Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Palm City Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 645 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 20, 2014

Phenomenal. Truly student-focused and family inclusive, there is always something positive being offered for students and families. My daughter is in the gifted program, and the teachers, guidance, and the school psychologist worked to quickly facilitate the testing process and enrolling her in enrichment classes. The teachers are awesome and she is excelling. My little one went to VPK there and already knows how to read going into kindergarten. And the principal has run a tight, respected ship over there for over forty years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

This school is the best! It has fabulous teachers and administration and the community support is amazing.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 17, 2013

I graduated here in fifth grade, and it was probably the best school year I've had so far, and I'm currently in eighth grade. The teachers are just AMAZING. They have great teaching techniques that are educational and fun at the same time. Although, two of the teachers I had aren't here anymore which doesn't make it as great as it used to be. Being new, I met great friends that I'm still friends with now, and all in all I am glad I went to this school.


Posted November 24, 2011

There is no question - the teachers and administration are remarkable! However, the building, air conditioning, or trailers seem to breed germs and consequently the students seem ill too often. Extended day is crowded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

It is an awesome neighborhood school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

4 child in the school and alays been excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2010

The teachers have been there forever. My children have grown so much with their instruction. The school is old but they work together with the community and we really feel like we are taking part in our childrens' education. They are happy to have volunteers and treat them very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2010

palm city elementary school is the best school that my child have been too. the frist year they got reading under there belt am so happy that my daughter goes there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

This school is awesome! My child and I could not be happier. Other schools should use this school as an example to strive to achieve the same level of education, organization, and all around 'family' feeling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

5 stars best school & teachers ever wouldn't put my children in any other school my oldest started PCE in 1994 my 2nd chil in 2003 & 3rd child in 2005
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2008

This school has the best of everything. It has fabulous leadership, outstanding dedicated teachers, academic achievement and a pleasant student population. Our child thrives here in comparison to the local private school which has a lot of behavior problem children and poor leadership. This school far exceeds our expectations
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2007

After switching our daughter from the very expensive private Pine school, we were delighted to discover what true 'excellence' really is like. PCE has a truly dedicated, professional staff that has pride and acts like a team to ensure the best for all children there. I am so thrilled to have my child there. We are so happy to be away from all the behavior problems that are tolerated at the other school just because some parents are high donors. This school couldn't be better. Mrs. Nancy Marin is just the very best principal imaginable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2007

palm city elementary is a wonderful school. IT has an excellent reading program that motivates your child to read every day. the teachers are excellent and very much wants your child to succeed. my daughter is a third grader at pce and she enjoys her teachers and friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2006

All academic opportunities are exellelent here, you get only the best with this school. The arts are also a big part of the cirriculm, and the children get music and art twice a week as an 'elective' class. The teachers are all qualified, and I've yet to see a 'bad' teacher at PCE. Parents have many opportunities to be involved in their children's education, and the phycility and staff are also very helpful.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 13, 2005

Dedicated staff. A rated every year since FL rated its schools
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2005

My daughter attended Palm City Elementary for 5th grade only. She had an extremely positive experience there. Wonderful teacher, wonderful principal(now retired),and incredibly active PTA and parent volunteers. Fabulous school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2004

After three years, my oldest son has had a great start to his education. He had the most dedicated teacher I have known. Support from the principal and guidance counselor was exceptional. My youngest son will be in first grade this year, and is equally excited, and challenged by the quality of teaching at PCE. It should also be noted that parents are encouraged to communicate with teachers and be actively involved in many areas. The volunteer network is extraordinary! Students are honored and rewarded for hard work and good character. Definitely a good 'all-around' educational experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2004

I absolutely love this school. Parents, teachers, and the community make this school what it is- and that is surely one of the best in Florida. I agreee with the other posting that PCE is in need of some extra love with regards to a new facelift since the school is extremely old. (It may go back to the 70's or before) However, don't judge this book by its cover!!! Even though the school needs some restoration it is extrememly well taken care of and very clean. I'm very proud for my kids to be part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2004

I wasn't sure that I wanted my daughter to go to public school, but I was so surprised about Palm City. Palm City is one of the best public schools in Florida. My daughter is doing very well in all of her classes because of how well her teacher encouragest her to do her best. I know that my daughter will do well in the future because she had a great kindergarten teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

The quality of education is above what we thought we'd find in Florida. The Principal, Nancy Marin, runs a very well interwoven program with teachers and parents, catering to each child's strengths and encouraging strengthening their less developed attributes.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

133 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
96%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

121 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

132 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 80%
Hispanic 13%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 76%68%61%
Master's degree 24%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 27%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1951 Southwest 34th Street
Palm City, FL 34990
Website: Click here
Phone: (772) 219-1565

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT