Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,735 students|Manatee
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
103 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (7 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 156 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Manatee School For The Arts
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted March 31, 2016
- a parent
Kim in administration made my daughters enrollment easy and stress free. The entire front office is awesome!

Manatee School For The Arts 5

Posted March 31, 2016
- a parent
This teachers allow students to be creative which in turn makes the students more open and excited to learn.


Manatee School For The Arts
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 24, 2016
- a student
Ms. Brown, Mrs. Petrone, Mme. Turner, and Mr. Hudson. Y'all are exceptional teachers in so many ways.

Manatee School For The Arts 4

Posted January 24, 2016
- a student
Manatee School for the Arts is an exceptional school. I am currently enrolled here as an eighth grader. I love the fact that later middle schoolers can take high school classes. Now, onto the meat of the review. The teachers here really love the students and want them to succeed, and will make sure that they do. I can barely even pick my favorite teachers since they are so amazing, all of them. Now, the programs are nice, there are a lot of different classes to take, but if you look at the elective sign ups, a LOT of the classes are dance classes. This school is focused on dance like Manatee High is focused on football. The other departments, Music, Languages, Tae-Kwon-Do, PE, and Art classes are good, but I'd have to say the music, languages and art are the best. I am enrolled in Guitar I, French II, and Drawing II and they are absolutely amazing. The academics are pretty good, as well. I used to have the infamous Ms. Brown for English (she was my absolute favorite teacher) but she found a new career opportunity somewhere else, so now I have a new teacher, Dr. Simon. He teaches English I and English AP, I'm pretty sure. He integrates musical things and cinema into his lessons and it makes English really easy. The areas where this school falls short is Guidance and the other students. I've requested several appointments with them and they never got back to me at all. And the students, that's where it goes down. Cliques are common here, and some students are just downright disrespectful and rude to other people, their opinions, and their interests. I have been mocked several times because of things such as that. Fights are not common here, though, since the administrative staff excels at their job of controlling the kids. The rude kids mostly pick on quieter kids like me. So, to sum it all up, MSA has great opportunities, great teachers (such as Mme. Turner, Mrs. Petrone, Mr. Hudson, Ms. Brown and Mr. Oliva), some rude, clique-y students and decent administration. Overall, I give a 4.

Manatee School For The Arts
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted December 28, 2015
- a community member
The staff at our school constantly favour some students more than others. They'll let some get away with anything but suspend others over petty things. I've seem this happen myself.


Manatee School For The Arts 3

Posted December 28, 2015
- a community member
Certainly isn't as great as it used to be. The school is completely disorganized and plan everything at the very last minute. The guidance pay no attention to anyone but themselves and all the school cares about is having a good reputation. They lack focus of their students and instead put forth more effort towards getting money. The pure honest reason to why I'm rating Manatee School For the Arts "average" is because of the incredible teachers, such as Mr. Barbaro, Mr. Morton, Ms. Brown (who unfortunately no longer teachers there), Madam Turner, and etc. If it weren't for the awesome teachers and amazing friends I have here, I would have transferred a long time ago.

Manatee School For The Arts 1

Posted August 27, 2015
- a student
School has really gone down the tubes this year...the staff look miserable. They are constantly arguing about administration and forget trying to see guidance!

Manatee School For The Arts
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 20, 2015
- a parent
Some of the teachers are great while others are disorganized, do not put grades in the parent portal, do not offer any type of feedback on the students' work (including returning tests).


Manatee School For The Arts
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted August 20, 2015
- a parent
Again, they talk about this but the teachers and admins do not demonstrate this through their actions. There are students who are clearly more talented that are overlooked in favor of a teacher favorite.

Manatee School For The Arts 3

Posted August 20, 2015
- a parent
I have had good experiences with some teachers and bad with others. Overall, just average.

Nearby schools

Manatee School For The Arts
700 Haben Boulevard, Palmetto, FL  34221
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 156 reviews. (941) 721-6800
Last modified Manatee School For The Arts is a Charter school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top