Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Athenian Academy

Charter | K-8 | 287 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 13 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

59 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 24, 2008

Small Classes with a private school feel
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

My son is a kindergartener at Athenian Pinellas. Their low class ratios and focused student - teacher comitment are a pinpoint for their students sucess. My son has improved dramatically and will continue attending as long as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2008

My daughter just switched to this school. The school, principal, and teachers are incredible. My daughter has adjusted well because the children there are also wonderful. Incredible school! Academics are high and it is like a private school setting. We are very happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

my daughter is in kindergarten and we are very happy. Her teacher and staff are very helpful and caring. small school, very personal. we thought this would be temporary, she is staying and we are enrolling our son in the vpk program here!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

I love this school It is very academically oriented. Foreign languages are taught from Kindergarten. They have a new staff ready to go and make it the best. They have had several orientations and parent meetings that have been great. A parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2007

I am thrilled with the new management of the school. The teachers and staff who were constantly working against the school are moving on and there is a new administrator and fresh new faces. The school will be stronger than ever. A returning parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2007

I'm so appalled at the Leona Group on how poorly they acknowledged their teachers that worked at the Athenian. As a former teacher that was treated in such a poorly unprofessional manner, and was greatly respected by everyone I truly am glad that I have moved on. The poor management and unstructured school did not make it a pleasant environment to work in. The dedication from the teachers and support of the parents is why the school kept going.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 26, 2007

The turn over for teachers is constant. There is no stability there. The managemant team never answer questions staright forward. Always research their answers to your questions. My child had enough last year and will be moving to a more stabile environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2007

I am very happy that Athenian no longer teaches Greek half of the day. I didn't agree with the Greek immersion. The teacher wasn't allowed to explain what she/he was saying in Greek - the kids was supposed to 'catch on'. I prefer that my child actually learns something. If 'Greek for half of the day' were to be reinstated I would immediately pull my daughter from the school. Right now with the ways things are going I really like it and am happy that my child is there. My daughter loves it and loves her teacher. I have never had an ill experience with any of the staff this year. They are always polite and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2007

My children spent many years at the Athenian Academy. It seemed like a wonderful idea at first,yet ended up being our nightmare!! We had a lot of catching up to do after I pulled them!! My kids were lacking in all areas of education since they only specialize in math and science, and those classes are taught in Greek only, so the kids have no idea what is happening. Yes they learned a few words in Greek, yet after a few months being out could not remember any! Stick with private, or I would even recommend public as a far better choice!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 9, 2007

The school was great until the new leadership took over. Major chaos. The teachers are good but the school is so unstable. My child did not last there very long,I needed more stability and it was not happening and no one knew when it would. Poor leadership and dull decisions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2007

I am glad that My child is graduating and soon to be out of there.Complaints take forever to be fixed. Not recommended unless top people are reviewed and system revamped.Thank you to my child's teacher for saving the day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2007

I think that the school is fantastic! They are not just teaching our son to read read and do math, but to be a world citizen. My son can count to 10 in Greek and Spanish, he tells me all about learning about the Greek holidays, and celebrating Hispanic culture by participating in Latin Heritage week. I truly think it helps him think outside of his little bubble at home. As for the academics, I can't say enough about how much he has excelled this year! He is in kindergarten and was not about to name all of the letters at the beginning of the year (despite my efforts and the fact he was in Pre-K), and now he is reading. He loves going to school everyday and thinks very highly of all of his teachers. The school principal is very involved. She makes an effort get to know every student and family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

Unfortunately, Athenian Academy is literally falling apart!There is complete lack of discipline from both the staff and teachers. My daughter lasted there only two weeks! What I would truly like to say is that our children are not some type of experiment for underutilized teachers and unprofessional principals! Formatter how involved we the parents become, we ultimately relied on the teachers and principal for our children's academic achievement. So, it is about time this school be given to hands that know how to run it sufficiently!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2006

Wonderful foreign language (Spanish and Greek) teaching school with an emphasis on math. Caring teachers. Small classes. High FCAT scores. My children love it here. Art, Gym, recess every day, with an emphasis on discipline. Parents must contribute volunteer hours to the school. Everyone knows everyone else. A true family atmosphere where they care about one another. This school has a great history of academic success since its founding in 2000. It has hopes of expanding into a middle school. The only immersion-language program in Pinellas County. I love the teachers. My children have excelled and they speak Greek (which I do not speak at all, but I'm working on it)!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2006

The athenian academy is a good school. Everybody is trying to do their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2006

The Athenian Academy is probably the worst school I have ever experienced. This school is literally falling apart. There is no discipline, no organization, no specific curriculum; This school should be shut down right away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2004

Unique Charter school that teaches Greek through immersion. Teachers are excellent, but Board of Directors need to get there act together. The school is basically like a family where everyone knows one another and is committed to the language program. This is a good school to put your little one if you want them to excel in Greek/Math because the children learn math through the Greek teacher. Like I said the teachers are excellent, but the school needs some organization. The whole staff seems committed to my child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2003

Both our children are thriving at the Athenian Academy. This is a public charter school in Pinellas County, Florida. More than 1/2 of the students are not Greek, yet they all are taught Math & Science in Greek, along with Greek language & culture. This has helped their English since they are beginning to recognize the Greek roots & prefixes of words. When our average six-year old son recognized that entomology must have something to do with bugs I knew this immersion method of learning the language was effective. Rest assured, there is a collaboration between the Greek & English teachers. The math & science vocabulary is included in the English teachers' lessons and students are often asked to write in English about concepts learned in Greek. At the Athenian Academy many family members put in volunteer hours and arrange for donations for the school. As with any other public school, the students always benefit from extra help beyond government funding! By the way, I taught in both public and private schools. I was a Learning Disabilities resource teacher in IL and taught English as a Second Language in Greece. I was also a substitute teacher in our local schools. I know from experience that schools are always evolving and are a product of the people who work to make them successful. At the Athenian Academy our kids are getting a complete education in a warm, safe environment. Also, by charter, there will never be more than 20 kids per class. (Any statistics out there which may say otherwise are based on old, incorrect information.) I wish I could be more laconic but I'm very excited about this language immersion program. The school has an email address: AthenianAcademy@hotmail.com and is reconfiguring its web site @ AthenianAcademy.com Georgia


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

38 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

38 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

23 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

23 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

23 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

21 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

21 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

16 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

16 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

23 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

23 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

23 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

23 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
100%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

30 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 61%
Hispanic 17%
Black 12%
Two or more races 7%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 50%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 90%N/AN/A
Female 50%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 58%60%61%
Master's degree 42%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2817 Saint Marks Drive
Palm Harbor, FL 34683
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 298-2718

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Dunedin Academy
Dunedin, FL



Rosemont Academy
Palm Harbor, FL



Ozona Elementary School
Palm Harbor, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT