Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Watson B. Duncan Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1322 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 6, 2013

I attended Duncan for three years and did not like it. Pros: Nice size classrooms. Cons: Bad finance academy, teachers give you homework but never teach you, bad exterior looks, I'm very angry that now all foreign languages are now virtual, pointless advanced program same as gifted, horrible food, let you take high school courses in 6th grade, too much cursing, Chinese has a bad teacher, teachers blame everything on you, no security cameras in classes, also they waste money on "touchscreen Windows 8 laptops" and they say they have a tight budget. I think I have listed all the cons I know right now, it is only my second year.


Posted August 13, 2013

I am in the finance academy. The teachers for almost all subjects are rude, don't teach, and expect you to know everything by reviewing it once. Some just tell you to read the chapter and expect you to know everything about it. The food sucks, their is little parent involvement,, the fundraisers are stupid, and it is cramped. Not many people don't get into the finance academy or art academy. Alk foreign languages are on the computer. Gifted and advanced are pretty much the same.


Posted August 12, 2013

Wonderful , busy school with lots of opportunity.My daughter went here and loved chorus with Mrs. Butterfield. Also, my son is in the finance academy entering into 8th grade. He has learned in the academy amazing things related to business. Although he doesn't like the dressing professional , the once a year field trips are amazing. Food needs a lot of improvement! Need more parent -teacher interaction too. Need more help in student service office.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2013

I thought this school was good but it is terrible! I was zoned for it and hated it! I started with straight A's but then went down to C's because they let you take any course you want! I was allowed to take high school courses in the 6th grade! I received no warning! So now my dream to go to Suncoast high is nothing. All because of Watson B Duncan Middle School.


Posted July 10, 2013

I am going to Watson and by the looks of the reviews I can't wait!


Posted August 15, 2012

If I could rate Principal Leadership zero, I would. They are condescending and disengaged from parent concerns. Perhaps if you are a nerdy mom who only lives to have a career PTO life will they relate with you. And with a population of 1500+ kids, it seems that apparently they (the administration) is above making mistakes. Sorry to tell you that you are tax funded personnell, not God.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2012

If your child is in the Gifted program or AP this school is an excellent choice. The principal, Dr Jose Garcia is so dedicated to the school and the students. Even while most public schools have cut so many programs due to budgets, this school still encourages/supports student achievement with award ceremonies and parties for Honor roll each quarter. As well, security is taken very seriously as demonstrated by the full time Officer John on campus, the kids call him OJ and adore him. I have been most satisfied overall with my child's teachers but (3) really stand out as going above and beyond and they are Ms Bonnie Butterfield chorus; Ms Griffith Language Arts; Ms Ahearn Social Studies. We will miss them greatly next year for highschool. Any 'issue' that needs addressing is dealt with prommptly. I would definately give this school a try!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2012

I would NOT recommend this school to anyone. Too many kids, very little supervison, lots of bullying, overall a stressful and not very friendly athmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

I am currently going to go in 8th grade for the next year, I think this school is the best by far. I just wished for the Academy they will let you take electives then a language. All the teachers are very nice and want you to get a good education. Right now im in all honors geting all A's and im very happy!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 6, 2010

This is my first year at Duncan,well its almost over,but the school is by far a good one just a few fights,the teachers are great,and i was failing math but the Compass learning odyssey program saved me.Also if your child wants to join band or chorus they have great teachers,Mrs.Roggen (Band) and Mrs.Butterfield (chorus) are both wonderful and helpful teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 7, 2010

Oh my goodness, I atteneded Duncan all three years. I graduated last year. That must have been the best experience of my life, what with making new friends to last a lifetime and having absolutely amazing teachers! I wish I could repeat my 8th grade year-completely unforgettable. There are constant fights, I won't deny that, but hang around the right people and it's fine. GO DUNCAN!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2009

This is myssecond year at Duncan. It is a great school, including activities, sports, and clubs. All the teachers are very nice and well mannered. All the teachers inspired me to put my heart out and never give up, fight for what you want, quoted by Mrs. Turnquist ( Lang. Arts 6th grade). This school rocks! BY AO
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 11, 2009

This is my first year in Duncan... I like soo much this school and teachers are very nice
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2009

great programs for kids who need extra help with reading or math
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2009

This is my 2nd year and I wouldnt choose any other school. Yes it does have some issues that need to be worked out but overall it's a great school. :D
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 9, 2009

I go to duncan it will be my 2nd year. I loved it all the teachers were very nice. You have to watch out find the right kind of people to hang out with or they will stabbed you right in the back and it will hurt.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 30, 2009

THIS SCHOOL IS AMAZING!!! i love this school soo much! i was only here 2 years but i thought this school was great! the staff is great! and the people are nice the teachers are very educated i love this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2009

i went to duncan for three years and i loved it there. the teachers and students are very nice. especially their band teacher


Posted October 30, 2008

This school is supposed to be a good school. Which overall it is. But when the kids go to a guidance counsler complaining that they dont like certain teachers, they should be listened to, because it affects there learning. Some of the teachers need to learn to either toughen up, or lossen down!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 19, 2008

The principal seems to be unhappy in this position. I think the move was not a good one. I wish the District would stop moving principals. Last year my child did so well but this year I worry. When the staff is unhappy it makes it hard on the students
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

439 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

441 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

415 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

413 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

426 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

431 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

428 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

426 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

435 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
89%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 59%
Hispanic 19%
Black 13%
Asian 5%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 43%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 75%73%61%
Master's degree 23%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 10%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5150 117th Court North
Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33418
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 776-3500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Weiss School
Palm Beach Gardens, FL


Palm Beach Preparatory School
Palm Beach Gardens, FL


Bright Futures Academy
Palm Beach Gardens, FL


St Mark's Episcopal School
Palm Beach Gardens, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT