Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Southwood Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1441 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 25, 2013

Southwood is a Great school. It has great teachers. it also great kids and it also has great parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Our children's middle school is SOUTHWOOD MIDDLE SCHOOL, in Palmetto Bay, FL. From our oldest to our youngest, we've been attending Southwood over the past five years. We like Southwood and havn't had any negative experiences with the students, teachers or administration. There's a lot of parental involvement and the teachers are always appreciative when a parent is able to volunteer for the events they do. Southwood is unique in that, it's a community school as well as a magnet school. We've only been involved in the magnets, more specifically the art and music magnets. The Music magnet is like no other. Speaking only from our experience, the Symphonic & Jazz bands under the direction of Ms. Calle are incredible & always bring home superior ratings at competition. Her students quickly learn to listen, give her & each other respect. Our daughter was in Art, with Ms. McKinley & Ms.Berse. She now attends Coral Reef High School's Art magnet- need I say more? Our youngest started this year in orchestra under the direction of Ms.Burris & has learned so much in the 2 short months he's been in school! If you need a different school, you've got my vote for Southwood. R. Adams, Cutler Bay
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2013

I've been to this school, and I only have GREAT things to say about it. I transferred , and I loved it. The teachers are more than helpful but amazing! The staff members are super sweet and custodians are constantly doing their job. Unlike other schools in the area, Southwood's facility is extremely clean. Trust me, I've been to 4 middle schools, and I can tell you it has been the cleaniest so far. Yes, the bathrooms might be a little stinky at times, but that's EVERY MIDDLE SCHOOL GUYS!!! If you are an incoming 6th grader, I would suggest though that you really choose your magnet strand wisely. You can switch it after the school years over, but if I were you I would choose one in the beginning that will suit you best. The best strands, in my opinion, are drama, dance, photography, and art . Not many people in these strands switch out to another strand. If you like to play an instrument and sing Italian arias though, you should go into chorus and orchestra and band. Lastly, Southwood is home of the superstars. Who can resist being a superstar:)


Posted September 20, 2012

JETT RIDER JETT RIDER JETT RIDER JETT RIDER JETT RIDER JETT RIDER JETT RIDER JETT


Posted July 18, 2012

My son just finished his first year at Southwood, and he had a fabulous experience. The band program is top notch, and all his teachers were excellent. I felt that the administrators quickly and appropriately dealt with any issues that occurred in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2012

Today, approximately 60 students were left behind for a field trip because there were not enough buses. GOOD PLANNING !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2010

My 13 y/o child attends Southwood Middle School in Palmetto Bay. At present, she has a valid I.E.P. (Individualized Education Plan) calling for services in Language Arts, Math and Science for her Specific Learning Disability. I discovered during this evenings open house that Southwood Middle opted to placed my daughter in a combined class with 7th and 8th graders, classes that would clearly under normal circumstances be following different curriculums. Each class has from 19-23 students, very large by ESE standards considering my daughter IEP calls for smaller class size. Southwood is asking teachers to do the impossible, teach a large classroom full of children with varying learning disabilities, from two different books, two different curriculums, in the same short period. Another important issue is that 12 and 13 year old girls are sitting in the same class with 8th grade boys, in some cases as old as 14 or 15.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2010

I went to southwood in 6-7 grade, unfortunately, i had to move out. There is a Lot of people complaining about this school, but as a student, i know what Southwood really is like. #1: Teachers DO care. There could be 1 in 20 teachers that doesnt, but C'mon, every school has that! #2: Lunch is not that bad! #3: IF YOU ARE BEING BULLIED AND TELL THE PRINCIPAL, OR A COUNSELOUR,THEY *WILL* DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT, believe me, i went through that. #4: There is NO alcohol, and there are NO drugs! some kids were smoking outside, and they got EXPELLED, so dont u dare saying the staff does nothing about it. The magnet program is awesome! It is challenging, and the teachers are respectful and nice!!! Only one thing i can complain about, the grossness of the girls bathroom it IS nasty!


Posted July 27, 2010

My child will be entering Southwood Middle School 2010-2011 yr. I have been aquainting myself with the schools administration for registration, class selections etc. for my childs enrollment purposes. The office staff has been considerate, friendly and thoroughly helpful. A schools management is easily revealed by the courtesy and attention a person is given. Southwoods office staff has proved hospitable in every inquiry I have requested with enormous cooperation. I am excited to meet the teachers, I am sure they will be as equally superb.


Posted June 21, 2010

My son loves this school; The band arts program gets a 10 in my book.. My Son will be an 8th grage this year... absolutely excellent school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2010

My son was not happy at Southwood at all. I had to remove him from Southwood due to the non stop bullying that the administration did nothing about. He came home just about everyday complaining about the drugs, alcohol, and violence. He said he's seen kids bring alcohol to school, and he's seen kids smoking on school grounds. I just didn't feel like Southwood was a safe environment for my son to be in, and I didn't want my son to be the next victim on the news so when I saw nothing was being done about the bullying I removed him. I'm not going to talk bad about the academic system because academically the school is phenomenal, but how can a student learn at his or her full potential when he or she is surrounded by so many negative things that the school does nothing about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2010

SWMS's magnet strand is a great way for children to achive there goals. Teachers there are great, caring, and pushing.


Posted January 11, 2009

I am a 6th grader at Southwood Middle and I attend the Art Magnet program. I have to say that this school is phenomenal. the teachers are caring and really try to boost up your grades. Most teachers give extra credit to anyone who requests it at the end of the grading period. I also think that letting us dress how they want really helps us express our creativity with the exception of baggy jeans down to knees and what not. So once again... i love Southwood!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 24, 2008

My son is new to the school this year, but so far I can not say anything negative about the school. I am happy that he is excited and feels comfortable with the teachers and school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2008

I went to southwood grades 6-8. I have to say that the magnet program is a waste of your time. I was a dance student, and in the dance magnet we did nothing every single day. The dance teachers just sat on the computer emailing, while you did nothing. All the magnet strands were like this. I was in the gifted strand and the academics were very challenging, i learned a lot from 3/4 teachers. But every school has one teacher who does nothing. Now my younger sister is going to middle school and I wouldn't want her to go hear.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 15, 2008

Some of the teachers have fallen into a rut, and need to retire. They don't care about the kids. Thank God administration still cares and will work with the parent when the teachers won't.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2008

I went to southwood for a while now and all i have to say is that its the WORSE SCHOOL IN THE STATE. These teachers don't help you, the bullying problems are getting worse and worse, and the lunch is so nasty i'd rather eat a dirty gym sock.


Posted January 13, 2008

Southwood Middle School is a wonderful place full of extremely gifted children, wonderful teachers, and a great administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2007

This school is amazing! I just came here and I love it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 27, 2007

Southwood is a great school, But My daughter comes home every talking about lunch in school she saids the food is so terrible that she's paying for nothing, that school needs big time improvement in lunch......
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

526 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

527 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

409 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

432 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

172 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

470 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

455 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

470 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

457 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

293 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 49%
White 28%
Black 19%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 55%58%61%
Master's degree 42%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MAGDA R PEREIRA
Fax number
  • (305) 251-7464

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16301 Southwest 80th Avenue
Palmetto Bay, FL 33157
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 251-5361

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Palmer Trinity School
Palmetto Bay, FL


Christ Fellowship Academy
Palmetto Bay, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT