Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Palm Beach Gardens High School

Public | 9-12 | 2532 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Tuesday, July 29, 2014

I go to Palm Beach Gardens and it's amazing! My magnet program (Global Business) is fun and you can learn a lot from there for the big world. The teachers and students are friendly and supportive in everything that a student may do.


Posted October 18, 2013

I graduated from Gardens in 2012 and it was getting worse and worse as the years went on. Many people think that it is a good school because it is new but it is so crowded and the teachers are not helpful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 12, 2013

My school is Palm Beach Gardens High which my grandson started this year. He can't wait to get up to go to school now. Who thought high school would be so easy? The students and teachers are friendly, helpful and make everyone feel special. In this day and age we need more schools like this to encourage students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2011

I graduated from PBGHS and now my Step-Daughter is a student there. I believe that there is and has always been problems there. I remember the year before I was going to go there, there was a riot in the lunch room between two rival gangs. I was worried about going there but if you stay with the "good" crowd and stay out of trouble your going to do great. The teachers I had were excellent and prepared me for college. Great atmosphere and the new school looks great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2011

I think Gardens is an awesome school i havent attened there yet but i want to become a student as the year of 2011 proceeds... if i make it in i will be a freshman also to me Gardens have some goals i can achieve minus the drama that goes on i have heard good things from my sister and close friend so can any one else tell me how is PBGHS really acheiving?


Posted June 7, 2011

I am very dissappointed that my child has been hanging with the wrong crowd in this school & their's illegal activity going on during school hours. I complained twice & thank goodness for the assistant principal. Very helpful! We are watching her like a hawk...but otherwise academically she excells with a 3.5 gpa.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

i attend this school and i am very HAPPY to be there my gread level is getting up there thank u gardens high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 18, 2010

PBGHS gave me an excellent start in my academic and professional life. The teachers truly care for their students, and go above and beyond the call of duty. The school leadership works tirelessly to ensure the best environment and education for all students and staff. I had an amazing experience, and will never forget my time there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2010

While we miss Dr. Prince, Larry Clawson has come in and done a great job. The new school is fantastic and the school spirit is still high....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

i love gardens itsthebest high school thsat hepls you pass and graduate
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2009

This school a great, well-rounded, high school experience. The Magnet programs are awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2009

Going to Palm Beach Gardens High School was the best decision i ever made. The school is excellent, and they made my transition from 8th grade to 9th grade very easy. I am currently in the magnet program, which made it a lot easier to make friends and such. But i am now in the 11th grade, and i still love it. It is a place i enjoy and i could not see myself anywhere else. I would defianatly advise all parents to not only place there children in the magnet but too let them get involved, because the overall high school experience is not the same if you don't. Gardens is defianatly the best high school in Palm Beach. We have the most school spirit in the world, we are the only school that cheers when we loose a game. This is place to send you child. Go Gators!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2009

I think Palm Beach gardens high is one of the best school there is because the students give their all into into there work.We also have great teacher in a wonderful principal we are glad to have him!!!!!!! ~a proud student~
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 24, 2008

A Student, an Athlete, and a Fan. This school is the place to be. It is an atmosphere that is unique in the schools dioversity, and allows students to strive. I have many friends that feel really sorry that they did not enroll in Gardens
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 10, 2008

I was excited about starting my junior year at PGHS, what a mistake. I had just moved to PBG from Oregon. The kids are judgemental and it's a very crowded school. I didn't feel like the teachers had enough time for every student and overall, I didn't feel comfortable. I was hesitant to swith to Dwyer but I'm so glad I did. I've made some of the best friends and I'm getting an excellent education. It's not a crowded school and the kids are excepting of everyone. Race, gender, sexual orientation.. whatever. I love Dwyer high school and our new principal has only made it an even more enjoyable experience.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2008

My daughter is finishing up her 2nd year there and my son enters in the fall. The leadership and teaches have been fantastic. The school spirit is great and I can't way to see what the new school look like. 'A great school only gets better....'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2008

My 9th grader is in the PreMed Magnet Program. The teachers are outstanding, available and they extend their own hours to be of help to their students. Dedicated!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2007

This school has been amazing! Both of my children had always been in gifted programs through middle school and this high school gave them plenty of challenges to keep them interested! The magnet programs present the kids with many outstanding opportunities and experiences. The school spirit is unprecedented! It can't help but draw the kids in! Hats off to the principal and all of the wonderful, involved teachers who really seem to care!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2007

This is an outstanding school. The school is very diverse, but there is a real direction for the school. The principal is young and energetic, and has drastically improved the school over the last three years. My kids have had the best experiences there, and I would recommend the school in a heartbeat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2006

If your child can go to any other school, let them. going to gardens highschool was the biggest mistake of my life. I wish I would have taken my mom's advice and gone to suncoast.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

663 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
41%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

640 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
43%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

645 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

620 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

437 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
25%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

605 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
55%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

577 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
52%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

570 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 48%
White 28%
Hispanic 16%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 50%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 82%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 2%N/A2%
Graduation rate 77%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%73%61%
Master's degree 29%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 10%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. LARRY CLAWSON
Fax number
  • (561) 691-0515

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4245 Holly Drive
Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33410
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 694-7300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Palm Beach Preparatory School
Palm Beach Gardens, FL




His Academy/Institute
Lake Park, FL


The Benjamin School
North Palm Beach, FL


Driftwood Academy
Lake Park, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT