Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lake St. George Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 566 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

45 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 18, 2009

LSG has awesome teachers & staff!! The children & families are amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

The teachers are very involved and there are always extra things going on at the school where the kids can learn and experience other things in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

Whats not to love about LSG??? The teachers and staff are so friendly and always make us feel so welcomed! I'm sooo proud of our school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

My son is in an ESE class because he has autism. The teachers and aides are great and do everything they can to help him out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

My third child is now attending LSG and we couldn't be happier. It is truly a family oriented environment and my child feels safe and secure!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

Lake st george has the best teachers and students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

Teachers and parents work together to ensure that the children have meaningful time spent at LSG. It must work. We are an 'A' school meeting AYP. What a pleasure to volunteer there to do my part as a grandparent....remember, it takes the whole village!!


Posted October 17, 2009

Great learning environment; make volunteers feels welcome and needed. I have 2 grandchildren there and they love it! I have volunteered as a photographer, reader, and other activities. Great school, great staff, great students! Go LSG Wildcats!


Posted October 17, 2009

Lake St. George is a family of students, parents and educators. That says it all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

I am a teacher and parent at the best elementary school in America!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

Lake St. George has an outstanding and dedicated staff and supportive families who work together to provide the best learning environment for all of our students.


Posted October 17, 2009

Best overall staff in the world. Teachers, support staff and volunteers all rock. The students love the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

This is a very family oriented school. The teachers and staff are very caring. I love volunteering at LSG and being a part of their family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2009

The best school in Pinellas county for sure! Even the teachers think so. The local paper published some data recently that showed that LSG has more transfer requests (teachers trying to transfer to LSG) than any other school in the county. If everyone wants to be here, there must be a reason. :) My child has received the best education while attending LSG. The teachers are very committed to their work and go above and beyond what is required of them. Currently the school is actively involved in the Reading Units of Study. I have observed this in my child's classroom and think it is the best reading curriculum that is out there. The new principal is amazing. Her leadership is right on and she knows what needs to be done for the kids. Their best interest is her main focus. Everyone was supportive of her becoming principal 100%.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Very unsafe school, no structure, unprofessional new principal and front office staff, poor extracurricular activities, and school has a cold environment feel. This is not the school you would want your child to go to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2008

i have been invovled with this school through my siblings and own children for over twenty years. it has always excelled and been one of the best and with the current staff in all departments, it has only become better! i have had experience with elite private schools and the academic and social education my family has received far out ways our previous private school ! some of my children have gone on to enter and graduate from honors college programs largely due in part to the foundation they received at LSG. i still have a child at LSG and after his graduation to middle school will remain a volunteer at this exceptional school. much of the staff is the original staff members, no one could ask or find better. you can't find better for your children then LSG! take it from very particular parents when it comes to their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2008

Best kept secret in the PCSB system. Lon Jensen has all of the students in his best interests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

The extracurricular activities are great. The school offered mad science, strings, piano, battle of the books and the reflections contest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

My child enjoys going school. The principal, teachers and staff make it so that they get to know each of the children on a one and one basis. Parent involvement is also a part of what makes this school great. I believe that my child is receiving the best education that a public school can offer if not better. It takes effort from not only the school but from the parents and we have both.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

Our daughter entered Kindergarten at Lake St. George Elementary this year. We have been thrilled with not only the leadership at this school but also the comradery between the teachers and the parents. Our daughters social and academic skills have soared and we really believe the school staff and families whose children attend have really made a difference!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

104 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 77%
Hispanic 14%
Two or more races 4%
Black 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 20%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 92%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 60%60%61%
Master's degree 40%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2855 County Road 95
Palm Harbor, FL 34684
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 669-1161

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Suncoast Waldorf School
Palm Harbor, FL


New Middle School
Palm Harbor, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT