Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bright Futures Academy

Charter | K-8 | 700 students

“What is best for the Student,” is a governing philosophy at BFA.
 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 12 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

77 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 28, 2010

Being a parent at Bright Futures, I am disappointed in the way administration treats us. They are unjust in their actions and unprofessional as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2010

I completely agree with the last comment posted!!! You have to wonder about a school where the teachers are constantly leaving. Not to mention the communication is terrible. A letter was sent home this past Monday stating to call the school that night and wait for a message because due to a heating problem, there may be no school the next day... Parents called all night and THERE WAS NO MESSAGE!!!!!We didn't know if we should drop our kids off or not the next day!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2010

Too much teacher turnover! Students need stability and teachers are CONSTANTLY leaving mid year. I've never experienced this at other schools. My child has gone through several teachers already and it's only January!!I'm beginning to question administration's judge of character. Due to the revolving door with teachers constantly coming and going, I fear for my child's safety.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2010

I'm a parent of a current 5th grader. The previous two years were great.. However, the 5th grade is located at the MIDDLE SCHOOL. My child has classes with 8th graders and is constantly bullied. I do not think it is right to place advanced 5th graders in the same classes as lower level 8th graders. My son is finding things out way too soon for his age!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2010

My child transferred to Bright Futures this past school year from a private school. Her past education was much more advanced. I've tried numerous times to speak with the Principals about this issue so that she can be further challenged and have yet to hear back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2009

My daughter has excelled more at this school than anywhere she's been before. The emphasis on discipline and mutual respect is a refreshing change from what we encountered elsewhere. My daughter now LIKES going to school, and is learning more than ever before.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2009

The teachers are all great and do a wonderful job, however, the school overall is not as good. They are terrible about cashing checks for the school. It's not like they are small checks either. Checks for aftercare, lunches and other things that they are requesting money for can take over a month to be deposited. This makes it very difficult and annoying when balancing a checkbook. You would think they would be deposited on a weekly basis with how often they seem to ask for money and run fundraisers. The fundraisers are a bit much. When one fund raiser finishes they are ready to start another one. The school is also not so good at notifying of events coming up. We have sometimes received notice on a Friday that the next day is a school event that our child would have liked to go to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2009

The administration at Bright Futures is downright terrible. They are so nasty to both us parents and teachers. Extremely unprofessional atmosphere!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2009

Administration expects so much out of the teachers that they cannot focus on teaching our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

My son has gone to this school 3 years and he is very happy there. The communication with the teachers is great and they work around certain situations that can make it difficult for a student normally. Kudos to the staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

Wonderful school! I have never seen teachers so dedicated to teaching! My daughter is in the arts program and didn't even want to audition for bak! My son is thriving as well. Very pleased!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2009

This is a wonderful school! The teachers are dedicated and truly care about the students futures. Both of my children have attended Bright Futures for years and absolutely love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

my child attended 6th grade at Bright futures. since the school combines two grades together, they do not follow any book in most of the classes. The teachers are going anywhere since they do not have a defined path. If your child goes to the other school he would be in trouble. The school is very busy recruiting new students but loses focus on the present students. When you do these for the 5th sixth and seventh grade, you are going to jeopardize the future of your child. ( do you let the pilot fly a plane without the flight plan?)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

I worry that there is too much of a focus on expansion at the expense of what is best for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2009

While most of the teaching staff are truely dedictaed to the education of their students, the administration is lackluster at best. The administration focuses on 'getting the numbers', not on the education of the students. The school grew too quick and the students and teaching staff are suffering. My children no longer attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

Bright Futures is offering a private education that not only meets, but exceeds some of the private schools I visited. Only, one school came close...(I won't get into that).... How do they do this? With a Board that is run by Members of the community and Parents. People who are donating there time to make a difference for our children and future. The school gets the same amount of tax dollars from the state just like a public school, but they fund raise to meet the deficient by holding car washes, garage sales and more. A charter school means that the board make the overall decision's for the school, but also follows county test requirements. I am starting to hear about Bright Futures more often at dinner conversations. My goal next year, (as should every parent that is getting a private education at no cost) is to volunteer, be the bigges
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2009

As a parent and teacher at the school, I must say that the administration of the school and in particular the principal is the finest I have ever seen in any district or school. Over the past four years, the school has grown from a small elementary school to a fabulous K-8 school with a waiting list to attend. This was the direct result of the leadership of one person, the principal, and the dedication of the increbile staff.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 10, 2009

I agree with the parent who posted on March 6th...the expansion of the school may bring additional profits, but bigger does not always mean better for the children - my second grader, for instance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2008

This was our first year at BFI and we are very happy. My children are happy, learning & safe. I can look past not having facilities. I think BFI does a great job with what they have. After all I CHOSE to send my children there and I toured the school before hand. I think it's a great school doing great things for our kids. I say try it and see for yourself. I think it's a great alternative to private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2008

my two children just finished there first year at Bright Futures. I am so happy with the school. The middle school has been very good to my son who has a 504 plan. I keep in contact with the teachers as the need arises. This allows my son grow in areas on his own. The grade school is also great. Mrs. Moran the K teacher is so nurturing and loving towards the children. The small classes and unorganized office some other reviewers complain about here never seemed to be a problem. I think the extra room we will have this coming year will work out great. The children enjoy this atmosphere. There safety comes first as many parents stand outside in the morning and afternoon with security shirts. Im very pleased with Bright Futures
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
37%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

68 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

72 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
65%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 49%
Black 26%
Hispanic 16%
Two or more races 7%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 49%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/AN/A
Female 51%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 100%73%61%
Master's degree 0%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 13%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Dance club: Scottish
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Kendall Artusi
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (561) 658-0565

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Honors track
  • Outdoor / Farm-based
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
  • Student driven, teacher facilitated
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Social justice
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Vocational education
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Shuttle between campuses
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Chess club
  • Civil Air Patrol
  • Computer Club
  • Dance club: Scottish
  • Fishing Club
  • Gardening
  • Model UN
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer for special events
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10350 Riverside Drive
Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33410
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 253-7504

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Palm Beach Preparatory School
Palm Beach Gardens, FL



St Mark's Episcopal School
Palm Beach Gardens, FL


Weiss School
Palm Beach Gardens, FL


Nativity Lutheran Church
Palm Beach Gardens, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT