Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Allamanda Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 615 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 31, 2014

My son loves this school. The ESE program is wonderful. The teachers really care and my son has learned so much. I just wish the grade went up to sixth. We will miss this school....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2014

My kids love the school. They provide with excellent education and also engage kids in learning with fun activities. I am grateful for the teachers at this school because they are continuously informing my kids improvement specially my son that is in special education. Very Happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2012

We are new to this school and love it! Moved here from another state. Everyone is so nice, helpful and friendly. Lots of after School Events too. Glad we are fortunate enough to start out in such a Great School in Florida. Here's to a Great Year at Allamanda! My child thinks all the kids and teachers are so nice too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

Do not send your ESE student to Allamanda if you have a choice! Use your McKay scholarship to move to an appropriate private school. Allamanda has the worst ESE teachers, low parent involvement, and the ladies at the front desk are rude and unprofessional. My childs teacher would take them to the bathroom (there's a bathroom in each classroom and no cameras allowed) when she was angry and twist his arm behind his back until he'd cry!! He only told me this after the school year was over and after he became more verbal due to outside of school therapy. Another teacher we had barely spoke or wrote proper English which I still can't comprehend why a school chooses to put such teacher in an ESE classroom when our children are delayed speech anyways. That was a wasted year and she was rude to my son after he was out of her class by ignoring him if he said hi to her at drop off and pick up after school. Aadditionally, we had a terrible wasted 3rd year in 2nd grade with DiCarlo. Lack of communication skills, looses it in the class room, disorganized, & disheveled. Transfer if u get her! Rona should retire! She is rude, disrespectful, and insensitive regarding our children. (Continue..)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

sadly this school has been on an out-of-control downward spiral as of 2009. We will be transferring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2011

Chapter 8 Sect. 8.025 state statute states in paragraph 13. PHYSICAL EDUCATION TIME (P.E. OR RECESS) TIME SHALL NOT BE WITHHELD AS A PUNISHMENT OR USED AS A PUNISHMENT. Allamanda DOES NOT abide by this law. It is not just 1 or 2 teachers that do not abide by this, but there are MANY teachers who do not abide by this. I have spoken with numerious parents and I am finding that this issue is equally a problem for the ESE program as it is with the main stream program. I DO NOT believe these ESE children should be "punished" by taking away their recess time! They should be "redirected" immediately after an incident, not punished. What good is taking away recess for a punishment 30minutes -1.5 hours later after the incendent occured?? At this point, they are not even connecting the dots. A child with Autism does not understand why they are being punished from recess when its up to 30min-an hour later. I do not think these teachers/office staff have been trained into how NOT to PUNISH our kids, but try redirecting them immediately. Then there is a chance we are getting through to these children and why something was wrong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2011

WHY is Allamanda hiring ESE teacher that barely speak good ENGLISH?!? Here we have a great ESE program, but then they hire teachers who's stronger language is SPANISH, speaking broken ENGLISH. WHY??!!? I cannot understand my child's teacher, let along can I expect my child to understand her. The journals they send home daily with their daily report of how their day went is written in such broken English, that I have to re-read it to understand. I rather them teach my child spanish rather then broken English. These teachers should be able to teach our children with special needs, language delays , comprehension problems, or with autism with clear, grammatically correct English! What are they thinking????!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2011

I LOVE LOVE LOVE Allamanda Elementary. My son who was in 5th came from North Palm Elementary (Awful). Let me tell you Allamanda surpassed my expectations. There is constant communication between the teachers, parents and student. I love the discipline structure at Allamanda. and Mrs Vonderhaar, Mrs Norman and Mrs Gorman are terrific!! My daughter also attended her first year (Kindergarten) this year and let me say ROCK ON Mrs. South and Mrs. Amber. They made it such a positive experience for my child and for us as parents. I have nothing but HIGH PRAISES for Allamanda. I never had any issues with pick up and drop off or returned phoned calls. Also take the opportunity to Volunteer once in a while it makes the kids happy and also helps the Teachers (I worked full time also). Thank you Allamanda and can't wait to next year!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2011

Principal Garcia is the most rude, beligerent and disrepectful person I have EVER conversed with. She sits on a high horse and refuses to return calls, and belittles parents when forced by the school board to finally call a parent back. Also the school is extremely strict during lunch time. The kids can barely talk without being told to be quiet. They are EXTREMELY loose with who picks up your kid from the curb. So be there @ 2pm when they come out. There are however some FANTASTIC teachers there who are head and shoulders above any I have encountered. Ms. Nelson (2nd grade) and Statlander (K) are AMAZING. The front desk staff are TOP NOTCH. Just avoid Ms. Herman for Kindergarten - she is horrible and mean to the children. If it wern't for the aformentioned things, I would rate a 5. But over-all a 3.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2011

To much pressure on the child all they do is worry and prep for FCATS, My child still has not been taught basic Time, Money etc and she is 9. We have to do hours of homework each day to catch up. Horriable way to send the child home.


Posted April 24, 2010

This school prepares the students for the best things in their future.


Posted March 22, 2010

This school claims they are an A rated school. A for Anxiety. Al they care about is the FCAT at the expense of our children learning nothing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2008

The more I get to volunteer here, the more I love this school! And most importantly, my son enjoys being in school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2008

By far i think this school is the best school in Palm Beach County. The Teachers are outstanding. They work with the children in a way the children can relate to. they also give alot of homework and that is great we need to stay on top of our kids educations. when i was young i can remember only getting homework once a week.


Posted November 1, 2007

i loved this school i went there from k to 5th grade the best school years i will never forget my teachers and 5th grade was the best school year amazing the school is great and the teacher r wonderful i have been in chorus since the 2nd grade and the music teacher is awesome it was a great expierience and i recommend this school mrs.south,ms.m,ms.nelson,ms.laplaca,ms.howe,and mrs gorman alll amazzzzing teachers
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 22, 2007

My son is just completing the third grade, & I must say I am disappointed in this past year. I have spoken to friends with children in the same grade at other schools,& they are much more advanced. I feel the year was spent teaching to the FCAT, with little learning in other areas. I feel a great deal was missed, & the children are behind their peers in other schools. I would like to see the administration care more about the kids then a state test.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2007

My daughter just finished 'k' and all I can say for you new parents is 'mrs. South!, mrs.South, mrs.South!' you will never find a more loving and wonderful teacher that goes way above and beyond. Fight, kick, and scream to get your children in her class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

My child is in the ESE program and I am really pleased at his progress! The staff is wonderful. They offer a dance program for the ESE students and he loves that. Parents are very nice and helpful. I love this school and I am happy we decided to send him there. A+ in my book.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2006

My son attended this school from k-5th grade. Overall i would say that it was a pretty good school, there were a few times that i had run ins with the vice principal and teachers, they were very few & far between thankfully. There are some incredible teachers at this school! if you are concerned about your child having a disability that needs to be tested at the school in my experience i started at the end of kindergarten and again all year during 1st grade asking for my son to be tested to see if he qualified for occupational therapy, etc & never got anywhere until the end of 2nd grade & beginning of 3rd grade before they really got the ball rolling with his testing & actually placing my son in the proper classes, etc. So my suggestion is to use your voice and fight for your child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2006

There is a godd extracurricular activities (for Crhistmas Kids did the Nutcrcracker (chorus and dance) Crhistamas carrols for the little ones...and not only for chistmas, alla over the year.) They worked on that for 4 months. and it was beautifull, they also made a presentation in City Place.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

79 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

83 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 42%
Hispanic 27%
Black 19%
Two or more races 7%
Asian 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 194%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 211%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%73%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 6%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. MARILU GARCIA
Fax number
  • (561) 803-7250

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10300 Allamanda Boulevard
Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33410
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 803-7200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Clare School
North Palm Beach, FL



St Mark's Episcopal School
Palm Beach Gardens, FL



Bright Futures Academy
Palm Beach Gardens, FL


The Benjamin School
North Palm Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT