Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ozona Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 726 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 11, 2011

My child loves school, can not wait to get there. Doing great in the class room, good grades, good teachers. There is a major problem at Ozona. There is a lot of bulling going on and the staff will not reconize it nor do anything to stop it. Therefore my child has to go to school all day with the Bullies. This is supposed to be a bully free school. My fellow parents, it's far from that. Also be aware that there are issues with the pys ed staff. They seem to not care about the children, just their stinkin blackberrys.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2010

The teachers and principal really care about the students. Everyone has great things to say about the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

It is a terrific school and I am so honored to have my child in Ozona Elementary with all the friendly teachers & staff!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2009

The teachers and staff are very caring.


Posted September 25, 2009

Ozona is a wonderful school with fantastic teachers, administration, staff, and students. They all work together to provide students with a high level of education and it's more than a school, it's a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

The entire staff is well educated, loving, caring, goes above and beyond all the time and makes sure that no child is ever left behind.


Posted September 25, 2009

The faculty and employees at Ozona work very hard to teach my grandchildren more than ABC's, but the way to best approach life and reach their potential as a person
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

My boys attended a private school until 5th grade when we decided to place them in a public school so they would have friends for Middle school...we chose OZONA ELEMENTARY - Best Choice Ever! They run the school like a private school; total involvement with parents! My girls now attend and I am already sad when the day comes for them to go on to middle school - Mrs Apuzzo and her terrific staff ROCK!!! I know my children are receiving the best education possible - we are truly a family - a community! Watching out for each other - thru all the changes we have gone thru this last year with having to add students from a school that closed...Ozona Elementary is improvising adapting and OVERCOMING the potential problems and obstacles in our path... To sum it up - Ozona Elementary is small enough to know you but large enough to serve you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

I feel it gives an excellent education to the students and is family friendly
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The principal the teacher are concerned about learning not just teaching and have a great supporter in their Principal. The Principal knows everyone and is the biggest cheerleader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I love the school, our Principal is Great. The principal knows every student by name, the teachers are great and they keep our students well informed and push their students to do better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Love everything about it. The staff, the education, the comfortable family atmosphere. Beautiful campus! Doesn't get much better than this. My first child was there K-5, now my second is in 3rd, so this is my 7th year and I just love it more each year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The staff, administration and parents are the best. They truly care about the students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The wonderful opportunities they offer such as honor music, beautiful artwork, creative physical education and brillant educators. From the front office desk to the principal, everyone knows every child's name. The school had a huge increase in enrollment, yet everyone is important.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Ozona Elementary is a great school that offers something for everyone. It's a friendly, open environment with a strong administration and great parents. The teachers are awesome and do a great job of teaching kids at all levels. I never imagined I would be this happy with a public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

We have children in the 1st and 3rd grades at Ozona. When we moved to Palm Harbor 4 years ago we researched the elementary schools in the immediate area. They are all excellent! North Pinellas seems to have the best schools in the county. Even so Ozona may be at the top, and we have been very happy with the progress of our children there. The teaching is excellent and so is the facility. It is a very safe environment. The 'before and after' YMCA program is well run and fun, and we highly recommend it for working parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2006

I just recently toured this school and thought it was great I love the principal she's been there for years very established. I was very impressed and this is my 1st choice for a school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2006

When we moved to Pinellas County, I was concerned about putting my child in the public schools. There had been a lot of bad publicity for the district. After checking out several private schools, I reluctantly went to the school choice office to check what schools and services would be available to my son. (My son has some learning differences, but he is quite bright.) I met with the choice officer, spoke about our specific needs and discussed the options. Many of our first choice schools were full, Ozona had an opening - it is a bit far from our home, but came highly recommended. We feel very fortunate that we were placed at Ozona - my son's first grade teacher is fantastic, the school is supportive and he is flourishing. We feel that we found a hidden gem. The atmosphere at the school is warm and friendly a perfect environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

I have two children attending Ozona.(k and 3rd) The teachers are outstanding! Though the principal retired in 12/04 the transition for the asst to fill the gap has been smooth and the quality maintained. This being a task with 'choice' adding hundreds more students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2004

I've had three children attend this school and I love it. The teachers are very good. The principal retired last year and she was wonderful. The assistant principal who worked with her for many years took her place and seems to be just as strong in leadership. If a child is a little behind in math or reading they receive extra help from teachers or volunteers. If the school falls slightly in ratings for example in math, reading, or attendance, the principal focuses on it to improve again.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

134 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 42%
Hispanic 9% 29%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Black 2% 23%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%60%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

601 Tampa Rd
Palm Harbor, FL 34683
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 724-1589

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Rosemont Academy
Palm Harbor, FL



Athenian Academy
Dunedin, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT