Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Timber Trace Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 939 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2006

The school is absolutely amazing. I was in the graduating class of 2003. I am now moving on to Suncoast (7th in the nation) for IB. Without Timber Trace i would not be where i am today. The teachers are wonderful and the curriculum put the students well above state standards.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 9, 2006

From a interns point of view: excellent teachers, unlimited resources, high percentage of parent involvement. Average teacher student ratio 20/1.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2006

I think that the academics in this schools are one of the top tens in the county & am very happy with the staff & teachers of the school. My daughter has vome a long way & I hope that my little child will recieve the same. The availability of music, srt, and other activites are great. The only thing that I wish that they did have is soccer for a sport. I think that soccer is a very good game for stress, & any knid of anger. The level of the parents that are involved in their children at this school is enormous! but I wish that they had a bit more sports activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2006

Timber Trace Elementary teaches to the FCAT testing. They are not interested in your child as a person to help them grow or nurture. Most of the parents do their own child's homework and no one says a thing about creativity. pe/ music/gym/art are on rotations schedules and not given every week. Focus is on gaining money for test scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2006

I have been very happy with the level of committment shown to the students by the teachers and administration of Timber Trace Elementary. I do have a concern regarding the ESE or Exceptional Student Services department at Timber Trace.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2006

Great School! My children loved this school. Like any school, there are some burnt-out teachers, but all in all the teachers are happy to be at Timber Trace. Save your private school savings and use it after they graduate from Timber Trace.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2005

This school is a great school both through involvement and academically. The quality of academics here is grade A and the faculty are more than willing to work with parents. Students are offered all aspects of music, art, sports (for elementary), and other programs. The aftercare program is excellent, affording students to take advantage of different 'clubs' in areas of interest (tennis, art, karate, etc.) Parent involvement is top notch. The Boy Scouts of America also have a troop that meets this school and is involved in several areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2005

When I move to the palm beach gardens I did it thinking of my children.Schools in south florida are just not good at all.The teacher dont care and they only treat your children in a good way and care about them if you volunteer. Otherwise they are just dont care or they wont be nice to them.I think this is so wrong, teachers should be teachers because they love children ,because they want to help them be the best that they can be.Not just dumpt homework and parents can teach them.My child that is in kindegarden comes home sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2005

Although the school is A rated and 5 star rated, I am not that impressed with the school as a whole. I would say that there is nothing so bad that I would pull my child out, but I am not very impressed with quite a few of the teachers and the PTA involvement. The school is old and needs alot of work. Some of this will be done this summer so we will see. I am just disappointed if this is one of the best schools that Palm Beach County has to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2005

Timber Trace is a well run school with a caring faculty,organized administration and excellent support staff.The concept of 'team' comes to mind as an overall description. Best of all students seem to enjoy going!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 26, 2005

Great school- academic programs are excellent. Dress Code is helpful.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 13, 2005

My experience with T. Trace began with 3rd grade in the gifted program. I was happy with most teachers that taught gifted especially Mr. Makoul, 5th grade teacher. He's great, very interested in his students. Unfortunately music and art programs are lacking in substance due to county funding. There are no real athletic programs here either, again due to funding. Lots of parent involvement. In my opinion, it is basically a good, safe,and nurturing school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2005

This school is far superior to local private schools. Ultra high-end neighborhoods feed into Timber Trace and the teachers want to work here. Exceptional writing skills, accelerated reading and extra math supplements are standard. We have far more resources than can be listed briefly. This is the most dedicated group of parents around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2005

Very good teachers overall, nice environment, very organized school, alittle crowded for kindergarten but very nice in other grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2004

I have found the school to be very unsupportive in helping with my son's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2004

The teachers are wonderful here. More parents need to volunteer in the other classes. The gifted program is exceptional and we are overflowing with volunteers. I wish they offered instruments in 5th grade and not just choral but the music teacher is doing great with over 950 kids...she needs a helper!Food is awesome, love the uniforms! Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

My experience for the last three years, has been wonderful.The staff at this school is far superior to any school i have delt with in the past. They truely care about 'their' kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2003

This school Is excellent. The teachers truely care about their students. Timber Trace is a great school to learn. I would reccommend Timber Trace to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

135 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

135 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

139 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

139 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

139 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

149 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 62%
Hispanic 18%
Black 8%
Asian 7%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 89%73%61%
Master's degree 11%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 8%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5200 117th Court North
Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33418
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 366-6200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Marsh Pointe Elementary School
Palm Beach Gardens, FL



Weiss School
Palm Beach Gardens, FL


Palm Beach Preparatory School
Palm Beach Gardens, FL


Nativity Lutheran Church
Palm Beach Gardens, FL


Bright Futures Academy
Palm Beach Gardens, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT