Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


34 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Joseph L. Carwise Middle School 5

Posted July 25, 2014
- a community member
I spent my whole middle school years here and honestly I wouldn't have wanted to spend it anywhere else. The teachers and administration wore great and always super helpful with what ever you needed and the people who attended the school weren't so bad either. There is a mixture of different types of people who attend this school so your destined to find people who you fit right in with. My 3 years at Carwise Middle were the best 3 years of my life.

Joseph L. Carwise Middle School 4

Posted July 24, 2014
- a community member
I just finished my 8th grade year here, and it was an overall good experience. The teachers are very mixed throughout teaching styles, motivations, and policies. Mostly all of the teachers are liked in some form or another, and it seemed like every year there were at least three teachers always willing to help and care more about the student's motivation and inspiration more than their test scores. Always be open to each teacher's style because you'll notice that some teaching styles overlap, but each teacher has their own way of "spicing up" their class (whether the students enjoy it, that's a different story). When it comes to teachers, I have one piece of advice: choose your battles wisely. Student to teacher interaction can be one of the toughest things to master at this school. And to address the bullying, that could use more attention. I was bullied twice and the action they took was effective the first time, but not the second (and that one was the worst one). The second time, my friend and I were physically and mentally abused and nothing was done. But its a nice school with dedicated staff that care about what they do and their impact on the world.


Joseph L. Carwise Middle School 5

Posted January 06, 2014
- a community member
This school is great you actually learn stuff and there are not as much fights as people say

Joseph L. Carwise Middle School 1

Posted August 22, 2013
- a community member
Horrible school THERE IS TONS AND TONS OF BULLYING!!!! THIS SCHOOL IS THE WORST MEAN TEACHERS AND STUDENTS

Joseph L. Carwise Middle School 1

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Carwise Middle School leaves a lot to be desired when it comes to bullying. Some of the teachers don't really want to teach. When bullying was brought to teachers, guidance counselor and principal, they seemed to brush the problem under the carpet. They didn't want to deal with it.


Joseph L. Carwise Middle School 4

Posted October 01, 2011
- a community member
Carwise middle school is like any other middle school, it has kids, teachers some bullies and, well a building! Yes I know their is bullying at this school, but you can't side from that, all other schools on this planet have bullies! The academics are great you can learn above your grade level and you don't even know it. It all just comes natural with the way the teachers teach! In the past 3 years after middle school I still mis it, being a middle schoolers at carwise is a hole lot better that being a high schooled in Dunedin! The teachers their are great some of them are a little ruff but hey that is the way that life works, think if their ruff know it's only to teach you what to expect in high school and after high school! At Dunedin high their are about 12 kids that came from carwise and all of those kids are the best in class, in the grading system it lists all the kids with the highest grade average and score in the school all the carwise kids bet the seniors and juniors and sophomores combined! I just want to say I miss you carwise! And I will never forget you! GO SHARKS!

Joseph L. Carwise Middle School 1

Posted April 13, 2011
- a parent
I am on this site because I am considering private school for my 7th grader who is currently at Carwise. The teachers are indifferent at best. One has admitted in writing, to giving up and letting him do his own thing. This is a child who was absent for 13 days straight with medical documentation and has a 504 plan in place. Yet I cant get teachers or the administration to help make up for lost instructional time at all. so an honor roll student taking advanced classes is now failing.

Joseph L. Carwise Middle School 1

Posted November 16, 2010
- a parent
This school is bad - period! The teacher's are lazy and never go out of their way for any child who may be experiencing difficulties. The kids are mean to each other and the school never teachers them how to care and respect each other. The VP is a joke. She is unprofessional at best. If you child is different in anyway - find another school - you won't be accepted here and no one will be educated enough to help you - this includes the teaching staff. My child is in seventh grade and is miserable. The teachers are disrespectful and have not figured out that they are teaching for the students - not only to collect a pay check. Poor professional ethics. It's impossible to get anyone to help you and you are virtually shut out of the school if you have a problem or need help. This is a prime example of how schools are failing our kids. The only reason students score so high on standardized testing at this school is because Florida's standard are very low and many of the students at this school come from educated families.


Joseph L. Carwise Middle School 5

Posted April 28, 2010
- a student
Carwise Middle School is over all the best middle school ever. All the teachers are fun, nice and understanding, and really do care about your grade. I'm in the band and Mr. Obara is the best ever!! He's so much fun. I really recommend this school!! Go Sharks!!!

Joseph L. Carwise Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 08, 2010
- a parent
Do not send your disabled child to this School!!!!!! The special needs program is horrible!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Joseph L. Carwise Middle School
3301 Bentley Drive, Palm Harbor, FL  34684
(727) 724-1442
Last modified Joseph L. Carwise Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Joseph L. Carwise Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. Top