Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bessey Creek Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 541 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2014

1st day of school, where they tell us to get the bus one never shows up. I call and they say the bus route changed 2 says before school. No call. Now sitting in car poll lane for 30 min. How is this fare to a 5 tear old wondering if mommy and daddy are showing up. Extremely disappointed
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2014

The school is average, there is a 5th grade teacher "Michele" who has no patience with the kids, and makes the classroom a negative environment. There are other teachers there that actually care about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

We moved away to Central Florida and miss Bessey Creek terrible. My son has some developmental delays but was in a mainstream classroom and had Mrs. Castellanos as a kindergarten teacher. She was phenomenal. Also the administration there is outstanding Alice Lemond (school psychologist), Ruby Amsden (ESE coordinator), and the rest of the Bessey Creek team are top notch. This school truly made a difference for my child and I wish everyone at Bessey Creek much success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

Excellent staff and teachers. Excellent programs. Well managed school. Friendly, respectful & nourishing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2010

We have been on a roller coaster since attending BCE. The teachers can't seem to decide if my child is a problem or not. They are great at pointing out problems, but not so great at finding the solutions for children that are not 'typical'. I am considering other options. This school may be more concerned with their 'A' ratings than meeting individual needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

My 2 kids love this school...they never say, 'I don't want to go to school!'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

I had my children in private school before moving them to this public school. I have never been happier! they give 120% to each and every child there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

Bessey Creek is a wonderful school with wonderful teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

We moved to Bessey Creek about 4 weeks ago and could not be happier! Everyone from the administration on down (yes, including the parents) have been friendly, kind and helpful. We moved after the start of the school year and they did everything they could to make my children's transition as smooth as possible. My children love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

You feel at home when you walk on the campus. The parents, teacher and staff all get along great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

Over the past 7 years my Children have attended Bessey Creek. I can't think of anything I would change. We love our school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

It's just the best school ever! Wonderful Teachers, Administrators, Students and Volunteers. My kids love it here and we couldn't ask for more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

Our School is wonderful because of all our wonderful Students, Teachers, and Volunteers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

My children love this school. They teach them to be responsible, productive, wonderful little people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

Bessey Creek truly believes in no child left behind. It is a small school feel with a big school ambition. We not only have great students but fantastic teachers and administrative staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

Great school, super teachers. I have a friend that is a volunteer there as well as a sub teacher.


Posted October 15, 2009

It's such a great school. Character Counts is big at Bessey Creek Elementary and it really makes a difference in the students. They leave the school and enter middle school with an appreciation for good character. The school also has great teachers who really care about their students. There are so many extra curricular activities that the teachers get involved in as well as volunteers. The students seem to love coming to school and are sad to leave it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

Amazing place because of dedicated teachers and staff that care about kids. Conscious Discipline makes all the difference!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

Private school atmosphere; character counts discipline; the principal is approachable and cares about each individual student- goes above and beyond; 'family' feel. Academically sound.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

It is so peaceful. The staff and family do everything they can to make it the best place for our children!It has been an 'A' rated school since it opened! What else could you asks from a school?
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

100 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 84%
Hispanic 13%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 143%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 22%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 70%68%61%
Master's degree 30%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2201 Southwest Matheson Avenue
Palm City, FL 34990
Website: Click here
Phone: (772) 219-1500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT