Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Matanzas High School

Public | 9-12 | 1609 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 4, 2014

Matanzas is an awesome school. With the clean environment and general friendliness I felt welcome. The staff and students are listened to and heard. The main problem with the school though is the control. They (staff) has far too much control and restrictions in some areas (such as extra activities that are supposed to be fun) and have far too little rules in areas like where kids who do smoke, where they can and the PDA at the school is off the charts! This school defiantly has its peaks. I don't think the staff is the reason for our high grades. The teens who attend this school are well mannered and generally self disciplined.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 18, 2014

My school is Matanzas and it sucks. The teachers don't know how to do their job, they treat every kid like they're stupid. Also the lunch you can find hairs in and it just is plain nasty. Another reason is because their is so many fights and I can't remember a time when any of the staff actually was able to break one up by themselves. It is a horrible school. Do not send your child there.


Posted December 8, 2013

Matanzas is a great school. It is actually the better of the two high schools in Flagler county. It was ranked in the top 7% of high schools in the country by US News for 2013. It has an awesome AP program, very competitive Track and Cross Country programs and excellent music program. It is still a young school and parents, teachers and administration are striving to build the name of Matanzas HS as a premier high school in the county and state. My biggest complaint about the county schools as a whole is the unnecessary and controversial dress code program that has caused more issues then it helped.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

I am parent and we are new to the area it is a school. Very clean and evetyone for the most part is pretty nice. We chose the area because of the schools ratings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2012

Matanzas is actually a really good school, I've had so much fun here in the past four years, I'm really sad I'm leaving. Almost all the teachers I had were pretty cool and relaxed, i never had too much homework. Sure the AB schedulle isn't my favorite, I mean who would like to sit in math class for and hour and a half? And maybe this whole dress code thing sucks, but it could be worse.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 14, 2010

The school atmosphere is phenomenal and conducive to student learning. The principal and staff care about students and know them. All work hard to achieve student success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

Matanzas is an alright school. The regular teachers don't care about their jobs or their students, and often straight up refuse to use the technology given to them. However, the AP and Honors teachers seem to take their jobs seriously, and there aren't a lot of gangs here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 17, 2010

I am a freshman here at matanzas. Let me tell you, Matanzas highschool is an amazing school. The teachers here are very nice, The administration are very helpfull, and there are alot of fun classes. My personal reccomendation for any incoming freshman is to take autocad/drafting with Mr. Ressler. It's a tough class, but in the end, it really pays off. Its a very fun class, and for those of you who like construction, he also has a construction class.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 19, 2009

Very good school with a great adminstration and it is fairly new which is a slight disadvantage for the athletic department. Most of the teachers really enjoy being teachers at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

My grand-kids love to go to school. They love their teachers because they care for their learning disabilities and academics with love and understanding. The students look forwards to their acctivities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

i am a freshman at mhs and i love it my electives are fun my teachers are very nice excluding 1 ha i am in all ap classes and they are hard but rewarding there are many elective opportunities i took acting (my favorite class) tv pro and band they have all great teachers marching band is fun plus there are many after school activities there is fencing ITs drama all of the sports colorgaurd percussion and so much more i have no idea how someone could dislike this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 7, 2009

the reason its a three star school is becuase of the lack of electives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

Teachers are descent MHS displays a range of acedemic opportunities, but I agree with that one person...sports programs are really bad. Unfortunately, it's a new school that is growing. The school provides community service opportunities though, but only a business program.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 16, 2008

I hate Matanzas. It's a horrible school. The sports program is horrible here, and the grades are worse. The AB schedule is a nightmare, and if i could, i would've transfered to FPC
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2008

My daughter is an incoming freshman and 2 weeks after school started, she and over 500 other students do not have their full schedules. The staff is rude to both parents and students and there is no sign of this enourmous problem being solved. I pay my taxes and my child is left to stay in a media room doing nothing while the staff gets paid to do nothing. What is sad is that my child is a straight A student and she may get left back because of the Matanzas high school staff's incompetence. It must've been a nice summer for them since they didn't care about creating the student schedules. If I could give 0 stars, I would.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2008

As a student who is starting his senior year, having attended since a freshman, Matanzas is not a horrible school. My main (valid) complaint is that the AB scheduling has thrown off a lot of people's credits, and is hard to schedule with a duel enrollement schedule at DBCC. Most teachers have reasonable skills, and control over their classes. Administration and guidance counselors dearly need work. But all in all, I think it's prepared me well (enough) for college, and has given me the basic skills I'll need later on. That's all a high school really has to do.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2008

The new schedule is hecktick and Dr. Pryor should be relieved of his job as principal.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2007

My son seems to be doing well here. I was pleased with the staff I met during registration. His guidance counselor seemed genuinely concerned. It is still early in the year, but so far so good.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

389 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

385 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

386 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

399 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

334 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
88%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

383 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
76%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

361 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
81%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

360 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 67%
Black 12%
Hispanic 12%
Two or more races 6%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 1%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 82%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 54%61%61%
Master's degree 45%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3535 Old Kings Road North
Palm Coast, FL 32137
Website: Click here
Phone: (386) 447-1575

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Pedro Menendez High School
St. Augustine, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT