Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Breakfast Point Academy

Public | PK-6 | 1172 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 13, 2013

If your child is a typical child(preferably female), your child will most likely succeed at Breakfast Point. HOWEVER, if your child has ANY TYPE of disability or is different in any way from their perceived version of perfect, then your child will most certainly NOT benefit from this school. This is not merely my personal opinion, as a parent of a child who spent the worst 3 yrs. of his life at this school, but also as a professional who works with special needs children on a daily basis. We were cajoled, coerced, dissuaded, discouraged, and otherwise given a hard time at this school. My son, with Asperger's syndrome, joined the ranks of several students who were "politely" asked not to come back. It is, after all, an "A" rated school. But then, when you are only a few years old and have no frame of reference with which to measure your standards, I suppose any new school could be an "A" school. Bottom Line...worst school in Bay County..PERIOD!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

As a former BPA student. The school honestly needs much work. First off; Most of the kids in the school are put off the hook WAY too many times. I knew many disrespectful punks that always got in trouble, but, the trouble most of the time was just a small detention, or sitting out during a fun activity. Honestly, I was a snitch. Many children STILL got off the hook. Even for something that would be considered potentially Harmful/Deadly. I would prefer they get ISS, because OSS does not cut it. While the children don't get enough discipline; Staff are amazing, mostly teachers.


Posted July 1, 2013

I am a student at Bpa and its pretty good. I wouldn't recommend going to this school though. I can take the gross lunch food and the uniform rules but I cannot stand the people & the teachers. There are some teachers that are really sweet but there are some that leave you thinking how did they even get their degree? If you really want a good school with nice and understanding teachers &people I would say go to a different school like bay haven or surfside.


Posted June 13, 2013

I am a student at breakfast point academy and its great! But they SEROUISLY have to stop treating us like little kids. The middle school does not get the privilege of walking to lunch by themselves or even sit where they want at lunch. They treat us the same as the K-5 and I've had enough. We need better lunch choices (stuff like Pizza Hut or chick-fil-a or something) You can ask any middle schooler and they will say the same. Also more elective choices would be great. We are no longer little kids and there is no way we will be prepared for highschool with this kind of treatment.


Posted June 13, 2013

I am a student currently attending Breakfast Point Academy. (middle school) My experience at breakfast point has been better, compared to the other schools I have attended in the past, but I have had some terrible experiences as well. Not only am I a witness, but also a victim of bullying. Despite the number of times I have reported these incidents, the teachers and administration do not handle the situations correctly, IF they are handled at all. The school is terribly overcrowded. The principal likes to pick favorites and acts terribly fake. There are very few elective choices. BUT, the teachers are very devoted into teaching us and love their jobs and the school is well maintained and clean. Breakfast Point is an average school, with amazing qualities, but also a few problems as well.


Posted June 13, 2013

I'm an 8th grader and feel that we should have more privileges. Like to sit anywhere at lunch time and better lunch choices.


Posted June 9, 2013

I am a former student of BPA, and I went to the school for less than a month in December. This school was a very rude awakening to me. I went to a very small school before, living in a town with as many people as this school has. Unfortunately, this school did not even try to help me fit into the crowd. The classes were herded like sheep (I was in fifth grade) and you never got a chance to talk to other fifth graders, and moved from teacher to teacher with the same class. That was very stressful for me as I was constantly bullied by the kids in my class, and had no escape from them. I even reported it to the principle, me, an overweight fifth grader, and nothing was done about it. I also went in for other counts of bullying, like when a boy was stealing a girls food and making fun of her. I may sound like a "tattle tale", but that's not the case. The students were left to pick and prod at each other with no discipline. The school also did not have enough materials for me. I was forced to buy my own books and use an old Language Arts work booklet. It's been four years, and I am a now an honors student freshmen back at my old school. No uniforms at my old school too! Hallelujah!


Posted May 16, 2013

Great school! Gave my son 100% support for gifted testing and right away provided accommodations for his educational needs. Very good teachers committed to helping their students thrive and succeed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2013

BPA has a very positive environment. Teachers and staff are always willing to do anything they can to accommodate individual students. They genuinely care about their students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 3, 2012

terrible this school is terrible my teachers are terrible the technology class is terrible the concealers and principles the p.e. coaches are the worst they tell the students to lower there sports expectations terrible there is a terrible cafe for lunch and the schools students are THE WORST EVER I WAS punched in the arm by a bully for standing up to him so do not send child to school


Posted March 10, 2012

This school is great if your child fits the cookie cutter mold of normal..I have a 3rd grader there and she does great. Wonderful teacher. If you have a special needs child such as Special Ed. Not very helpful or supported.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2011

My daughter has been attending since they opened the doors and we have loved it. We actually followed the principle and staff from her previous school to to BPA. They are now beginning to roll the children up into the middle school as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

My children attended this school in its opening year. I sincerely hope it has improved since then. As for the parents who left 1 star reviews, I have to agree. I experienced the same problems with lack of communication from the principal and vice principal. My son's Kindergarten teacher was WONDERFUL! I could not be more pleased with the teacher's dedication and competence. My older son's teacher however, was not a credit to the school. I had numerous issues with the way the multi-grade classroom was run but all of my concerns were ignored and my son was blamed for the teacher's lack of ability. It was not a good year for my child. Since leaving that school, he has excelled. As for other reviews from parents that left less than stellar reviews: I can relate. For those that had better experiences, I'm very glad that some children did but I can assure you that parents who left honest reviews about real issues/problems are not to blame here or immature. Set blame where blame is due, not on honest and concerned parents with justifiable complaints about a far less than perfect institution. My children attended two other elementary schools in Bay Co. that, in my opinion, were superior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2010

We recently moved to Panama City Beach. I have 2 boys in kindergarten, one of whom has some learning delays. The staff at BPA is wonderful and has offered so much support. Both boys are thriving in their classrooms. I would recommend it for everyone. I now work for a different school in the area and opted to keep my boys at BPA .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2010

We have two children who have attended Breakfast Point since the school opened. We could not be more pleased with this school. The administration and staff are accessible, dedicated professionals. There have been multiple instances when we have seen the staff and principals go above and beyond to serve the students and parents at this school. When our neighborhood was rezoned to another school last year we did everything posssible to ensure that our children remained at this exceptional school. When faced with a decision regarding relocation at the end of this year, we chose to remain in the area and this school was one of the deciding factors in our decision. We believe that our children are receiving an outstanding education at BPA and plan to keep our children in this school as long as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2010

Breakfast Point is more than just a shiny new building. The caring and dedicated staff work have managed to create a warm, nurturing environment in just two years. I have met with the principal on several occasions and have found her to be genuine, intelligent, and approachable. I truly believe that great things are happening at Breakfast Point and the best is yet to come!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2010

My daughter has attended Breakfast Point since it has opened. Any time there has been a concern the administration has handled the problem quickly and effectively. The principal and assistant prinicipal have always maintained an open door policy which has been greatly appreciated. My daughter also attended another school under the same administration and we could not have been more pleased. Breakfast Point is an A school the second year out and this not an easy task to accomplish nor is it done with teachers that just do 'enough' to get by. It seems to me that there are parents out there that expect the world handed to them and their children while they lack an obvious maturity themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2010

I have three grandchildren attending BPA. We love this amazing school! The teachers go above and beyond to make sure my grandchildren are successful. The principal always has a smile on her face. My grandchildren love the teachers and especially the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2010

I am shocked at some of the reviews given to this school. My child has attended BPA for the past two years, and I could not ask for a more influential school setting. Not only has my child's teachers been professional but they have also provided different instruction to meet my child's need. Tutorial, technology, and reading incentives have been put in place to create an motivational peice for my child's learning. Teachers, support staff and administration are the BEST a parent can ask for. They are always willing to help and keep the parents informed. I would 100% reference this school as one of the best there is in Bay County!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2010

BPA is a hands-on nurturing school which provides in depth support for student learning and growth! The faculty and staff have a friendly, OPEN DOOR Policy and I have always felt that my child is earning an excellent education.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

118 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 42%
Hispanic 6% 29%
Asian 3% 3%
Black 3% 23%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 59%63%61%
Master's degree 40%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 9%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

601 N Richard Jackson Blvd
Panama City Beach, FL 32407
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 767-1190

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Bernadette Catholic School
Panama City Beach, FL



Patronis Elementary School
Panama City Beach, FL




St. Andrew School
Panama City, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT