Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Coral Reef Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 837 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

I have three children attending Coral Reef and I cannot say much because they have not attended any other school but there is not extra help for children not doing good. Parents will have to pay private tutors. There is a " tutoring program" but is just the kids doing success maker on the computer. Very disappointed but I have heard others are way wosrst. Unfuryunately, there are not many choices out there and the school district just care about FCATS and sadly our children are not learning, they are just being trained to pass a test. The only positive thing is the area. That's all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

I had 2 students go through school for K- 5th grade. For MIami, its an ok school but over the years I have seen the quality of education there slip. The school has a disproportionately large # of students in the gifted program. The classes that are left are filled with problem students that are bussed in from other feeder patterns. The new principal seems more concerned with making the school look "pretty" than the quality of education. The parents are very involved, TOO INVOLVED. Any time of day, parents can be seen walking around the campus which is both a security issue and disruptive for the classes. Also the school abutts a park with only a 4 foot fence separating it. Any vagrant could have access to the open-style campus. Unsafe!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

My child is in their third year, gifted program at CRE. My child has been very fortunate because every teacher has been top notch and extremely passionate about their craft. The staff and community of parents are outstanding and never cease to amaze me with their dedication to the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

Please don't berate this school if this is your first experience in Miami- Dade County Public Schools, because many of your issues would be caused by lack of funding. Your gripe: They don't have after school programs?! Um, no, they don't. There is no money in Miami-Dade schools. I think they're doing a good job considering the resources they're given. They need more staff to get the things done that parents are expecting (and should be). However, there is no money for new hires. Change needs to be made through politics. These schools need to be better funded. Period. I've been to CRE & seen no toilet paper, paper towels or soap in the bathrooms. I've seen office staff pushing a mop around the cafeteria. They're trying. Please do not blame them, blame our government. As far as students being bused in, they are. However, if you're worried about behavior problems because of it-don't. Overall, Coral Reef is one of the best public schools in Miami-Dade. Compaprable schools are in high income neighborhoods with parents donating generously both their time & money to make up for what poor government funding is causing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2013

Honestly, the school is extremely lacking in security. Anyone can just walk right in and out with ease and the drop off and pickup is not secure. For some kids that are behind, there's no after-school programs or even homework assistance. The principal and assistant are never accessible and concerns never get addressed. It is rated as an A school but its misleading due to many kids getting outside tutoring thanks to parents having a great income. School is located in a very nice neighborhood and some parents are involved. However there is much to be desired and some parents have removed their children to put them in excellent charter schools in the Kendall area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2013

Great School!!! My children have been going to this school for the past two years. The teachers are wonderful. The curriculum is very rich, specially in the Spanish program (EFL). Also, lots of parents are extremely involved. Very happy with the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2013

Coral Reef is about as good of a school as you will find in the Miami-Dade and Florida public school system. Like most public schools, prepare to be involved in your child's work for them to succeed. You will find teachers will help you help you children, but you will still need to help your kids out with homework and projects. The teachers do their best to challenge the advanced kids and help those that are struggling. Having said that, the do not have the resources of a private school. Things like music and art are minimal, but many teachers do a good job with the basics and several put in extra hours for special programs. The gifted teachers are wonderful, but still limited to a certain extant by the FCAT. Fortunately the FCAT is getting a merciful death next year and the focus on practice tests is really only in the weeks leading up to the test. One last point, don't expect your children to learn Spanish in ANY Miami public school, just because everyone in the county speaks Spanglish doesn't mean anyone has any idea of how to teach a foreign language
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2011

This school has excellent teachers. My children have been at the school for several years and are doing great. The school has higher test schools than all the neighbor schools and lots of parents that really care. I think CRE is a great place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2011

The main problem with CRE is the students that are transferred in using the No Child Left Behind Act, there are 6 buses full every day, these students are not contected to the school in any way, the parents do not show for PTA meeting or school functions. The school has 48% of it's enrollment from out of district, may parent that live in district chose to send their children to other schools, i.e. Howard Drive elementary. CRE was once a neighbor school it no longer is and I do not see it ever returning to what it once was, which was a wonderful neighborhood school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2011

Very disappointing. Faculty and Staff are honestly horrible. I am a very involved parent and from conversations with Principal, Staff, and teachers, I came to realize that this is not a school that puts students first and is not concerned about them. I have a Bachelors degree and working on my Masters and Dade County should definitely hire employees that are better qualified to work with children! I would rate this school a negative!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2010

My children have been at CRE for 2 years now. They transferred in using the No Child Left Behind Act. The academics at this school are on par with the other A schools however, the principal and some of the teachers are far below average. The principal is extremely inaccessible. If you call you will receive a call back from his secretary asking for an e-mail with your concerns. This is just so he can forward it to the Assistant Principal who will then just dismiss the problems as parental concerns without merit. Some of the teachers are wonderful, and some leave a lot to be desired. My daughter s teacher is known for yelling at students and refusing to answer questions from the students because she is e-mailing on her cell phone during lessons. Attempts were made for contact and she has refused all correspondence. On a plus side, CRE is an A school and is in a wonderful neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2010

CRE is a great neighborhood school which has provided my children an excellent education. It has a small town feel in a big city. I am very happy with the school and highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2010

Ensuring kids safety is a priority. Like every school, there are good teachers who teach because it comes from their HEART & BAD teachers, who only CARE about receiving a PAY CHECK. Yelling at the kids SHOULD NOT BE ALLOWED, it causes fear in them NOT respect contrary to what some think. Cafeteria NEEDS A lot of Help, kids throw food, run, hit & do as they please. the blinds in the cafeteria shouldn't have any string to pull up or down, kids play with them!! I have seen it early morning during breakfast! SAFETY should be a Priority! NOT GOOD AT ALL!! I DO NOT RECOMMEND THE SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2010

Security is a big issue here, anyone can walk right in, they need a security guard. My son's teacher speaks loud when explaining tasks, BUT she yells at them, specially when they make a mistake. What ever happened to RESPECT ?? teacher had an intern who needed extra spelling lessons herself! teacher doesn't like you telling her anything about your child being bullied by another kids, she always has an excuse, Principal delegates these issues to the assistant Principal who dismisses them AS MERE ALLEGATIONS, there is NO RESPECT or consideration shown here. PRINCIPAL is never available to discuss important issues, overall, I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS SCHOOL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

It's a great school that helps the children learn, grow and thrive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I had to register my dauther in CRE this year because we moved to the area, she was in an excellent charter school all her life and this has been quite the adjustment. The security is a joke, there's no afterschool programs not even homework assistance! The way math is taught it's ridiculous and uniforms? kids wear whatever and it just looks horrible..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2009

my child loves the school its the change ive ever done its so great my child even wakes me up early get get to school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2008

Great school, great students, and now a new principal! I've had kids here for 8 years now, and it is a wonderful school with dedicated and caring teachers, wonderful kids, and involved parents. The only problem has been the principal, whom many parents mentioned in their reviews. She was unfriendly and unresponsive to parents, seeming to resent the parent involvement and consider us something she has to 'deal with,' sometimes with threats. The AP has been little better. This has been the reason for many of the mixed or negative reviews posted here. Well, now, Coral Reef has a new principal and AP, and I expect it will be even better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2008

We moved our children from private school to Coral Reef last year and have not regretted the decision once. While there were some new security measures that created an uproar earlier in the year, I have yet to feel personally unwelcome... quite the contrary. The teachers are dedicated and easy to communicate with, and they welcome parent involvement whole-heartedly. While I still am unhappy about my children eating 'brunch' at 10 am, I am hopeful that the school's infrastructure will soon be able to comfortably accommodate the now 900 strong student body. There are so many opportunities for students at every level to succeed, excel and grow; we are profoundly impressed by the enthusiasm of the teachers in the gifted program and the environment that they create for learning. Every encounter with office staff has been pleasant and productive, as they always go the extra mile to help out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2008

My daughter is now in her 3rd year at Coral Reef Elementary School and I have to say I am more then happy with the school, staff and activities the school has. My daughter is in the gifted program and has accelerated so much in the program. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

146 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 45% 29%
White 37% 42%
Black 14% 23%
Asian 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 59%58%61%
Master's degree 41%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7955 SW 152nd St
Palmetto Bay, FL 33157
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 235-1464

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Christ Fellowship Academy
Palmetto Bay, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT