Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bright Futures Academy

Charter | K-8 | 700 students

“What is best for the Student,” is a governing philosophy at BFA.
 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 12 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

78 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2008

my two children just finished there first year at Bright Futures. I am so happy with the school. The middle school has been very good to my son who has a 504 plan. I keep in contact with the teachers as the need arises. This allows my son grow in areas on his own. The grade school is also great. Mrs. Moran the K teacher is so nurturing and loving towards the children. The small classes and unorganized office some other reviewers complain about here never seemed to be a problem. I think the extra room we will have this coming year will work out great. The children enjoy this atmosphere. There safety comes first as many parents stand outside in the morning and afternoon with security shirts. Im very pleased with Bright Futures
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2008

Very unhappy with teacher turnover and the coaches making bad choices at P.E. I think they are trying to expand the school before it is ready and they seem to dwell on the middle school. This will be our last year at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2008

My daughter attended this school for three years and loved every minute of her experiences. The teachers were more than caring and my daughter became a better person for it. I would recommend this school with no reservations to all who wish the very best for there childrens education and personal growth. I am sorry we could not take the school with us when we moved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2008

my child's 1st and last year. i, as well as my child, are very unhappy with the services offered and the quality of teachers. my child is on a 504 & an AIP and i try to stay in constant communication with teachers. the teachers do not care about their students. they do not want to be bothered with anything that may help to improve your child's learning experience. There are also no extra services offered for children who are academically challenged. Such as, tutoring or after-school homework help etc...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2007

Good teachers and very happy kids but abysmal administration. Very unorganized in the office.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2007

There are no facilities to speak of. The turn over rate of teachers is high and there is always political drama. Do not send your kids here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2007

My children have attended BFI and AIS for a number of years and I am excited about the changes that have been made. When I read the reviews about the lack of programs in previous years I am excited to see computers in every classroom, computer board technology, music, art, Spanish and a well rounded curriculum. All of these changes can be attributed to the hard work of the entire staff that have worked so hard to improve the schools. BFI did see a slide this year to a very high 'B' rating while AIS remained an 'A'. I have confidence that BFI will return to and 'A' and if they do not, I will look at the individual improvements that my children continue to make and evaluate their educational experiance based on their individual performance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

FCAT scores have come out and you can't argue with the facts. There are some very dissapppointing numbers for Bright Futures. There are other schools in the area that did much better. It used to be that Bright Futures set the standard for achievement, but not anymore. We are looking for another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2007

I believe Bright Futures is a good school although sometimes I feel my daughter needs more individual help, and she doesn't get however I do see a change, so I believe that things will be different for next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2007

I am a parent of middle school and elementary school children. The schools are wonderful, and provide an excellent education for my children. The office staff is always courteous and professional!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2007

Classrooms are small, bathrooms are dirty, no space to play, unprofessional atmosphere in the school office. Looking elsewhere for middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2007

I could not be more pleased with this school. The individual attention my children receive is outstanding. The teachers provide extra tutoring. The extracurricular clubs are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2006

Bright Futures is the best education you can find in a public school in its area. The teachers are dedicated and truly care about each child. Children are truly taught at their individual level. The curriculum is challeging and well rounded. As a charter school, funds are limited and the school struggles with funding and stability issues. However, it is worth the risk compared to the other 'more stable' choices in the area. If the school can secure a permanent facility in the near future, it will be without a doubt one of the best schools in the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2006

I couldn't be happier with the education my son is receiving in Kindergarten this year. His teacher, Mrs. Moran, is a kind-hearted and dynamic teacher who brings out the best in the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2005

Bright Futures has been a great school for our family. This is our 3rd year and we are pleased with the education that our 2 of our kids are getting. They work hard at keeping the curriculum current and challenging. The Spanish program is top notch also. I may not always agree with how things are going but I feel I can raise a concern and it will be addressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2005

i love the ibo program it helps the kids understand the world around them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2004

Bright Futures is a K-6 public charter school that has small classes and an aide in every class (as of 2004). There are two classes per grade. The extras are P.E., Art, Spanish, pull-out gifted class, and speech - however, there is no computer lab and no Music program yet. A good school for the basics but extra funding will be needed in the next few years to continue the school. I would recommend this school for grades K through 3.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2004

Bright Futures is a K-6 public charter school that has small classes and an aide in every class (as of 2004). There are two classes per grade. The extras are P.E., Art, Spanish, pull-out gifted class, and speech - however, there is no computer lab and no Music program yet. A good school for the basics but extra funding will be needed in the next few years to continue the school. I would recommend this school for grades K through 3.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
37%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

68 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

72 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
65%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 49%
Black 26%
Hispanic 16%
Two or more races 7%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 49%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/AN/A
Female 51%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 100%73%61%
Master's degree 0%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 13%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Dance club: Scottish
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Kendall Artusi
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (561) 658-0565

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Honors track
  • Outdoor / Farm-based
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
  • Student driven, teacher facilitated
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Social justice
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Vocational education
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Shuttle between campuses
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Chess club
  • Civil Air Patrol
  • Computer Club
  • Dance club: Scottish
  • Fishing Club
  • Gardening
  • Model UN
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer for special events
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10350 Riverside Drive
Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33410
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 253-7504

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Palm Beach Preparatory School
Palm Beach Gardens, FL



St Mark's Episcopal School
Palm Beach Gardens, FL


Weiss School
Palm Beach Gardens, FL


Nativity Lutheran Church
Palm Beach Gardens, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT