Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Coral Reef Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 834 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 11 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2010

CRE is a great neighborhood school which has provided my children an excellent education. It has a small town feel in a big city. I am very happy with the school and highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2010

Ensuring kids safety is a priority. Like every school, there are good teachers who teach because it comes from their HEART & BAD teachers, who only CARE about receiving a PAY CHECK. Yelling at the kids SHOULD NOT BE ALLOWED, it causes fear in them NOT respect contrary to what some think. Cafeteria NEEDS A lot of Help, kids throw food, run, hit & do as they please. the blinds in the cafeteria shouldn't have any string to pull up or down, kids play with them!! I have seen it early morning during breakfast! SAFETY should be a Priority! NOT GOOD AT ALL!! I DO NOT RECOMMEND THE SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2010

Security is a big issue here, anyone can walk right in, they need a security guard. My son's teacher speaks loud when explaining tasks, BUT she yells at them, specially when they make a mistake. What ever happened to RESPECT ?? teacher had an intern who needed extra spelling lessons herself! teacher doesn't like you telling her anything about your child being bullied by another kids, she always has an excuse, Principal delegates these issues to the assistant Principal who dismisses them AS MERE ALLEGATIONS, there is NO RESPECT or consideration shown here. PRINCIPAL is never available to discuss important issues, overall, I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS SCHOOL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

It's a great school that helps the children learn, grow and thrive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I had to register my dauther in CRE this year because we moved to the area, she was in an excellent charter school all her life and this has been quite the adjustment. The security is a joke, there's no afterschool programs not even homework assistance! The way math is taught it's ridiculous and uniforms? kids wear whatever and it just looks horrible..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2009

my child loves the school its the change ive ever done its so great my child even wakes me up early get get to school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2008

Great school, great students, and now a new principal! I've had kids here for 8 years now, and it is a wonderful school with dedicated and caring teachers, wonderful kids, and involved parents. The only problem has been the principal, whom many parents mentioned in their reviews. She was unfriendly and unresponsive to parents, seeming to resent the parent involvement and consider us something she has to 'deal with,' sometimes with threats. The AP has been little better. This has been the reason for many of the mixed or negative reviews posted here. Well, now, Coral Reef has a new principal and AP, and I expect it will be even better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2008

We moved our children from private school to Coral Reef last year and have not regretted the decision once. While there were some new security measures that created an uproar earlier in the year, I have yet to feel personally unwelcome... quite the contrary. The teachers are dedicated and easy to communicate with, and they welcome parent involvement whole-heartedly. While I still am unhappy about my children eating 'brunch' at 10 am, I am hopeful that the school's infrastructure will soon be able to comfortably accommodate the now 900 strong student body. There are so many opportunities for students at every level to succeed, excel and grow; we are profoundly impressed by the enthusiasm of the teachers in the gifted program and the environment that they create for learning. Every encounter with office staff has been pleasant and productive, as they always go the extra mile to help out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2008

My daughter is now in her 3rd year at Coral Reef Elementary School and I have to say I am more then happy with the school, staff and activities the school has. My daughter is in the gifted program and has accelerated so much in the program. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2007

I am very disappointed in the 'militant' policy concerning security at Coral Reef. A parent should be able to see their child at any time during the school day with prudent security measures in place. However, the Coral Reef principal makes this impossible. My child has had three teachers since the beginning of school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

I have been a Coral Reef parent since 1997. This years security issues and rules have gone a little over board in my opinion. Parent involvement is the key to success,to shut them out is just wrong. I will nolonger contribute my time to a place who makes parents feel isolated from their children's golden years. The new changes are ridiculous and shows that the principal has no regard for the parents and their feelings. There should not be a lack of communication between parents and teachers.The school is not an A school because of our principal it is due to our very hard working teachers, students and parents. I believe that the children should benefit from the proceeds more, that come with this rating and less to the teachers and none to the school staff. After all it's about the children and their needs to success in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2007

New so-called security procedures at this school effectively banish parents, and has created strong sense of ill-will between parents and admnistration. Ability to meet and interact with teachers is almost non-existent. Leadership skills of administration are limited and communication is just as poor. Staff morale seems to be deteriorating. Instruction is by the books with little creativity especially where special programs and classes are concerned. Parental interest in enhancing academic quality is disregarded. Much alienation and frustration at what used to be one of the finer schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2007

Our child attended Coral Reef Elementary from PK through 5th grade and we have nothing but the highest praise for the dedication of the wonderful staff. All of teachers were excellent when communicating progress, or the lack thereof. We felt that the administration was fair in the way they handled decisions for the benefit of all children as a whole. The school has recently acquired a new 20 classroom building and the school seems to be a place where parents, teachers, and administrators work toward excellence in education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2006

Although this school is not a 'magnet' school, the gifted kids are grouped together in the same classes. Therefore if your child is an average student she will be seperated from the 'smarter' kids. I have a problem with this. The principal is indifferent to the students and parents. The parent involvement is great. The library and AR program are fantastic. Afterschool program is a below average. The Spanish cirriculum isnt that great. We have had some great teachers at this school. Hopeful for a new principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2006

ilove that school beacause my 2 children went there. there at the school they have different activities such as music, art, sports and many other things. The school is very big and every one threr is nice, intelligent and talentin.The class rooms are alway clean, the bathroom as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2006

I think it is great. My 3 kids are there now, and my oldest has special needs and is mainstreamed in the regular population. The administration and teaching staff have been incredibly supportive and well trained as to my 'special' child's needs, and they are wonderful with my other kids as well. Recently class sizes have come down, now we don't have a class above 24 students--with 22 in my daughter's kindergarten class. The parents (in general) are super involved and extremely welcoming to newcomers. We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

I was not impressed with my first year at Coral Reef. My child's teacher got surplussed without even an explanation. This was his first experience in school and it hasn't been a great one. The principal didn't stand behind the teacher and a different teacher was put in his class that was less qualified. This teacher is a wonderful person but nothing like the previous teacher. It's about politics instead of what is best for the child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

The first of our four children started in the CRE Pre-K program in 1996 and we have been a satisfied CRE family ever since. All four kids have thrived academically and socially on both the personal and community levels and in the broader context of state and national stanines as well. CRE is a well-run school with a caring and dedicated community of educators, staff, parents, and students. The CRE administrators and teachers set the tone with high expectations for themselves and for the students. The parents and the surrounding community back that up with a high level of support and involvement. That positive and powerful combination is what any school needs in order to be strong and successful - and CRE has it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2005

Caring staff and great community.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 17, 2005

Too much stress for the kids, excesive homework, no time for playing, no kids time, no life.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

141 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

139 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

135 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

146 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 48%
White 34%
Black 12%
Asian 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 11%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 59%58%61%
Master's degree 41%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7955 Southwest 152nd Street
Palmetto Bay, FL 33157
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 235-1464

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT