Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hidden Oaks Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1051 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2013

I am in 8th grade and this is a great school. I have the best teachers ever. The only thing I can complain about is the food. It is horrible. The cook should be fired. The food in elementary school was way better than this stuff. I don't understand how they can mess it up so bad. Who eats brown lettuce? The hot food is cold and the cold food is not. My mom tries to find stuff on the website for me to eat but she said it is all pretty much unhealthy and full of salt and fat. I told her I would not care if it tasted good. I can't wait for H.S.


Posted March 17, 2013

I am currently in eight grade, and I have to say, this is a GREAT school. Teachers are nice, although there are a few grouchy ones. There's many clubs to join, including chorus, band, art, and SWAT. They also get you properly prepared for high school. I've noticed that many kids are snobby and rude, and I mostly stick to my friends from elementary school. As long as you hang out with the right people, you won't get into any drama, but you will be extremely annoyed at certain people who do. Before coming here, I went to Palm City Elementary which is AMAZING. I had my best school year there, and my worst school year here, which was seventh grade. Sixth grade was OK, I was just meeting new people and seeing who's good or not, and eighth grade is actually really good :) So all in all, you will have a great experience at this school and gain much knowledge, just stay away from the bad crowd. :)


Posted July 10, 2011

This school was a dissapointment to say the least. With a few exceptions, the teachers appeared to be unhappy and the students... WOW is all I can say. Big group of self entitled here, not a nice bunch. My son absolutely hated going to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

Truly dedicated teaching staff and a great student body!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2009

my son went their and the teachers were exellent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2009

this school is okay, the teachers are pretty cool. and i love lunch.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 10, 2008

Okay so this is my 8th grade year and hear me out: HOMS is the best school in the area, I won't lie, yes there are your typical preps, cheerleaders, jocks and all the other stereotypes, but if you just avoid and ignore them they won't affect your life. HOMS does have a great academic program if you wish to pursue a higher education. The gifted teachers may be harsh at times but in the end you'll realize that you actually learned a lot. The P.E. program is nice, because if you have a tough time athletically, it isn't too rigorous, but you also can get a good workout if you choose to. HOMS bands are outstanding, we have one of the best director's Mr. Allen Gilbert (no one can even remember when he started teaching), and dedicated students make All-State each year. Go to HOMS and you'll be happy.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2008

I absolutly love teaching at Hidden Oaks Middle School. The administration, staff and teachers go above and beyond to put learning first. Student achievment and character development are a top priority at HOMS. The atmosphere is very friendly and supportive of all who attend and work at Hidden Oaks. I would not work at any other school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 15, 2008

Hidden Oaks is an excellent school! Some drama, but stay away from it and you are good! All my teachers this year are greart! I love this school and this would be the only one in the district that I would ever go to! It is awesome, and since this is my 1st year, starting 7th grade I thought would be a challenge considering that everyone else went there the year before and has all ready got settled with their friends I fit in perfectly! My friends are awesome and I am so happy to call this place my school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 14, 2008

I love Hidden Oaks! It is a great school. They have nice teachers and caring students. They can have a few students that are bitchy but over all its great. I am on the cheer team and I do art club. Everyone is nice and they have great things. GO SHARKS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2008

Hidden Oaks Middle School has a wonderfully professional faculty that has challenged my daughter to reach her highest potential. As a student in the gifted program, my daughter has excelled academically, made wonderful friends amongst teachers and fellow students. Her teachers have been wonderful mentors who have taken a very personalized approach to teaching. Clearly la creme de la creme of Martin County, FL
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2007

Im in 7th grade at Hidden Oaks and I love it there! I have learned so much and have been going there since last year! The teachers are oh so nice to! I wouldnt leave this school for anything. Also we have a wonderful dress code except for wearing collared shirts. If I could chose any middle school to go to I would go to Hidden Oaks!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 28, 2007

My daughter attends HOMS and she says that it is the best school ever. We have moved a lot and she has attended many schools but this one is her absolute favorite. She is on the volleyball team and I think that is a good way to make new friends. Go Sharks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2006

High quality Middle School. Good teacher Quality and they really seem to care. Great composition of student body. Latest Equipment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2005

Hidden Oaks is a great school with so many oppurtunities and great teachers. It has been an A school for many consecutive years and their students get the best quality education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 17, 2005

Both of my boys went thru Hidden Oaks Middle school and I have been very happy with the quality education they had received. Teachers are very caring and friendly and they are so willing to help the students. It is a private school with no tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2004

This school is excellent compared to other middle schools in the area. If you are looking for a great middle school, this is it. Only draw back is that the kids are split into MCHS and South Fork.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

317 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

314 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

293 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

350 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

187 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

368 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

367 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

370 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

354 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 83%
Hispanic 10%
Asian 2%
Black 2%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 82%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%68%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 15%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. JENNY NEWSOME
Fax number
  • (772) 219-1663
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2801 Southwest Martin Highway
Palm City, FL 34990
Website: Click here
Phone: (772) 219-1655

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT