Advertisement
Advertisement

Palm Beach Day Academy

Private | PK-9 | 500 students

Our school is best known for high academic standards and a nurturing environment

 
 

Living in Palm Beach

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $365,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 3, 2012

Also, the school is not a challenge. Even honors classes are a breeze. The only challenge is trying to go through a normal day without getting yelled at by teachers.


Posted October 6, 2012

I used this website 2 years ago when I was looking for a new school for my son and I found it extremely helpful. There were many schools to consider and I was extremely thorough in my search. After visiting PBDA my husband, son & I all left the school knowing that if they had a place for our son then PBDA would be his new school. They were warm & embracing from the moment we entered the school and have remained that way ever since. Our decision to enroll our son @ PBDA and to become a part of the PBDA community/family is one of the best decisions we could have ever made. We are beyond thrilled with the administration, teachers, families, facilities and students. Our son could not be any happier. There is a wonderful balance between academics, athletics & the arts. PBDA is committed to challenging & supporting their student's mind, body & spirit. They are also very committed to the community & to teaching the children how to give back to their community. We believe that our son is getting the finest education possible. I would highly recommend that anyone looking for an outstanding education in the south Florida area consider PBDA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2012

My daughter has been going to this school since she was 2 1/2 years old. She is currently in 6th grade. It has been her second home. Because of the excellent faculty she has developed very good study skills and has a strong foundation for learning. She looks forward to going to school and being challenged daily. I'm so grateful she can spend the difficult middle school years with a strong support system this school provides. I think it is by far the best school in Palm Beach County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2012

Best Independent School in Palm Beach County. Maintains high Academic Standards, Student focused, Caring Faculty & Administration, Traditional family school environment encourages parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

I went to PBDA until 8 grade. I had so many great memories there i would not change it for anything! Also when i went to the high school i am at now even though my high school is a private school too i was very prepared for what high school threw at me becuase PBDA is a little but more advanced then any other private school in the area at least in my opinion. So any one who would like a good education and close environment this school is for you!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2008

Palm Beach Day Academy is one of the best schools in South Florida, located in Palm Beach. The faculty and staff are great. We have many programs that help poor and in need organizations.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 1, 2007

Academically strong, this school also instills a sense of community. Although students do tend to be from wealthy families, there is a big push for interaction with all types of students. Bulldog Outreach has done a tremendous job collecting and distributing goods to migrant schools allowing children to visit the schools themselves. This is a true, caring school that looks out for its students, faculty and others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2007

The quality of the academic programs here are second to none especially when placed up against its local competitors. This school is rooted in tradition, fostering a sense of community, morals and values. With its high tuition it has mainly catered to the affluent but since its merge with another school there is now scholarship/financial aid offerings so I think the clientele will become a little more diverse. The sports program is excellent while the fine arts remains its only sole weakness I believe the merge will help to better that as well in time. They have set their sights on a high school so after that it will be the whole package Pre-k through the 12th grade. We love this school! Having said that, bare in mind no school is perfect!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2004

The Palm Beach Day School is absolutely wonderful. The faculty and students have the upmost respect for one another and there is a great sense of community.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2003

This school, while it has its good scores in particular areas, it does not allow a child to see the world for what it really is. Because it is a pricey private school, it caters to the wealthy more than the normal life of everyday children, those less fortunate.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Rebecca Van Der Bogert
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (561) 655-5794

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Project-based
  • Reggio Emilia
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Ann Norton Sculpture Gardens
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$14000 - $25000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
St. Andrew's School
The Benjamin School
Phillips Andover Academy
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

241 Seaview Ave
Palm Beach, FL 33480
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 655-1188

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Palm Beach Christian Academy
West Palm Beach, FL


Christian Life Academy
Royal Palm Beach, FL


Palm Beach Cathedral Christian
Palm Beach Gardens, FL


Saint Ann Catholic School
West Palm Beach, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT