Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Weiss School

Private | PK-8 | 220 students

Unleashing the potential of Gifted Students

 
 

Living in Palm Beach...

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $205,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,270.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 11 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

90 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 6, 2009

We are delighted with the Weiss School for gifted children. The high teacher to student ratio ensures that each child receives immediate and specific instruction to meet his or her needs. Teachers are exceptional as they design lessons to reach children in multiple ways. The students are challenged academically and are allowed to progress at their grade level or at an accelerated pace as appropriate. Parents are kept abreast of student s progress on a daily/weekly basis so there are no surprises. The curriculum is well rounded with an outstanding academic program that is enhanced with art, music, tae kwon do, and foreign language to name a few. The administration and staff is top notch; many of whom are recognized leaders in the education of gifted children. We encourage parents seeking a truly exceptional education experience for their children, to consider The Weiss School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2009

I am a student at Weiss and have been going there for 7 years, the education I recieve is better than any you could recieve. The teachers are great and loving. This is a great school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 11, 2009

Weiss is a remarkable place. Our children have an insatiable appetite for learning thanks to the environment at this school. The teacher to student ratio is fantastic, and the atmosphere is exciting and challenging. The teachers are exceptional and the staff is genuine and caring. We love that our kids love to go to school. As parents, there are many ways to be involved with school activities and beyond. Our experience with Weiss has been a rewarding one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2009

Without the care and dedication of the teachers, I would not have known that my child was having anxiety. Their willingness to work as a team with me and my child's therapist is allowing my daughter to regain confidence and enjoy learning again!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2009

I love Weiss. Middle School at Weiss is wonderful. It would be hard to pick a best teacher. He loves Spanish and is beginning to use the language. He is excelling in math. Language Arts and Social Studies are up-to-date and interesting. My son also loves music, band and especially Taekwondo. The science looks very hard, like something I had in college, but the kids eat-it-up. The homework is just the right level and only given in subjects where it makes sense, like math. While there is homework in the other academic classes, it is usually pretty brief. The best thing is that my son is happy, has loads of friends, both boys and girls, and enjoys school every single day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2008

I am from Melbourne and had the privilege of taking classes towards my gifted endorsement at The Weiss School this past weekend. I am amazed at the exceptional administrators and staff at this wonderful school. They were all so welcoming, informative, and helpful to us. The climate in the building as I toured it on Friday was happy and friendly. The students were very polite and courteous. The administrators and faculty are an amazing group of individuals that care about each other and are working hard to provide the best education for their students. Keep up the great work Weiss School and thanks for everything!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 18, 2008

I am entering my third year of teaching at The Weiss School. It has been the classes, instructed by the Head of School and Assistant Head of School, that have taught me how to meet the needs of gifted students and parents. I personally think that the conference skits have been the most helpful- it s what teachers aren t taught in college. I don t know if you both realize what incredible resources you are! Even when the days are challenging, I still feel grateful that I am able to work with such amazing leaders! It may be difficult for others, teachers and parents, to know what we have here if they haven t been somewhere else. I feel fortunate to be a part of The Weiss School.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 31, 2008

Our children both attend the Weiss School, and we are just delighted with their progress. Their education is fantastic, and the school environment is warm and friendly. Our just turned 5-year old is writing his first and last name, reading short books, and counting in Spanish. Our 6-year old is spelling words like chrysanthemum! The kids are not overworked and/or pressured either. With two young boys that can wait for school to resume in August, how can you go wrong? We truly love it there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

It is a great school for truly gifted students, the work is difficult but they learn an incredible amount of information. There are many extra classes offered that you just can't get at other schools. Call today, there are still spots open for the 2008-2009 school year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2008

I am sad to see my son's 2nd grade school year coming to an end. Hats off to the outstanding hands on education that has been offered this year. The teachers are outstanding.


Posted April 27, 2008

We have to relocate and regretfully leave Weiss. While going through final screening for a school that is close to if not at the top nationally, one of the teachers called another, 'come and see; this girl speaks like an adult'. The two years at Weiss Pre-K was wonderful. Bravo, Weiss.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2008

My son is just completing his first year in The Weiss School's 3 year old program. I am very pleased at his accomplishments over the past school year. He is able to write his name, identify all letters upper and lowercase and knows all of the sounds each letter makes. He is also beginning to sound out words as well. The 3 year old program also fosters the Fine Arts area by allowing the children to participate in art, music, movement and Spanish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

The Weiss School is like a bodybuilder on steroids--it looks good from afar, but there is no substance to it. Nothing but mistruths. The curriculum is the same as a public school but at a much higher cost. If you seek an extension to your country club to show off your wealth go to Weiss. If, however, you seek the best education for your child(ren) look elsewhere. This school coddles their students and as such they learn no responsibility. They know they can whine to their teachers, or their parents can, and a test will be delayed or an assignment rescheduled. My child has been held back academically by attending Weiss instead of flourishing. Dr Daniels has people fooled to think there are no alternatives to Weiss, but I assure you there are and at a much lower cost and with greater rewards. Weiss is a Ford with a Lexus price
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2008

I went to Weiss for middle school and I'm now a student at Yale. The school is exceptional in valuing its students' abilities, providing them with tremendous freedom. Learning to see teachers as mentors and intellectual peers rather than unyielding authorities happens naturally at Weiss. The high standards to which teachers held me, particularly in the Spanish and English departments, continue. These teachers are, and therefore expect, the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 16, 2008

I am a grandparent of a fourth grader at The Weiss School. There are many wonderful attributes of this school of high caliber. My grandchild and I are always made to feel special and welcome at all school functions. Upon many visits to the school, I have found the children to be extremely respectful and well-mannered; a rarity this day in age. My grandchild shares the wealth of information he receives at Weiss with an exciting and upbeat attitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2008

For those in the know, the Weiss School motto should be 'Where the students are gifted...but the teachers are not.' For whatever reason, they have a hard time keeping good teachers. For the most part, most of them could not write their way out of a paper bag...the majority of the teachers' grammar, spelling, punctuation, and writing style is atrocious, at best! The Weiss School is very good at appearances, however, and can convince you that their teachers are the 'best.' Experience will show otherwise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2008

My daughter is about to complete her kindergarten year at the Weiss School and it has been an unbelievable experience. The Weiss School has a great program for gifted children and understands the social and educational needs for the 'gifted' child. I would definitely rate this school with 5 Stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2008

I am a school presenter, a storyteller and author who visits many schools around the country every year. The Weiss School is a warm, friendly and very viable place to present multi-cultural stories. The school is obviously a nurturing environment with fine, enthusiastic teachers and students. When I asked them to be interactive with some of my stories, they were right there on the same page with me the whole way. I had a lovely time from start to finish.


Posted February 29, 2008

I have been working at Weiss School for 6 years now and I feel honored to be part of this amazing staff. Every morning when I walk in the door, I can feel the positive energy in the air from my colleagues and my students. We have access to a plethora of educational sources which are supported and encouraged by the administration. Professional development at The Weiss School is an ongoing process which we are priviledged to have.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 29, 2008

We moved to the area because the 50-minute-ride was killing us. That is how high we value the education both of my children received at Weiss. Teachers are all very devoted and qualified and work their best to fit all students' learning styles. I highly recommend this amazing school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 42%
Hispanic 14% 29%
Black 7% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Denise Spirou
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (561) 775-7794

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Project-based
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Organize cultural events
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Suncoast
Dreyfoos School of Arts
The Pine School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4176 Burns Road
Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33410
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 627-0740

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Palm Beach Preparatory School
Palm Beach Gardens, FL


Bright Futures Academy
Palm Beach Gardens, FL


Nativity Lutheran Church
Palm Beach Gardens, FL




St Mark's Episcopal School
Palm Beach Gardens, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT