Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Palm View Elementary School

Public | K-7 | 437 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 19, 2013

My granddaughter is a 1st grader in Palm View, she is a special needs child. The whole staff is very caring; the school is safe; the teachers are very compassionate and knowledgeable. She loves to go there! Thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2013

Palm View elementary is near to our winter residence. I started volunteering there in Feb 2013 and a retired teacher, have found it to be a wonderful experience. Teachers are flexible, students are relaxed and ready to learn. Volunteer co-ordination is excellent. Karen Campola


Posted October 29, 2012

My children only had the opportunity to attend Palm View for one year. I was extremely pleased with the teachers and staff and the education they received. The atmosphere was very welcoming and there were many events to keep the families and students involved. I have not encountered a school I have liked as much as this school. I was very surprised it was only rated a 2 on this website. I give the school a 10.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2010

My Children have been going to Palm View now for 6 years. I Love this school and all the teachers and administration there. You always feel like they listen to you when you have concerns. The education that m y children get is above and beyond and I have never had an issue with them not wanting to attend school. They encourage parents to be active in their childrens education and to be apart of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

The staff is great!! We homeschooled last year, and were very nervous about sending our boys to a public school, but our experience has been wonderful thus far!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I have not only worked there but my child also attended Palm View. It is a small school with a big heart for the students and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2006

This is a good school with teachers that care about the students. The Principal is a good leader for the students. I like what is going on at Palm View.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2006

Good school over all Parents that are involved good a great job for the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

Palm View is great! Mrs. Crawford has taught my son so much since school has started. Her patience and compassion is appreciated. The security at the school is also above average. I can leave the school and feel comfortable that the staff will take care of my Angel. A+ for Palm View.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2003

My son is currently in the 2nd grade at this school. The learning atmosphere at Palm View is great. The principals are very active in motivating the kids to learn and give extra effort. The teachers that my son has had have a been great about keeping me posted on his progress and/or suggesting helpful ways to improve that. I am very pleased with this school.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
29%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
44%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
54%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
21%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

26 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

26 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

28 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

28 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

60 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 46%
Black 27%
White 24%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 183%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 224%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 61%54%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6025 Bayshore Road
Palmetto, FL 34221
Website: Click here
Phone: (941) 723-4812

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT