turnaround.


Posted February 25, 2011

I currently have a son enrolled in Royal Palm and would never move him any where else. My before going to Royal Palm attended Country Beginnings and loved it. He went to a public school for a little while and let's just say i was not happy, he was failing and I was concerned. I moved him in to Royal palm and now he is on honor roll and also in the advanced math class. I would recommend this school to anyone that asks and think it is a great place for a child to go. My daughter goes to Country Beginnings right now and when she is old enough she will also be attending Royal Palm.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

I am the grand mother of one of the students at the elementary while the other attends the PVK class at the day care(Country Beginings) next door. The daycare curriculum is excellent and her teacher is fabulous. My grand children are top students excelling in reading, possessing the ability to 'think things through' and conquer math all within in a nurturing environment. The elementary is exceptional and my other grand daughter is reading 2 grade levels higher. I can't say enough about the quality of the attention and movtivation she recieves from her teachers. She uses the computer at home on the PBS educational web site and programs I have purchased for she and her sister. They don't miss a beat not having a computer at the school. I love the drop off system in the morning with patrol guards and adult staff supervision. Top of the line school!!!


Posted June 18, 2009

After leaving public school and enrolling in Royal Palm, my child became outgoing, interested in school work, enjoyed going to school, and increased his learning interest. The teachers are excellent, caring, and truly wish to make a difference in a chils's life. I hope he now finds this in the middle school we have chosen. It is true, they have needs, like a lunchroom, but this does not play a big difference in learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

Wonderful School! I agree, much better than the public schools in this area. They keep you informed of everything concerning your child and the school & I could not ask for more. The kids are protected with a gate, unlike the public schools and what does a school nurse do anyway? They give the kids a bandaide or call the parents, just as this school does. So you don't have to have a nurse at the school for the children to get a very good education, as they do here.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

36 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
24%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
49%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

40 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

34 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

11 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

22 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

21 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

21 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

33 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 61%
Black 18%
Hispanic 10%
Two or more races 9%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 45%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/AN/A
Female 55%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 85%58%61%
Master's degree 15%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7145 Babcock St NE
Palm Bay, FL 32909
Website: Click here
Phone: (321) 723-0650

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT