Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Southwood Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1441 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 6, 2007

This school is amazing to say the least. The gifted program has amazing teachers. Also, the magnets are great as well. Especially the dance program. The kids are great, there aren't any bullies or anything. Parents are involved for everything. We are an A school and have been for a while.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2007

My daughter is in the gifted program, but also has a mild learning disability. We've been really happy with the gifted teachers. The curriculum is top-notch and much harder than I remember from my own school years. But basically, it is going as well as I'd expect from middle school. One reviewer said the school is not safe. I attended Southwood almost 30 years ago, and the student body is very similar to back then -- which is to say that a few middle school kids occasionally fight or get in trouble, but the majority of the kids are great. That's just middle school. I feel happy sending my daughter there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

Wow, Sounds like Our children attend two different schools. I know the school is not perfect,nothing is. but it is sad that you are labeling a whole building full of people. I have been at this school for many years and have always been able to get help with any concern. I also have some teachers that are better than others on my childs team. I hope you can finish out this year better than you feel now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2007

In my opinion this school is pathetic and full of incompetent staff that give the Florida school system, especially Miami-Dade, a bad reputation. My experience has been horrific and I cannot even mention what my children have experienced. They are literally afraid to go to the school I feel sorry for the children of the school. I welcome any discussions to relate my experiences in detail and even listen to any positives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2006

I am in the 7th grade this year in the choir magnet the choir teacher is great she and over prepare us for fieldtrip and contest and competiton. That is a good thing !The only thing i dont like is lunch. I recomend the club dfyit it a great club I recommend southwood to all 5th grader because it a great school
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2006

My child attended this school and was in gifted classes--thank God--otherwise she would have been in the average population which seemed kid of rough. The school is overcrowded. The building is like a fallout shelter- no windows, cramped classrooms. The bathrooms were always filthy. The cafeteria is a joke. It cant handle the colume of kids, so everyday the kids are rushed thru eating, so they can go outside to the 'spillout' area. They often ran out of most choices of food by the time my daughter had lunch. The traffic problems at this school are horrendous-beware! An average middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2006

My daughter is graduating 8th grade after attending Southwood Photography Magnet for the past three years. The photography teacher is extremely dedicated and knowledgeable and strives to help the students excel. The academic curriculum is challenging and does a very good job prepaing the students for High School. There is an active group of parents in the PTSA. Each magnet provides activities available for participation: photography field trips, drama plays, band competitions etc. We have been more than satisfied with Southwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2006

This is my daughters first year at Southwood Middle School. She is in the full time gifted program and the drama magnet. The gifted program has provided her with creative projects and great teachers. The drama magnet provides her with an opportunity to learn about the arts and take part in performances throughout the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2005

Southwood middle school is a awsome school.It has a great magnet program,including band,keybord,drama,photography,orcestra,chorus,and much more.It has many great teachers.I will recomend you this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 25, 2005

My son is doing great at this school. The Magnet Arts program is excellent it keeps the children motivated and busy. Academically it is high. Parents are very much involve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2005

I sent my children to Southwood Middle School directly after private school. We were pleased with the level of education received and the quality of the teachers. We also were greatly pleased with the availablility of extracurricular programs available in music. My children were able to join the band and chorus and have many memorable experiences from their music organizations. My only problem with the school was the facilities themselves. My children once commented it felt like a jail! On the other hand, this can provide a high level of safety in such a big city. I would recommend this school to other parents with children coming out of private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2005

Southwood has an outstanding 'gifted program' and excellent teachers as well as an amazing principal. The creativity is respected as all the magnet programs are well above average. The classes are too large, but an exceptional student wil still excell but I do agree a smaller teacher to student ratio is always preferable.Parents are always invited to participate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2004

This school provides a wonderful learing experience for the whole child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2004

My child is in 7th grade this year. She seems to be learning a lot, however 4 out of the 4 teachers teaching her academic subjects, are not certified in that area of teaching. They are teaching out of their area of expertise. She is in honors classes and for the most part separated from the general population of the school, otherwise I would not send her there due to safety issues. The district buses in children from a 'not good' neighborhood to mix with children from upper-middle class families, and the results are challenging.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

526 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

527 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

409 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

432 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

172 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

470 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

455 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

470 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

457 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

298 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 49%
White 28%
Black 19%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 55%58%61%
Master's degree 42%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MAGDA R PEREIRA
Fax number
  • (305) 251-7464

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16301 Southwest 80th Avenue
Palmetto Bay, FL 33157
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 251-5361

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Palmer Trinity School
Palmetto Bay, FL


Christ Fellowship Academy
Palmetto Bay, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT