Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Howell L. Watkins Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 782 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 13, 2014

I'm A Student at H.l Watkins!!! my school is one of the best school's in this universe, the teachers are the best teachers in the world they would do anything to help any student if needed my principal DR. Hoffman is the best principal any school could ever have..... the band program, medical and robotics program is the best experience you can have through the years you are there .. From the bottom of my heart i love the staff, my principal, and all the teachers.......And if your wondering if you should put your child at this school yes.. because i love my school and im pretty sure your child will love it also even you.......


Posted June 20, 2014

This is the worse injustice to a generation I've even seen in my career life. Teachers are unhappy , burnt out and some just don't care ,others are just counting the days to retirement. I feel sorry for the children, some teachers and most of all the country. The level of disrespect is unbelievable. H.L Watkins should be closed.NO tax dollars should be spent on such institution.


Posted June 1, 2014

I'm proud of my school it has really grown over the years.it has a nice medical academy and a pre engineering academy . i think this school is good it has nice enviorment and its preety good rated for a school 3 out of 10:(. this will be a really good school especially if your students want build amazing technolgy or learn on the medical field. in my opinion hl watkins is a really good school.(And mr.davis is not violent he's just a funny man with humorus jokes he's one of the wisest and greatest teachers you may encounter ;) .


Posted June 29, 2013

I am a student that went to Howell L. Watkins it is a very great school there is a music program that I was in and I had the chance to win medals for the school and sing in front of 2000 people just by going into the class also I was there 6 grade year my grades was good and they're still good in 7th grade and Im promoted to 8th grade and I love that school I was also on the cheerleading team but two years you should always bring your child to Howell L. Watkins don't think Howell L. Watkins is a bad school its not you sometimes think that because of the students that around your child and your child can be a leader so don't blame it on the school hope you read this and always bring your child to Howell L. Watkins Thankyou


Posted September 18, 2012

It is very fun at Hl Watkins mr David is the best math teacher but he is only for 5th grade but you get fun Friday and parties but he is also strict. The 7th grade math is mrs rudich and or mr Williams. The pre med program is fun to and these mentors come in and talk about there different fields of work. This was the best 3 years of my life and I would go to that school again if I had the chance. And they have a new principle because the old one went to dwyer high school. But forget what other people tell you because this school is the best


Posted July 12, 2012

If you really love your kids then you should take them out of that school. My daughter was there for sixth grade the first semester she did great, then she started acting up. Her math teacher Mr.Davis hits children and everyone in the entire school knows about this yet they do nothing to stop it. There's always drama and fights. She also told me ISS is the funniest place in the school because the person there lets the kids do whatever they want. I'm taking her out of that school and she's never going back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2012

My kids both attended HL Watkins in the Robotics program. They had wonderful teachers and Dr. Sheffield was an amazing principal. She has gone on to high school but hopefully the school will stay on the path she has set. Mr. Perry is an amazing teacher and mentor for the kids as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2010

Our school has an outstanding staff and administration. We have two wonderful choice academies. These academies are both honors programs and are taught from 6th to 8th grade. We have small class sizes and offer advanced classes. Our Math Department offers high school Algebra and Geometry. Our extra curricular activities range from debate to chess clubs. We offer all the major sports including flag football.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 10, 2010

Most Teachers are concerned for students wellbeing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2010

I just graduated from this school. After going here for three years I'm really going to miss it. I've dealt with having to let go of one principal and having another. It turns out that the principal we had before was ten times better than the one I had this year. Now they have a new principal, and hopefully she'll make the school better. Yes, the school went through a few things- such as violence, and horrible teachers, yadda, yadda, blah, but it really is a wonderful school. At first, I had my doubts, but now that I'm leaving I realize it's a great school to be at. As long as you concentrate on the work, you'll get by. This school has prepared me for High School completely. I'm positive that if I were to go to any other high school, I would'nt be as ready.


Posted July 19, 2009

the school will be a little better now that there is a new principle. just give it a chance. and now that assistant principle richard brown is there, the kids will be alot better
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2009

I wish my daughter never had to go there. They teachers are incompetent! The children skip classes have no respect. They might have a new principal but how long will it take he/she to clean this crap up. My child should not have to be afraid to go to her on school. So therfore my child should not go there. J.F.K is way better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2009

I think H. L Watkins rocks. i attended to this school 3 years. And the teachers are so kind. especially mr. keppler and dr walcott. they are the best teachers eva...
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 2, 2009

Help is on the way! Finally, after incompetent, ineffectual, and 'invisible' leadership, a new principal will take control. Teachers at this school are extraordinary, but due to this mis-placed principal, and her total lack of leadership, knowledge, and committment, they have had to work to control discipline without support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2008

i have gone to watkins all three years or middle school. We are not the best school. We have our problems, but what school doesnt. Some of the teachers are great, others not so much! This year you can deffinatly tell that they are working to make it a safer and more comfortable school for students!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 3, 2008

As a parent, I am terrified to drop my daughter off at this school in the morning. The only reason we agreed to let her attend Watkins was because of their Medical Science Academy. They have no control of thier students, you hardly ever see parent participation in any after school functions, and the teachers are not as good as everyone says. Bottom line is that my daughter will be going to a different school next year, one that I will feel safe leaving her at.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2008

I think this school rocks! I see that the teachers are able to work with and/or control the students more in the aura of the 'Horse Whisperer', using positive words and encouragement rather than punishment. I see almost every student at this school being respectful and generally trying their best to perform scholastically as well as community-wise.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 20, 2008

The school would be a much better place if the violence was better kept under control! Children should feel safe at school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2008

I have had nothing but a great expierence with this school since my son started in January. I say 5 Stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2008

That is the best school ever
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

277 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

276 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
37%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

263 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

263 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
37%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

210 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

205 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
34%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

207 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
29%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

205 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

185 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 71%
Hispanic 14%
White 10%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 21%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%73%61%
Master's degree 26%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 6%1%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 19%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. DONALD HOFFMAN
Fax number
  • (561) 776-3603

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
Girls sports
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9480 Macarthur Boulevard
Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33403
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 776-3600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Wood Montessori Academy
West Palm Beach, FL



St Clare School
North Palm Beach, FL


Bright Futures Academy
Palm Beach Gardens, FL


My Choice Academy
Lake Park, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT