Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Indian Trails Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 848 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 19, 2012

I go here and it is a very great school. The motto is the big 3 which is do what's right, do what's best, and treat others the way you want to be treated. this is enforced very strongly, but the classmates are very rude but mostly in the gym classes since it is their chance to "show off". The school itself and staff are EXCELLENT! but the classmates have a bit rudeness in them. this school still has good students but the rude ones are the popular and jocks. anyone moving here should definitely enroll their child here, it will be well worth it since i also just moved here and i have a bunch of quirky,nice,funny friends. the teachers deal with bullying perfectly so just one tell and they automatically are suspended or get a referral.


Posted November 9, 2011

My daughter is in 7th grade had two problems with bullying, this school does not tolerate bullies, the teachers and staff are very reasonable with students. Out of all middle schools Indian Trails is the best, I feel safe leaving my daughter in this school. By the way school continues to be perfectly clean!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

ITMS has the best teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2009

I just graduated from this school. I went there 6th-8th.I must say it was a great school.I got introuble alot but ms.widing(sp?) and the rest of the deans steared me straight if that how i should put it.they got me back on track with my school work and i stayed out of alot of trouble.Im glad i went to that school. they have an amazing staff
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 25, 2008

I am a 6th grader in this school, and I'm supposed to be in 8th. I love this school so much!! I do get in trouble very often but thats just my problem. The behavior system and dress code is a littel strict but otherwise this is a great school! The teachers do their best to help you out and my Favorite teacher is Ms. Kim.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2008

This school is awesome!!! My daughter is in 7th grade and she loves this school. It is bright and open. The teachers that we have dealth with the past 2 years are unbelievably better than any other place we have been!!! The administrative staff is also very helpful to the students. The 7th grade counselor Ms. Fasnet (not sure sp) is phenomenal!!! She cares about the students and helps them in every way!! They have several activities and fun things for the kids to enter and be in the whole year. They have lacrosse and football. What else could you want, a school that has been A+ for 3 or more years!!! Not sure why there are negative issues with this school because we have ahd nothing but positive things from this school!!! An Involved Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

I am disappointed with the way some of the administration treat the children. They are not good role models. On the up side...the new band teacher Mrs. McIntyre is uplifting, treats the kids with respect ,and truly motivates the kids to want to succeed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2008

Hi, i'm an 8th grade student attending Indian Trails Middle School. I have attended Indian Trails since Kindergarden. The school was recently changed to a 6-8 school. This school is great! The food is good, there is a nice variety. We have an ala-cart line with fruit, a salad bar, etc. And We also have a regular lunch line that is cheaper, with hot meals. The teachers are really nice. The staff is also very niiiice(: The school is very very clean. Everyday the school gets cleaned. The teachers and administration really listen to what the students have to say. They let us voice our oppinion at any time. Indian Trails currently has a lacrosse teaaam! which is wonderfulll:D A Football team, a basketball team, a cheerleading team, and many other extracurricular activites. I love this school, I would much rather go here than any other middle school in the district.:D
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 16, 2007

I wish I could have more space to write, but please do not take your child to this school. All I can say is that you CANT CHANGE your classes, and almost every teacher is frightening and very hard to understand.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 26, 2007

My daughter just started here this year and is in the 7th grade. It has not been an easy transaction. The teachers seem nice but her grades have really dropped. Not much cooperation in trying to contact teachers and staff members have not been much help either. Alot of confusion with dropping off and picking up the kids. Really need a traffic officer during school opening and releasing
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2007

This school for starters is horrible. It is very dirty. They just painted but did not finish painting, so the wall is half painted and half not. The bathrooms are never cleaned, if you put your backpack down on the floor and pick it up there is dirt all over it. The gum has finally been power washed off the floors. The only positive part of the school is the teachers. I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2007

i love this school! the teachers are awsome mr.nemic is the best!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2007

I have gone here my whole middle school career and love it! The school teachers are great and things are well organized the school never has much violence its clean andthe food is actually good!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2007

I commend the school for making the transition into middle school a good one for my child. I believe that his growth is directly contributed to the administration and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2006

The middle school is alright. I have 2 daughters who are going there. The teachers seem nice and I love the fact that they have many after school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2005

This school has a great family atmosphere and provides many oppurtunities for education. My child feels right at home here and has excelleld in his studies. I have two children that attend Indian Trails and I couldn't be happier. My daughter will be attending in two years and I will have all three of my children at Indian Trails and I can't wait.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2004

For starters the school is very nice and clean. It is alittle scary for younger kids due to its size. They are tight with security so forget walking them on their first day. It is confusing to pick up children in car rider lines, and allow yourself 1 hour before dismissal to be in line if you don't want your child to be 30th in line to be picked up. It doesn't seem that they will change there procedures so good luck. Haven't encountered the gridlock yet with the new school next door being built. New principal too. 2004 will hopefully be better even with new changes.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

452 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

454 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

395 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

393 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

392 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

388 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

430 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 65%
Hispanic 15%
Black 11%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 69%61%61%
Master's degree 29%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. PAUL PEACOCK
Fax number
  • (386) 446-7662
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5505 Belle Terre Parkway
Palm Coast, FL 32137
Website: Click here
Phone: (386) 446-6732

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT