Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,066 students|Pinellas
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Joseph L. Carwise Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted August 22, 2016
- a community member
Mrs. Clover- is the most amazing history teacher my son has ever had!!! She engaged the students, makes it fun to learn. She dresses up in costumes depending on what she is teaching. Her projects are fun and interesting. She made a lasting impression on my son. He was never so inlove with history as he was in her class. Thank you for being an exceptional educator!!!!!

Joseph L. Carwise Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 22, 2016
- a community member
Depends on the teacher. Some leave a lasting impact and really try to engage and teach the kids outside the FSA standard testing requirements, some do the minimal amount requested by the state and school.


Joseph L. Carwise Middle School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted August 22, 2016
- a community member
There are many students with disabilities and the others seems to want to help and the staff encourages that. There is bullying but it's not tolerated and many times the other students will step in and do something.

Joseph L. Carwise Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 22, 2016
- a community member
The new principle is a strong roll model for honesty and integrity. Zero bullying tolerance. Addresses issues as they arise, doesn't let them just sit on his desk to wait until time is found, he finds it.

Joseph L. Carwise Middle School 4

Posted August 22, 2016
- a community member
I have one child who is now in 8th grade at CMS. So far he's done well. I have to push him and I have to make sure he's in target. Some teachers are harder to deal with than others but most of time I get a good response when questioning something. I have had a few who believe they are above reproach and are hard to deal with. We have a new Principle who has ZERO tolerance for any misbehavior! He is a strong voice in the school and seems to be doing a very good job. Each grade level AHS it's own VP and office staff. It's hit or miss on how they are. The guidance Councelor in 6th was aloof, 7th engaged but seemed overwhelmed and 8th so far zero contact even though my child is on a 504 Plan. Campus is clean and a good size. Safe and closed to all outside influences during school hours. There is little to no contact in middle school. Unless there is an issue you don't hear from teachers. Not odd considering it's just getting students and parents ready for HS into college. No more babying .


Joseph L. Carwise Middle School 1

Posted May 18, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has volunteered as a tutor all year in the library and has been an honor student and gifted since I can remember. Just a quick note to show how petty some of the staff can be. All the good she has done and in the one year that she has been going to this school she gets dress coded for wearing long black jeans with a half sleeve shirt that goes to her belt buckle which did not show skin but when the VP made her raise her hands all the way above her head, the shirt showed a small part of her belly button. REALLY! If this is what you want to pick on kids for, you need to seriously reevaluate what you deem appropriate verse inappropriate seeing what has occurred at the school in the past! How sad. How about praising the good kids for all the good things that they do!

Joseph L. Carwise Middle School 5

Posted July 25, 2014
- a community member
I spent my whole middle school years here and honestly I wouldn't have wanted to spend it anywhere else. The teachers and administration wore great and always super helpful with what ever you needed and the people who attended the school weren't so bad either. There is a mixture of different types of people who attend this school so your destined to find people who you fit right in with. My 3 years at Carwise Middle were the best 3 years of my life.

Joseph L. Carwise Middle School 4

Posted July 24, 2014
- a community member
I just finished my 8th grade year here, and it was an overall good experience. The teachers are very mixed throughout teaching styles, motivations, and policies. Mostly all of the teachers are liked in some form or another, and it seemed like every year there were at least three teachers always willing to help and care more about the student's motivation and inspiration more than their test scores. Always be open to each teacher's style because you'll notice that some teaching styles overlap, but each teacher has their own way of "spicing up" their class (whether the students enjoy it, that's a different story). When it comes to teachers, I have one piece of advice: choose your battles wisely. Student to teacher interaction can be one of the toughest things to master at this school. And to address the bullying, that could use more attention. I was bullied twice and the action they took was effective the first time, but not the second (and that one was the worst one). The second time, my friend and I were physically and mentally abused and nothing was done. But its a nice school with dedicated staff that care about what they do and their impact on the world.


Joseph L. Carwise Middle School 5

Posted January 06, 2014
- a community member
This school is great you actually learn stuff and there are not as much fights as people say

Joseph L. Carwise Middle School 1

Posted August 22, 2013
- a community member
Horrible school THERE IS TONS AND TONS OF BULLYING!!!! THIS SCHOOL IS THE WORST MEAN TEACHERS AND STUDENTS

Nearby schools

Joseph L. Carwise Middle School
3301 Bentley Drive, Palm Harbor, FL  34684
(727) 724-1442
Last modified Joseph L. Carwise Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top