Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Watson B. Duncan Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1322 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 8, 2008

best school i go there and i love it
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 11, 2008

My daughter attended Watson B. Duncan and my son is currently there. This school has the best principal I have ever seen as well as a great staff. Our needs have always been met with kindness and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2008

Im a student there and i think our school is awesome.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2008

I think this is the best school as a student im treated fair and right.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2007

I went to this middle school for the 3 years I had to and it was the best time of my life. I was easily getting A's and learning the material I needed. The people there are amazing and every one is different and your not being judged all the time. I am now a 9th grader and if anything, I missed watson B duncan middle school most.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2007

It is almost impossible to get a conference with a teacher because most of the teachers at Duncan Middle School do not call parents to tell them if a student is falling behind in their class Unless you have Ed Line you will never know anything until your son/ daughter gets their report card; then it is too late.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2007

This school is great! I went to duncan for one year and it was the best year ever. As long as you hang out with the right crowds you're pretty much alright. The teachers are wonderful and cooperative, they really know how to bring out the fun in learning. This is a great place to make friends and learn about character and real life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 20, 2006

I'm atteding at this school, it's a very nice school; but the students are undisciplined, about 60% percent of the students in a classroom they don't want to learn almost anything and they show little respect for classmates and teachers. I also believe that this school has lost alot of prestigue in many aspects by the students and by the few mediocre teachers. If your child wants to come to this school, he has to be in Advanced or Honors classes in order to enjoy it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 24, 2006

My children attended 6th and 8th grade at Duncan; it was the worst school year of their lives. My daughter, who loves to learn, hated everyday. My son felt like an outsider everyday. It is run like a boot camp with good kids punished along with the troubled ones. Thankfully, they are in new school now. So much for 'A' rated!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2006

duncan is a wonderful school great teacher great staff. the princeapal is very understanding the student are great they have great sports to offer
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 25, 2006

This school has been a disappointment to both my children. My oldest is now in High School and wonders how he got through Duncan. My other child is an honor student and was very involved in the school until some bully decided to cause a fight, which my child, the injured victim, was suspended with the repeat aggressor. Safety is a concern as well as fair treatment by administration. This, by far, did not fit into 'zero tolerance' and is being disputed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2005

Duncan is a great school with a great princeable. He is soooo nice. there are many reading challenges and fundraisers. I have so many friends.You can email me for more info. Sadly this is my last year at duncan, i have been there for 3 years.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2005

This school if going down hill. Too many videos and worksheets and too little learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2005

My daughter attended Watson B. Duncan Middle school for 7th & 8th grade. She had caring, well-educated teachers and blossomed with the pleasant open atmosphere. My daughter enjoyed the campus, the library, clean cafeteria and good sized classrooms. The school is within walking distance of our home so we don't know anything about the bus transportation to Duncan. I chaperoned a couple of field trips, one to the Kravis Center for a play. Her teachers were always pleasant and encouraged parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2005

During my time attending Duncan Middle School I have expanded my brain to an exceptional size. The diversity of the different cultures and the very little narrow-minded people have made me come out of my middle school career with great memories, more talents,and a sharper mind in which I will us in my upcoming future. The great curriculums in Math, Science,History,English,and the many enlightening foreign languages has supplied the many students with an enormous amount of information like French,Chinese,and Spanish languages. Along with the many foreign languages the extracurricular actities and the availability of interactive sports, music(chorus and band), and art has made the normalcy of a student's life more bearable. The variety of after-school programs are alway fun-filled and together with the electives they will sure to pass the day quickly.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 21, 2004

There is no respect for the individual student. They do not value or honor the student. They (most of the teachers) belittle, embarrass and harrass the children. These words which came from another middle school re; duncan and their staff i think sums it up; 'oh, duncan. Well, we are not like duncan here. We respect the individual student and value them as a person. And we of course expect the same in return.' Duncan really could use someone outside to clean house and get staff that not only know how to spell correctly, teach, but can 'encourage' the child, not destroy. Oh, and the safety, officer ferrell is on a permanent vacation!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

439 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

441 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

415 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

413 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

426 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

431 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

428 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

426 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

435 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
89%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 59%
Hispanic 19%
Black 13%
Asian 5%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 43%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 75%73%61%
Master's degree 23%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 10%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5150 117th Court North
Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33418
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 776-3500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Weiss School
Palm Beach Gardens, FL


Palm Beach Preparatory School
Palm Beach Gardens, FL


Bright Futures Academy
Palm Beach Gardens, FL


St Mark's Episcopal School
Palm Beach Gardens, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT