Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cypress Woods Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 723 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

96 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 11, 2014

What an amazing experience both my sons had at this school. From Kindy, there was nothing but excellence all the way. In a couple weeks, my youngest son will be promoted to middle school and I have had a stellar experience with all teachers and staff at CWE. My family was blessed to have the personal connection of a private school education at a public school price at CW ! Thank you, thank you, thank you to great teachers, wonderful staff, and the best PTA for working together to provide a great educational foundation for my sons. As an involved mom, it was a great 7 years. We will miss you CWE but will always be Eagles!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2014

This is a great school! They have good parental involvement and support, which translates to having resources that other area schools don't provide. It's a nice, safe neighborhood and is a good learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2014

To reiterate about the last comment. We had a Great principal last year for 3 years or so and she was so great that the school board moved her to some troubled schools. Also, we have the most parent participation of all Pinellas Co!!!!! Low income families? I'm not sure where you are talking about because it cost a lot even just to rent around here...just because of how great the schools are :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2014

We had a great year at Cypress after moving here from up north--great teachers, nice parens. Then we experienced a disorganized, biased, down right mean teacher who has since left Cypress. Another teacher had complete inability to control the class. Two Principals in two years, not a good sign. There are many stellar educators here, but there are a group of bad apples. Be careful. Also, the school draws from a low income area, so some of the families did not share our values/language/behavior guidelines. Both my children were bullied. We ultimately switched schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2013

The majority of the educators at Cypress are committed, loving and nurturing of their students. My kids have thrived at Cypress Woods but I am also heavily involved in their education and know that it is important to be involved and be an advocate for your child. The Florida education budget means that our teachers have too many kids in a classroom and are underfunded. It's up to parents to bridge the gap... be involved and support your school, your kid's will only benefit. Thank you CWE community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2013

I would have to agree with the post that was submitted on June 9th. This school is very tight knit. My son began kindergarten here and is now going into second grade; both years he had less than stellar teachers, to put it nicely. Neither of them communicated lessons or classroom assignments very well. I would get messages such as... "oops, sorry i forgot to send out the homework, you can send me a note if you want your child to do it".... what? Also, my son was kept on the same reading level for months until I wrote the teacher a message asking if she had noticed an improvement,(we read had been reading nightly together and he was doing great) she then moved him up 4 levels. I am looking for a new school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2013

CWE is a warm, safe place for a child to be inspired by lifelong learning. My children are consistently challenged by a higher than average expectation curriculum, have made dear friends, and all our teachers have been genuinely lovely. I appreciate each and every faculty member who makes this school such a great one. Added perks: weekly and sometimes daily communication from teachers to clarify lessons, provide feedback or simply fill us parents in on what they are learning; open invite to luncheon or visit with your child or class; ample volunteer opportunities for the Alpha Moms AND the ones who just want to pitch in without too much notice, grin. Love this school, more importantly--my kids do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2013

The previous post hit the nail, this school IS tight knit group. But, if blind conformity isn't your thing you're an outcast, no acceptance for parents/students who question ANYTHING! It amazes me how much condescension & degradation are accepted (and prevail) here. In my 25+ years with educators, I've never seen teacher's care more about the authority they have over these young & impressionable minds. My honor roll/principal's list students came home crying at least once a week because they were either bullied by a student (and it was ignored) or by a teacher. The principal & asst principal are wonderful (as is the PTA), but the fact that the principal left this "A" rated school after just 3 years to teach a struggling school says it all! Communication from our teachers was terrible. Questions were met with condescension & snarky remarks. Our experience taught us to beware of rocking this boat, as retribution came in many forms from many directions. We couldn't get away from this school fast enough. Unfortunately, it won t erase the experience my children had here. Of 2 bus stops (15 children), all but 1 parent shared this view - 8 of these kids are now moving to diff schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2012

The best teachers and school ever. I am so glad my son is attending at CWE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2012

I read the previous couple of reviews and honestly couldnt believe what I saw. I have been a parent here for the last 7 years. I have volunteered in the school, in the classrooms, the media center, the lunchroom, etc. I have met and know 98% of all staff, and can honestly say I have not seen anything of the nature from the previous negative posts. Our principal is firm but loving. The kids adore her, and for the 11th year in a row our school is an A rated school, and we also are a 5 star school which is very hard to achieve. This is all under her direction. One of our teachers was named semi-finalist for teacher of the year last year. Our school is very tight knit. Teachers, admin, and PTA work very hard to have great programs, great fun, and above all a great educational experience for all the students. I implore anyone who has read these reviews to consider contacting the school or the pta for the real truth as to what truly takes place in our school, and to also consider participating in an after school function which always includes administration, teachers, and parents. I have had the opportunity to move and refuse to do so just so my kids can stay here at this great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2012

We moved to Palm Harbor and chose Cypress Woods Elementary after touring the campus, and doing our extensive research of the area. My child is a straight A student before and while attending Cypress Woods, but let me tell you, my child feels frustrated with the egotistical teachers that squash any type of creative ideas. School should be fun, and my child is very popular and has tons of friends at the school, but fun is over once they step foot in the classroom. The overall feeling of the classroom is negativity. Students who struggle are put in teachers offices to be forgotten about. I agree structure and respect is needed to conduct a classroom, but do we really have to remove joy and fun and defeat kids, so they do not want to go back every single day. My child is not a troubled child, the teachers of the past always had glowing remarks for conduct, grades, and leadership. I can not wait to get out of this school. My child's former teacher still remains in contact with us, she loves my child's love for life, and drive to succeed. We told her about what was happening and she could not believe what she was hearing. This is based on my opinions alone. CW Thanks for nothing
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2011

This school used to be great. With a new principal it is not the same school. And the good teachers are leaving while the tired ones stay. We are looking to leave this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2010

We have a child with VE needs and a Gifted Student attending CWE, so we were exposed to many different areas of this school. We cannot say enough wonderful things about CWE -- this includes the Pre-K area which is phenomenal. Both of our children thrive at this school which emphasizes character and kindness along with academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

excellent teachers and discipline is of priority at this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

Cypress Woods elementary teaches tolerance and that differences among people are to be celelbrated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

Great School, Great Leadership and Dedicated Teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

They have caring teachers....that actually make sure the children learn......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

The children display stellar communication and study skills, plus the teachers seem genuinely interested and passionate about the childrens empowerment thru quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

The teachers and staff are good with the kids and genuinely care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

The culture is what is so great at CWE - there is a genuine caring for students there. Their PTA is the one of the most active and best I know.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

132 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 79%
Hispanic 11%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 4%
Black 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 70%60%61%
Master's degree 29%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. KATHLEEN S YOUNG-PARKER
Fax number
  • (727) 725-7988

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4900 Cypress Woods Boulevard
Palm Harbor, FL 34685
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 538-7325

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

East Lake High School
Tarpon Springs, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT