Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Citrus Grove Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 590 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 19, 2014

My daughter has gone to Citrus Grove for three years now. The teachers have been wonderful, and attentive to any extra needs she has had. Her academics have improved greatly since she first started there. The guidance counselor was very proactive helping her through some social issues she was having. The school also has some great clubs for the kids to have added learning and social opportunities. I've never had a problem with communication between myself and the staff. I'm so happy that my daughter has such an awesome school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2014

Car line is poorly run, some kids are not cut out to be safety patrol,one in particular whose parent works there. Not enough adult supervision. Assistant Principal is never out there. Principal and Guidance Counselor seldom return emails or phone calls. Gym teacher is superfluous. One fifth grade teacher is miserable. The secretary who answers the phone is always rude. Otherwise its your average school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2014

It seems Citrus Grove got a better failing grade than the overall state!! If my child were to receive a grade less than 80% let alone a failing grade of 65% Id be very disappointed and they would be doing homework every night without excuse until they brought the grades up. Either the testing is poorly managed, delivered, or taught, or the Florida school system is in shambles. Either way, everyone should be ashamed. Before seeing these results Id have rated the teachers and staff 4 or 5 stars. But after seeing the testing results apparently they aren't able to do the jobs adequately. Either Florida hires only mediocre uncaring teachers or more than likely, the resources provided to them by state level management is lacking and poorly managed. Maybe its time to look at teaching students to think rather than now to take a test.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2014

If you have a child that is at grade level or above then they will do great. If you have a child that struggles with reading, the be prepared for the fact that they will want to fail your child. But the principle will tell you, as a way to make you feel better, "but don't worry we never hold a child back more than once." My child has an above average IQ but difficulty reading and their best solution was to make him repeat all of 2nd grade. Their reasoning was, "He has a good chance of failing the third grade FCAT." I suppose failing a student is better than working hard to help them succeed. I told them I could come into the classroom to help where he struggles. I was told, "That is just not how we do things here." At the same time, they said that he needed too much help in the classroom. The teacher had 14 kids. Needless to say, I pulled my child out of this school and he's thriving above grade level. The other thing I hated about this school was how they picked all the smartest kids in the grade and gave them all the awards. We came in half way through the year and my child was told she was not eligible for awards since she came in late. That's ridiculous!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2013

My son attended Citrus Grove Elementary in Palm City. The teachers, staff and school are excellent! I feel very blessed that my son was able to attend Citrus Grove. I wish to thank everyone, especially Mrs. Bakkedahl, Mrs. Klostreich s and Mrs. Windsor for caring, teaching and all they do to help mold our children. You are the best of the best and we appreciate you! Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2012

My son is leaving CGE for middle school. The teachers have left their mark on him. His attitude for school and learning has become infectious. His academic growth is rewarding. The friendships made by him and by our family through the school will live forever. We miss CGE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2012

I have two children at CGE and we love it. Amazing staff! Child-centered! My children have demonstrated excellent academic progress and have made strong friendships.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

Actually the parent writing about the 24 hr observation rule should be informed that it is district policy per teacher contract that requires 24 hr notice. It is not a school-based decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2011

I have a serious problem with the observation policy at the school. I must give 24 hr notice in order to observe my child's classroom. What if I want to see it without giving the teacher 24 hrs to clean up their act? As a parent I feel I should be able to observe and check on my child at any time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2010

Citrus Grove is a beautiful facility. The teaching staff seem happy to be there and excite the children to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2010

So very pleased with how the students did in the State testing (FCATS). Top in district for 4th grade math, 5th grade reading, 5th grade math & science! Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2009

We have 3 chidren attending this school and are very happy with the first year. Good Job to all!!!! Have a great summer.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

87 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 80%
Hispanic 14%
Asian 2%
Black 2%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 56%68%61%
Master's degree 42%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 18%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2527 Southwest Citrus Boulevard
Palm City, FL 34990
Website: Click here
Phone: (772) 223-2513

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Nau Charter School
Port St. Lucie, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT