Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Weiss School

Private | PK-8 | 220 students

Unleashing the potential of Gifted Students

 
 

Living in Palm Beach...

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $205,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,270.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

84 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 18, 2008

I am entering my third year of teaching at The Weiss School. It has been the classes, instructed by the Head of School and Assistant Head of School, that have taught me how to meet the needs of gifted students and parents. I personally think that the conference skits have been the most helpful- it s what teachers aren t taught in college. I don t know if you both realize what incredible resources you are! Even when the days are challenging, I still feel grateful that I am able to work with such amazing leaders! It may be difficult for others, teachers and parents, to know what we have here if they haven t been somewhere else. I feel fortunate to be a part of The Weiss School.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 31, 2008

Our children both attend the Weiss School, and we are just delighted with their progress. Their education is fantastic, and the school environment is warm and friendly. Our just turned 5-year old is writing his first and last name, reading short books, and counting in Spanish. Our 6-year old is spelling words like chrysanthemum! The kids are not overworked and/or pressured either. With two young boys that can wait for school to resume in August, how can you go wrong? We truly love it there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

It is a great school for truly gifted students, the work is difficult but they learn an incredible amount of information. There are many extra classes offered that you just can't get at other schools. Call today, there are still spots open for the 2008-2009 school year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2008

I am sad to see my son's 2nd grade school year coming to an end. Hats off to the outstanding hands on education that has been offered this year. The teachers are outstanding.


Posted April 27, 2008

We have to relocate and regretfully leave Weiss. While going through final screening for a school that is close to if not at the top nationally, one of the teachers called another, 'come and see; this girl speaks like an adult'. The two years at Weiss Pre-K was wonderful. Bravo, Weiss.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2008

My son is just completing his first year in The Weiss School's 3 year old program. I am very pleased at his accomplishments over the past school year. He is able to write his name, identify all letters upper and lowercase and knows all of the sounds each letter makes. He is also beginning to sound out words as well. The 3 year old program also fosters the Fine Arts area by allowing the children to participate in art, music, movement and Spanish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

The Weiss School is like a bodybuilder on steroids--it looks good from afar, but there is no substance to it. Nothing but mistruths. The curriculum is the same as a public school but at a much higher cost. If you seek an extension to your country club to show off your wealth go to Weiss. If, however, you seek the best education for your child(ren) look elsewhere. This school coddles their students and as such they learn no responsibility. They know they can whine to their teachers, or their parents can, and a test will be delayed or an assignment rescheduled. My child has been held back academically by attending Weiss instead of flourishing. Dr Daniels has people fooled to think there are no alternatives to Weiss, but I assure you there are and at a much lower cost and with greater rewards. Weiss is a Ford with a Lexus price
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2008

I went to Weiss for middle school and I'm now a student at Yale. The school is exceptional in valuing its students' abilities, providing them with tremendous freedom. Learning to see teachers as mentors and intellectual peers rather than unyielding authorities happens naturally at Weiss. The high standards to which teachers held me, particularly in the Spanish and English departments, continue. These teachers are, and therefore expect, the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 16, 2008

I am a grandparent of a fourth grader at The Weiss School. There are many wonderful attributes of this school of high caliber. My grandchild and I are always made to feel special and welcome at all school functions. Upon many visits to the school, I have found the children to be extremely respectful and well-mannered; a rarity this day in age. My grandchild shares the wealth of information he receives at Weiss with an exciting and upbeat attitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2008

For those in the know, the Weiss School motto should be 'Where the students are gifted...but the teachers are not.' For whatever reason, they have a hard time keeping good teachers. For the most part, most of them could not write their way out of a paper bag...the majority of the teachers' grammar, spelling, punctuation, and writing style is atrocious, at best! The Weiss School is very good at appearances, however, and can convince you that their teachers are the 'best.' Experience will show otherwise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2008

My daughter is about to complete her kindergarten year at the Weiss School and it has been an unbelievable experience. The Weiss School has a great program for gifted children and understands the social and educational needs for the 'gifted' child. I would definitely rate this school with 5 Stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2008

I am a school presenter, a storyteller and author who visits many schools around the country every year. The Weiss School is a warm, friendly and very viable place to present multi-cultural stories. The school is obviously a nurturing environment with fine, enthusiastic teachers and students. When I asked them to be interactive with some of my stories, they were right there on the same page with me the whole way. I had a lovely time from start to finish.


Posted February 29, 2008

I have been working at Weiss School for 6 years now and I feel honored to be part of this amazing staff. Every morning when I walk in the door, I can feel the positive energy in the air from my colleagues and my students. We have access to a plethora of educational sources which are supported and encouraged by the administration. Professional development at The Weiss School is an ongoing process which we are priviledged to have.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 29, 2008

We moved to the area because the 50-minute-ride was killing us. That is how high we value the education both of my children received at Weiss. Teachers are all very devoted and qualified and work their best to fit all students' learning styles. I highly recommend this amazing school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2008

This is my child's 2nd year at the Weiss School. I would not choose any other school in Palm Beach County over the Weiss School. The administration,faculty, and academic program are outstanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2008

I have to say that it is amazing to read all of the reviews. I have been a parent at The Weiss School for 5 years. Although it is not a non-profit, all of the proceeds are put back in to the school for the students. The owner of the school is there everyday and does not recieve a paycheck. It has been my experience that the unhappy parents are the ones who think their children can do no wrong. Weiss is an environment that guides and fosters your child's intellect. The negative reviews are from the parents who will never be happy anywhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2008

This is my second year at The Weiss School. After reading all of the reviews, I can't believe how many reviews are not accurate. Our teachers are the most dedicated I have had the pleasure to work with. We have other teachers come to our school to take the gifted education endorsement classes and they comment how dedicated and knowledgeable our teachers are. Our teachers are certified or are eligible for certificaton and have completed or are in the process of completing their gifted endorsement. You can check out the website to see who has completed their coursework. They spend endless hours on their lesson plans and accommodate the children. We have many other accredited schools who travel all over the state of Florida to view our curriculum and technology. Weiss is certainly an environment you would want your gifted child in.


Posted February 22, 2008

This is my daughter's 3rd year attending The Weiss School. When my daughter got tested by a licensed psychologist, he highly recommended Weiss to accommodate my gifted daughter. One of the things that I found most fascinating is that the teachers and administration were open to my request about assessing my daughter at an advanced grade level. It is refreshing to know that the administration is highly qualified in gifted education. They are not just 'business' minded people-they actually have education degrees at the post graduate level so they know exactly what to do for the gifted child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2008

I came fro a public school where all they did was teach to the FCAT - drove my child crazy beause he knew all this information and was bored out of his mind. My son really enjoys all the hands on teaching that is done at Weiss and loves the many ways they make use of computers. He uses something in his class called a Smartboard which is all he ever talks about. Teachers are great and friendly and all seem to work together. Adminstration has always made itself available when I need. Would highly reccommend! IT's worth a look
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

They help these kids not just academically, but socially. Social adjustment for some gifted children is very difficult and they need special nurturing. The Weiss School understands. They acknowledge and appreciate different learning styles. Of course, they provide excellent academic preparation and accelerate the student as needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 42%
Hispanic 14% 29%
Black 7% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Denise Spirou
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (561) 775-7794

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Project-based
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Organize cultural events
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Suncoast
Dreyfoos School of Arts
The Pine School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4176 Burns Road
Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33410
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 627-0740

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Palm Beach Preparatory School
Palm Beach Gardens, FL


Bright Futures Academy
Palm Beach Gardens, FL


Nativity Lutheran Church
Palm Beach Gardens, FL




St Mark's Episcopal School
Palm Beach Gardens, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT