Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Weiss School

Private | PK-8 | 220 students

Unleashing the potential of Gifted Students

 
 

Living in Palm Beach...

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $205,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,270.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

84 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 11, 2008

I have been a teacher at The Weiss School for many years. During that time, the administration has always been extremely supportive of the teachers and provide us with the opportunity to obtain our gifted endorsement. Just like any educational requirement in Florida, we have 3 years to complete the coursework. The Head of the School, who was past president of FLAG and taught gifted students, meets with the teachers every 4 weeks to review our lesson plans to make sure we are differentiating the curriculum for our gifted students. Every teacher at the school is extremely dedicated-there is not one teacher who works an '8 to 4' day. We love our jobs and enjoy being with the children every day.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 6, 2008

The school overpromises and underdelivers. There is no individualized curriculuma s they want you to believe. Many teachers are against accelerating students, but are more apt to coddle these students. Deadlines are pushed back, tests are rescheduled. The students are not challenged like gifted students should be. The parents are the substitute teachers. The gifted endorsement training is performed by the principal and another administrator of the school. It is not obtained from a university. There are far better options in which to obtain a great education for your children. The teachers may care about the students, but the wealthy parents run the school and as such the teachers are limited in their effectiveness. We will certainly not be returning in the fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2008

My son attended the public school gifted program from K thru mid 3rd grade and he was incredibly unhappy until we moved him to Weiss. Weiss moves at a faster pace than public school and encourages children to love learning. There is nothing worse than a highly intelligent child being told to slow down so others can keep up. Weiss is a truly unique environment that allows him to move as fast as he wants with the support that he needs. My husband and I are grateful for it everyday. I drive 45 min.daily each way to have my son attend. The public school gifted program forces children to do monotonous, repetitive tasks by which only the truly gifted child is bothered. The parents, teachers, and staff are truly concerned with the needs of gifted children and go above and beyond to address them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2008

My children have been going to The Weiss School for 4 years. I have found this to be an excellent school with inspiring teachers and administration. My gifted children are challenged and happy. They are taught to think out of the box, creatively solve problems and lead. This school is more than I could ever want in a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2008

Until recently my child attended Weiss. My child had 2 gifted teachers in 5 years. The school touts its gifted curriculum but the truth of the matter is that generally that is not what is taught. When my kid transfered out to gifted public school my kid was behind in math and writing skills just to name a few and had received straight 'A' average at Weiss.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2008

My children have attended The Weiss School for the past 7 years. I am proud to say that the school encourages and fosters their abilities whether it be academically or socially. In addition to the fabulous faculty, (who indeed have their gifted endorsement), the administration is always there with a listening ear. It is also nice to know that you are greeted with a smile and welcome into the school anytime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2008

Before Weiss my children had only attended public school gifted programs, and comparatively, this school is a joke. The sense of entitlement this school and its parents instill in students creates an environment that coddles rather than challenges. One thing's certain, at the Weiss School, no child would ever fail. Parents are the culprits here--what can you ask of sheltered students who have gone through life having their (dubiously) high IQs tossed around as an extension of their parents 'success'? The Weiss School gives the image of being a St. Ann's or a Crossroads-like school, but first it needs to learn the value of learning for the sake of learning--the only attitude toward education that can really provide gifted children with the rigor they need and deserve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2008

My daughter is in middle school and transferred in recently. She loves it! We had been at another private school for 7 years that had an accelerated curriculum. At Weiss she is finally being academically challenged! Weiss celebrates being gifted whereas most schools do not! I regret not moving her years ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2008

I love this school and my son is soaring. He has been here for five years and loves it. He is leap years ahead of his neighborhood friends of the same age. His classmates are the nicest kids and his teachers are dedicated and kind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2008

My son is a fourth grader at The Weiss School. He began as a shy 1st grader. He has blossomed into an accomplished student in academics, athletics and music. Mostly, the unique opportunities offered at Weiss (to have a sixth degree black belt teach Taekwondo twice a week; an inspirational drama and music teacher to find his hidden talents and the chance to jump ahead to pre-algebra) to name a few, has turned a formerly shy student into a happy, motivated learner. When you have a gifted child and you don't know the best way to nurture his/her talents and interests, trust Weiss. They know exactly how to bring out the best in gifted children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2007

I am a former student of the Weiss School. I can say, after being there for 6 years, that it gave me a great education that has helped me in my high school studies. I am, in all honors classes and doing well in all of them. I enjoyed the small classes, which enabled each student to learn their best, and the teachers were always able to help.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2007

I used to attend this school, and am sorry to say that it is extremely disappointing the education that I received. I am currently in high school at a public school and am getting a much better education. The whole school is run by the parents and their monetary status. If you are looking for a school that sells you on one thing and gives you another, here it is. Otherwise, I suggest that you take your money and save it for something else. I only say this because I honestly feel as though I am getting a better education in public schooling.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 30, 2007

This school was a nightmare to attend. The entire school has an extremely liberal bias and those not accepting this doctrine were made to feel inferior in every way. As a student it was hammered down our throats that we were better than everyone else because we are 'gifted'. The middle school was so ridiculously small, there was no social life at all. The place was a total waste of my parents money.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 28, 2007

Weiss school has continued to improve year after year. My child is in a safe and caring atmosphere. Teachers are quick to respond to email and the afterschool programs are varied and high quality. She takes gymnastics, TKD, and homework help right at school for reasonable prices. She is looking forward to returning this fall. The parents are very involved, but I feel the teacher's remain in control of their domain. Check it out if you think your child has a gift in some area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2007

My son is currently in Pre-K 4 at the Weiss School and will continue on next year. I am very pleased with all aspects of the school. It is a very nurturing environment. The great teachers as well as the entire administrative staff know my son. It feels like a community. You can not find that in large private or public schools. The academic possibilities are incredible. I can not believe what he has learned this year. Each child has the opportunity to learn and grow at his/her pace and is treated as an individual. My son's teachers know his strengths and weaknesses and concentrate on both and it shows.The PTA is very involved in activities, etc and encourages parents to participate at whatever level they can. I know my son will be a very well rounded young man when he graduates. Thank you Weiss School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2007

Your child's experience will vary greatly depending on the teacher and the grade level! the prek 3 and 4 fantastic, k-1, the music,is great w/instruction,but limited amount of space after school available for it. Art available not as supported by the school as it could be to make it as high as standard as the music and tkc and other extracurricular. Focus on stronger teachers with training and better support and this could be one of the best school! Still has long way to go to feel you are getting your money here, great parents & children and pta. But they do not address the whole child. Needs much better communication with parents direct not ed-line.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2006

This school has an adequate elementary school program, but their middle school program needs more attention. The preperation for college just isn't adequate. Some parents are involved, but the administration is so bizarre and odious that you don't really want to get involved.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 20, 2006

The school is incredibly disorganized and many of the parents have an inordinate amount of influence on daily school life. The children are put under enormous pressure to succeed. Save your money and go to the local A rated PB County public schools...far superior..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2006

A school that thinks way too much of itself. Looks great from the outside but once inside many smart parents find much of the sales pitch given to prospective parents is not the reality of daily school life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 24, 2006

This school provides an amazing opportunity for children and parents to learn about a true community of learners.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 42%
Hispanic 14% 29%
Black 7% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Denise Spirou
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (561) 775-7794

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Project-based
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Organize cultural events
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Suncoast
Dreyfoos School of Arts
The Pine School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4176 Burns Road
Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33410
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 627-0740

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Palm Beach Preparatory School
Palm Beach Gardens, FL


Bright Futures Academy
Palm Beach Gardens, FL


Nativity Lutheran Church
Palm Beach Gardens, FL




St Mark's Episcopal School
Palm Beach Gardens, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT