Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Newpoint Bay Charter High School

Charter | 9-12 | 105 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 22, 2013

NewPoint Bay Charter: We have two children that have attended Newpoint Bay Charter since it's inception. Both of our children love and enjoy Newpoint and as a parent we are thrilled to know they are recieving personal attention from their teachers. The concept at Newpoint is simple. Students interact with teachers by using technology and vice versa. Students are not subject to sitting down in one chair for 45 minutes at the back of the class to hear a teacher lecture and assign work. At Newpoint the students are involved everyday, so it is not boring and the students learn more. The teachers and Staff are very professional and are always willing to help in anyway.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

I volunteered at the school the first two days of this school year and a couple of students went home sick. The staff called the parents and tended to them. So, I am not sure why someone would say the students can not call home if they are sick...just not true. The school is in a transition with the high school moving into the same location as the middle school. Not all of the classrooms are available for use until October, so it is a bit cramped. They will be able to stretch out in a little over a month if all goes according to plan. Their 8th grade is either full or almost full. Interested kids will be going on waiting lists soon. The latest scores are a little low because the school is so small that just a few bad grades pull the total scores down. But, that will turn around as the school grows a little more. It is a good school. Small and personable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2012

My student was there for one sememster. I had to hire an attorney to get administrative staff to quit bullying him. The math teacher would not help the students. Plus, when you move in a few weeks before the end of the semester, they refuse to give the student credit for any of the classes. Also, if the student doesn't feel good, they refuse to let the student call the parents. There is a reason why the middle school has been moved to the high school. There is a decrease in students. Also, FCAT not good scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2011

Wow. The quality of writing by the students and parents I see here is so impressive, it's as if the comments were all composed by one sound mind. I hope this is reflective of the school's influence - it permeates through the student and almost by osmosis to and through their parents. The future of education looks bright for Panama City. I would not be at all surprised to hear about a future Executive Director of Managing Operations Presiding Over Counsel and Regulations one day whom once graced the halls of this fine establishment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2011

This is an excellent school! I am a Newpoint student and feel that Newpoint schools have an amazing concept designed to create a learning environment for students who have a desire to succeed. The teachers are there for the students and aim to provide students with the fundamentals for learning and success. The school offers academic programs that are designed to challenge students at all stages of learning. Newpoint has a strong leadership base and is truly centered around the success of the students. I recomend this school to any student who has the desire to succeed and chooses to put their best foot forward!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2010

This is my son's second year at Newpoint Bay. The staff and teachers are great, always willing to help in anyway. The curriculum is designed to prepare kids for college and independently working, being responsible and focusing on their future. Not all the drama that goes on at public high school either. I wouldn't send my child anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2010

It's a great school, only reason it has low grades is because students are yet used to such schools, they are not used to this type of technology in schools yet, but the students that are love it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 13, 2010

This is a great school for any student! They are eager to learn here, and my kid actually wants to go everyday, so easy to make friends he says. So easy to get along. So nice of teachers. They really do help and you do learn at your own pace! - A parent of Newpoint Bay student
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2009

I honestly love the school I attend. Most students there may complain about having to look at a computer screen all day, but since our founding year, we have already fixed that issue. The teachers have more involvement in our classes, and there is less staring at the computer screen(although I really didn't find this an issue). The teachers really care about the success of the student and you can connect with your teachers and feel comfortable around them. They are always willing to help a student in need. The staff is great and always helpful. The students are great and there is no real 'cliques' and if they do exist , they only exist for short periods of time. Students can feel at home near their peers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2009

This is a school for students who are looking to do something with their future. My child is motivated and is preparing for college - this is the perfect school for her. Because it is a public school, many students try it and then leave because you have to have the smarts to make it here. That is what I love about it. The bar is high and that is the way all schools should be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2009

I think this is a great school! The kids who attend are top notch and college bound. The work is hard and it is teaching my daughter how to strive to be her best. The teachers are dedicated to the students. It is a small school and my daughter doesn't get pushed aside like she would at a big high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2009

Newpoint is a very different school with a very different way of learning .... you stare at a computer screen all day and get a four minute break that hardly goes without interruption good teachers but terrible students its hard to learn by yourself i think that online courses should be left to colledge students i passed all classes with a's,b's,c's but on the fcat students overall scored a D???? doesnt seem like the very best choice... may get better but when ? it may be too late i would consider carefuly before sending your child to what used to be EBA (that is where they are moving the school).
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2009

So far we have been very happy with this school, my granddaughter is doing well and is very happy at this school.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

27 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

28 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

20 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

25 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
32%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
60%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

20 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
67%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

29 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 80%
Hispanic 10%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 57%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/AN/A
Female 43%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 78%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 60%63%61%
Master's degree 40%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 100%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

700 West 23rd Street
Panama City, FL 32405
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 215-0770

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Bay Virtual Franchise
Panama City, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT