Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Palm Harbor Academy

Charter | K-5 | 57 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 21, 2013

this school dropped my daughter off with no adult home and had no explantion for this
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2012

My children has attended Palm Harbor for the past two school years. My children transferred into PHA because they were struggling at the local public school . The teachers at Palm Harbor worked with my daughters. They gave them additional help and free tutoring. I don't care what anyone say, PHA is where my kids are staying!! My kids no longer feel dumb because the teachers were not willing to help them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2012

I advise any parent to stay away from this school. If you care about your child and about where your tax dollars go, my child became much worse after he was bullied in the play ground and even on the buss to and from school. The staff are really bunch of liers,before we enrolled our child there we asked the registrar about the FCAT and what was the percentage of students who passed and we were told 100% of them did and I found out just recently while I was driving on the radio they said the school got an F grade two years in a row. Can you imagine the disapointement I felt ? I am very upset with myself that I did not research this school myself to find out the truth about it. This the reason for this review, I do not want anpother carying parent to make the same mistake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2011

I give Palm Harbor Academy a poor review; however. The teachers go above and beyond to try to create a wonderful experience for the children. There is no playground, no equipment, no P.E and no Art Program. The school says it focuses on performing arts and science, but there is "0". I don't see the science besides the little the students learn in their regular classes. There is no multi purpose room or stage for plays. The program is poorly funded. There is music; however do to the poor funding there aren't instruments. The classroom is very small...looks like an office. Questions are always unanswered. My concern is the pick up system. There is nobody monitoring who is coming into the building. Anyone could come in without a problem without any identification or print out name tag...It's crazy that any stranger could walk in and go straight into a classroom. I have also noticed that the school can't keep the same teachers. Teachers quit and come and go...it is a sign that this school is a poor choice. This school advertises a well rounded education program, which it really does not offer! Ask question and you will soon find out!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2011

A parent commented on the stepping team @ Palm Harbor Academy. First, I am simply a parent that volunteered to develop a stepping team. I know very little about stepping, but I saw a need to create a place where boys could get together and interact with each other. Up to then, the guys had no male outlet. I am simply a 'big brother' to your sons. The 'Simon Says game, I used as a fair way to select 2 team captains. Regarding marching; how can you conceivably teach young men to perform the more difficult 'synchronized stepping', if they can t simply march in unison? Regarding the canceled practices; I am a volunteer. I try to schedule my time to be available, but I am also a full-time student in college, and likely I was taking an exam, or labs, or possibly on a job interview. I have unsuccessfully attempted, on several occasions, to get help from parents so that we don't miss practices. But since parents at this academy rarely get involved, this is not an option. I make no apologies for trying to do my part in giving our boys a sense of belonging. So, instead of throwing rocks and running, maybe you should consider becoming a part of the SOLUTION, and not part of the PROBLEM Tony
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2011

I must agree that parents have said some correct things about this school. But it all boils down to Poor Leadership .. If the Leadership is poor how can the Teachers be effective in the class room...My opinion is this if you choose to enroll your child ask lots of questions regarding the leadership and make sure that person is up to date on current events in the school system and let them provide you in writting reports and research of what they have done since taking leadership of the school ...At the end of the day its about your child and the importance of their Education


Posted March 7, 2011

Palm Harbor Academy has been a great school for my son. Palm Harbor Academy has given my son opportunities that he has not had at other schools. My son participates in FCAT Saturdays, a 3-hour time that focuses on studying/preparing for the FCAT, and the choir. Besides having the opportunity to participate in school programs and functions, my son has gone on at least four educational field trips this year including the Ponce Inlet lighthouse, the Fountain of Youth, and a performance at the Bethune Cookman University Performing Arts Center. I agree that parent participation and involvement has been an issue. There are plenty of opportunities for parents to participate in the education of their students as well is in the the progression of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2011

Palm Harbor Academy is a new school in our community and like any school in this area parents have their opinion on how well the teachers perform and the overall greatness of the school environment. From viewing the reviews of this school it delights me to know that there are only two parents that felt the need to post a negative review, I think that says a lot about the school. My child has participated in the school's science fair and she brings math work home daily. My child is in both the computer and art club. If you ask me Palm Harbor is doing a great job in specializing in Math, Science, and the Arts. I'm sure as time progress so will the school, try it for your self....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2011

Palm Harbor Academy is an up and coming educational institution. Like any new venture, success is measured in small steps. One thing I do not see after two years of being involved in the school is parental participation. Yet, parents want to sit back and complain about the teaching staff. In all honesty, these teachers spend more time trying to instruct your kids in simple rules of conduct, rules that should have been taught at home. So give these teachers a break. if you train your children at home, then possibly, teachers can spend more quality time doing what they were trained to do; educating your kids. in fact, if you would just show up from time to time, that alone would be a tremendous help. Get involved to the extent that your schedule allows, but DO get involved. If you are not willing to get involved in your child's education, then at the very least, quit criticizing those who probably spend more time with your kids than you do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2011

I just visited this school for my children and my neighbor went with me. I found it to be clean and neat, lunch was being served and it smelled DELICIOUS. The students were extremely well behaved, it was almost too much like the stepford wives! That or Catholic school. That being said what's wrong with that? I have a feeling that these two last reviews were either by two parents or one entering twice. I do see they have a field trip planned and I witnessed little ones having lessons for singing all of which I can say happens at public schools here. I'm still intrigued. Since we will be some of the few white students in the school, I spoke with the admissions person and still feel comfortable. I'll be shadowing with my children soon! Wish me well.


Posted March 1, 2011

I have to agree with the other review of this school. I had my son go to this school because they make it sound like such an excellent school. Right now my son is suppose to be in Step Team and they hardly ever have any practice. When they do have pratice there not doing anything but playing simon says or marching. My son started the school year on the A, B honor roll and now he's getting much lower grades. Last marking period he got a D. He has never had a D. They don't even have a school nurse if your child gets sick. There luches are terrible. My son will not be going to this school next year. I do not recommend anyone to enroll there child at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2011

My son has been attending this school since August 2010. My review for this school is very poor. The school promised various activities and programs, they claim to be a performing arts school, I have never seen a recital, they say they specialize in math and science, and I have not seen that in thier curiculum. The staff is ver unproffessional, the buses are always breaking down, and when they are working they run very late, which makes it hard for a parent that has to be at work on time. My son's grades has suffered since attending this school. Someone actually warned me about this school before I actually enrolled my child,they also claimed their childrens grades went from A's and B's to C's and D's. I chose to enroll my son regardless, because every child is different. I chose to give this school Palm Harbour Academy a chance with my childs education, and it was the biggest mistake I ever made regarding my childs education. I would not recomend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
7%

2011

 
 
5%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
10%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
0%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

10 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

10 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

10 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
21%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

16 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "F".
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2010-2011.
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2009-2010.
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 58% 23%
White 30% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic N/A 29%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 50%61%61%
Master's degree 50%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

95 Old Kings Rd N
Palm Coast, FL 32137
Website: Click here
Phone: (386) 447-9692

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT