Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sutherland Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 562 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 10, 2014

We moved from Minnesota almost two years ago and everyone we talked to said we had to send our kids to Sutherland Elementary in Palm Harbor. We were new to Florida and the area and the front desk was so helpful getting us situated into a new school. Our girls were young and a little nervous and all the staff and their teachers were so good about making sure they were welcomed. Now after two years, our girls just love Sutherland. From the staff, teachers and the PTA, it is an excellent school. We look forward to another school year and hope that Sutherland can win the Great Schools prize so they can continue to strive for excellence for all kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2014

Amazing school with fabulous teachers. My son looks forward to going to school daily and does not like when their is no school. Sutherland offers a safe, secure and fun learning environment for our children. Sutherland is a public school with a private school setting as it is not over populated. The school operates on high standards, good morals and ethics. They encourage good behavior, respect for others and strong values. We are very pleased with Sutherland Elementary. Thank you!!! Steven and Tracy Pratt
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2013

This is the WORST principal that I have ever encountered. Her level of professionalism is disgusting. After reading the other reviews, it seems like the new principal, Mrs. Kristi Cantu, has really taken Sutherland Elementary School from a great place to an extremely unprofessional & unorganized place. I think they have some good teachers, however, I haven't met many of them. Hopefully, they will keep this school decent, because the admistrators are horrible! My children will not be attending this school, once the year ends. If you are looking for an incompetent Principal, and support staff of "employees-aides/secretaries/extra helpers", this is your school. Hopefully the other Palm Harbor Elementary Schools will be better. If not, we will be hitting the lottery for a charter/fundamental school. It's too bad, because I was really excited to attend this school from what I read about it online. Once we got there, I was in disbelief that they were as rude, unprofessional and unorganized as they were. If you have a choice, don't send your child/children to Sutherland Elementary School in Palm Harbor. HUGE MISTAKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2012

I have two daughters that have gone to Sutherland for the last three years and my experience there was horrible. As a single father with primary custody my legal rights were violated on a regular basis. I was treated rudely and with disrespect constantly. The office staff including the Principle had such a callous disregard for the rights of a father that they regularly released my daughter to my ex-wife without notifying me when the court orders on file and my instructions as the parent of record with decision making authority specifically stated that they should not. My youngest daughter s 2nd and 3rd grade teachers were abusive to her and made her life miserable. As an example, the teacher took a show and tell object from my daughter claiming she had stolen it from another student calling her a thief. I had just unwrapped this item that morning and placed it in her bag. The teacher gave my daughter s item to the other student and refused to return it. Go somewhere else if you can, especially if you are a single father.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

This is our 3rd year at Sutherland and absolutely love it. From Mrs. Cromwell to the teachers to the volunteers and PTA. I am excited to have my other child start Sutherland in 2 yrs. We have heard so many nightmares of other schools and so far Mrs. Cromwell and the rest of the staff always make me feel happy to be there. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2007

My daughter has been attending Sutherland since kindergarten. She is now in 3rd grade. She is excelling with all of her studies. I think that Ms. Cromwell is doing a fine job. She is always smiling. I can not imagine how hard it must be to be 'in charge' of some many teachers and children. I think that the people that are making negative comments about her should think about how hard it must be to do her job My daughter loves Sutherland, all of her previous and current teachers and Ms. Crommwel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

I have a child in 5th grade at this school and have seen a steady decline in the last 2 years. Communication is really lacking. The Principal has been there 2 years now and still has no clue who I am or my child's name. It use to be so warm and welcoming there, now...eveyone seems very cold and unhappy. I am glad this is my last year, how very sad for it to end this way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2007

I have had four children in and out of Sutherland for over the last 14 years. I am very sad to say that it has really gone down hill in the last few years. The teachers for the most part are the same and most of them are wonderful. Adminstration has changed and not for the better. PTA...we all have our own opinions of that...but it seems they need some serious help, I will leave it at that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2007

An excellent school! I have 3 children in there, and all are doing great. The worlds best PTA too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2007

Sutherland has a high quality staff known for using best practices in all subject areas. The music and art programs are an important part of the school. All students are able to participate in holiday programs/special events.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2007

Both of my children attended Sutherland from K-5 and have gone on to become successful MEGSSS/IMAST middle-schoolers! The teacher's are firm but always fair, communicate well & really care about developing well-rounded students. Their gifted program is also top notch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2006

Sutherland was a great school until this year when they had some personnel changes. The principal does not address problems or questions in a timely manner. The teachers are expecting to much from the children as far as homework. Also they have had guest speakers on issues that I felt should have been cleared thru parents before the children heard what they had to say.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2004

Sutherland elementary school is a wonderful school, my daughter has learned so much in her first few months of kindergarten!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2004

My daughter has attended Sutherland School since she was in kindergarten, this fall she will begin the 5th grade. The teachers and principal have all been tops in academics while being dedicated to every learning aspect of which my daughter needed to excel. Thank you all for your contribution in preparing our daughter in many different ways to be sucessful and happy. A special thank you to Mrs. Northsworthy for being the exemplary teacher and mentor with such exuberance toward education that it was instilled in our daughter from her first days in school till now, and we think for always!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

101 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 78%
Hispanic 12%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 3%
Black 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 5%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 77%60%61%
Master's degree 23%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3150 North Belcher Road
Palm Harbor, FL 34683
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 724-1466

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






New Middle School
Palm Harbor, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT