Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Weiss School

Private | PK-8 | 220 students

Unleashing the potential of Gifted Students

 
 

Living in Palm Beach...

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $205,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,270.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 12 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

91 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 29, 2008

We moved to the area because the 50-minute-ride was killing us. That is how high we value the education both of my children received at Weiss. Teachers are all very devoted and qualified and work their best to fit all students' learning styles. I highly recommend this amazing school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2008

This is my child's 2nd year at the Weiss School. I would not choose any other school in Palm Beach County over the Weiss School. The administration,faculty, and academic program are outstanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2008

I have to say that it is amazing to read all of the reviews. I have been a parent at The Weiss School for 5 years. Although it is not a non-profit, all of the proceeds are put back in to the school for the students. The owner of the school is there everyday and does not recieve a paycheck. It has been my experience that the unhappy parents are the ones who think their children can do no wrong. Weiss is an environment that guides and fosters your child's intellect. The negative reviews are from the parents who will never be happy anywhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2008

This is my second year at The Weiss School. After reading all of the reviews, I can't believe how many reviews are not accurate. Our teachers are the most dedicated I have had the pleasure to work with. We have other teachers come to our school to take the gifted education endorsement classes and they comment how dedicated and knowledgeable our teachers are. Our teachers are certified or are eligible for certificaton and have completed or are in the process of completing their gifted endorsement. You can check out the website to see who has completed their coursework. They spend endless hours on their lesson plans and accommodate the children. We have many other accredited schools who travel all over the state of Florida to view our curriculum and technology. Weiss is certainly an environment you would want your gifted child in.


Posted February 22, 2008

This is my daughter's 3rd year attending The Weiss School. When my daughter got tested by a licensed psychologist, he highly recommended Weiss to accommodate my gifted daughter. One of the things that I found most fascinating is that the teachers and administration were open to my request about assessing my daughter at an advanced grade level. It is refreshing to know that the administration is highly qualified in gifted education. They are not just 'business' minded people-they actually have education degrees at the post graduate level so they know exactly what to do for the gifted child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2008

I came fro a public school where all they did was teach to the FCAT - drove my child crazy beause he knew all this information and was bored out of his mind. My son really enjoys all the hands on teaching that is done at Weiss and loves the many ways they make use of computers. He uses something in his class called a Smartboard which is all he ever talks about. Teachers are great and friendly and all seem to work together. Adminstration has always made itself available when I need. Would highly reccommend! IT's worth a look
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

They help these kids not just academically, but socially. Social adjustment for some gifted children is very difficult and they need special nurturing. The Weiss School understands. They acknowledge and appreciate different learning styles. Of course, they provide excellent academic preparation and accelerate the student as needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2008

I have been a teacher at The Weiss School for many years. During that time, the administration has always been extremely supportive of the teachers and provide us with the opportunity to obtain our gifted endorsement. Just like any educational requirement in Florida, we have 3 years to complete the coursework. The Head of the School, who was past president of FLAG and taught gifted students, meets with the teachers every 4 weeks to review our lesson plans to make sure we are differentiating the curriculum for our gifted students. Every teacher at the school is extremely dedicated-there is not one teacher who works an '8 to 4' day. We love our jobs and enjoy being with the children every day.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 6, 2008

The school overpromises and underdelivers. There is no individualized curriculuma s they want you to believe. Many teachers are against accelerating students, but are more apt to coddle these students. Deadlines are pushed back, tests are rescheduled. The students are not challenged like gifted students should be. The parents are the substitute teachers. The gifted endorsement training is performed by the principal and another administrator of the school. It is not obtained from a university. There are far better options in which to obtain a great education for your children. The teachers may care about the students, but the wealthy parents run the school and as such the teachers are limited in their effectiveness. We will certainly not be returning in the fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2008

My son attended the public school gifted program from K thru mid 3rd grade and he was incredibly unhappy until we moved him to Weiss. Weiss moves at a faster pace than public school and encourages children to love learning. There is nothing worse than a highly intelligent child being told to slow down so others can keep up. Weiss is a truly unique environment that allows him to move as fast as he wants with the support that he needs. My husband and I are grateful for it everyday. I drive 45 min.daily each way to have my son attend. The public school gifted program forces children to do monotonous, repetitive tasks by which only the truly gifted child is bothered. The parents, teachers, and staff are truly concerned with the needs of gifted children and go above and beyond to address them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2008

My children have been going to The Weiss School for 4 years. I have found this to be an excellent school with inspiring teachers and administration. My gifted children are challenged and happy. They are taught to think out of the box, creatively solve problems and lead. This school is more than I could ever want in a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2008

Until recently my child attended Weiss. My child had 2 gifted teachers in 5 years. The school touts its gifted curriculum but the truth of the matter is that generally that is not what is taught. When my kid transfered out to gifted public school my kid was behind in math and writing skills just to name a few and had received straight 'A' average at Weiss.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2008

My children have attended The Weiss School for the past 7 years. I am proud to say that the school encourages and fosters their abilities whether it be academically or socially. In addition to the fabulous faculty, (who indeed have their gifted endorsement), the administration is always there with a listening ear. It is also nice to know that you are greeted with a smile and welcome into the school anytime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2008

Before Weiss my children had only attended public school gifted programs, and comparatively, this school is a joke. The sense of entitlement this school and its parents instill in students creates an environment that coddles rather than challenges. One thing's certain, at the Weiss School, no child would ever fail. Parents are the culprits here--what can you ask of sheltered students who have gone through life having their (dubiously) high IQs tossed around as an extension of their parents 'success'? The Weiss School gives the image of being a St. Ann's or a Crossroads-like school, but first it needs to learn the value of learning for the sake of learning--the only attitude toward education that can really provide gifted children with the rigor they need and deserve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2008

My daughter is in middle school and transferred in recently. She loves it! We had been at another private school for 7 years that had an accelerated curriculum. At Weiss she is finally being academically challenged! Weiss celebrates being gifted whereas most schools do not! I regret not moving her years ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2008

I love this school and my son is soaring. He has been here for five years and loves it. He is leap years ahead of his neighborhood friends of the same age. His classmates are the nicest kids and his teachers are dedicated and kind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2008

My son is a fourth grader at The Weiss School. He began as a shy 1st grader. He has blossomed into an accomplished student in academics, athletics and music. Mostly, the unique opportunities offered at Weiss (to have a sixth degree black belt teach Taekwondo twice a week; an inspirational drama and music teacher to find his hidden talents and the chance to jump ahead to pre-algebra) to name a few, has turned a formerly shy student into a happy, motivated learner. When you have a gifted child and you don't know the best way to nurture his/her talents and interests, trust Weiss. They know exactly how to bring out the best in gifted children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2007

I am a former student of the Weiss School. I can say, after being there for 6 years, that it gave me a great education that has helped me in my high school studies. I am, in all honors classes and doing well in all of them. I enjoyed the small classes, which enabled each student to learn their best, and the teachers were always able to help.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2007

I used to attend this school, and am sorry to say that it is extremely disappointing the education that I received. I am currently in high school at a public school and am getting a much better education. The whole school is run by the parents and their monetary status. If you are looking for a school that sells you on one thing and gives you another, here it is. Otherwise, I suggest that you take your money and save it for something else. I only say this because I honestly feel as though I am getting a better education in public schooling.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 30, 2007

This school was a nightmare to attend. The entire school has an extremely liberal bias and those not accepting this doctrine were made to feel inferior in every way. As a student it was hammered down our throats that we were better than everyone else because we are 'gifted'. The middle school was so ridiculously small, there was no social life at all. The place was a total waste of my parents money.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 42%
Hispanic 14% 29%
Black 7% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Denise Spirou
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (561) 775-7794

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Project-based
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Organize cultural events
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Suncoast
Dreyfoos School of Arts
The Pine School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4176 Burns Road
Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33410
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 627-0740

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Palm Beach Preparatory School
Palm Beach Gardens, FL


Bright Futures Academy
Palm Beach Gardens, FL


Nativity Lutheran Church
Palm Beach Gardens, FL




St Mark's Episcopal School
Palm Beach Gardens, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT