Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public charter
Panama City, FL
Students enrolled: 105

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Newpoint Bay Charter High School 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
NewPoint Bay Charter: We have two children that have attended Newpoint Bay Charter since it's inception. Both of our children love and enjoy Newpoint and as a parent we are thrilled to know they are recieving personal attention from their teachers. The concept at Newpoint is simple. Students interact with teachers by using technology and vice versa. Students are not subject to sitting down in one chair for 45 minutes at the back of the class to hear a teacher lecture and assign work. At Newpoint the students are involved everyday, so it is not boring and the students learn more. The teachers and Staff are very professional and are always willing to help in anyway.

Newpoint Bay Charter High School 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
I volunteered at the school the first two days of this school year and a couple of students went home sick. The staff called the parents and tended to them. So, I am not sure why someone would say the students can not call home if they are sick...just not true. The school is in a transition with the high school moving into the same location as the middle school. Not all of the classrooms are available for use until October, so it is a bit cramped. They will be able to stretch out in a little over a month if all goes according to plan. Their 8th grade is either full or almost full. Interested kids will be going on waiting lists soon. The latest scores are a little low because the school is so small that just a few bad grades pull the total scores down. But, that will turn around as the school grows a little more. It is a good school. Small and personable.


Newpoint Bay Charter High School 1

Posted October 11, 2012
- a parent
My student was there for one sememster. I had to hire an attorney to get administrative staff to quit bullying him. The math teacher would not help the students. Plus, when you move in a few weeks before the end of the semester, they refuse to give the student credit for any of the classes. Also, if the student doesn't feel good, they refuse to let the student call the parents. There is a reason why the middle school has been moved to the high school. There is a decrease in students. Also, FCAT not good scores.

Newpoint Bay Charter High School 5

Posted February 05, 2011
- a parent
Wow. The quality of writing by the students and parents I see here is so impressive, it's as if the comments were all composed by one sound mind. I hope this is reflective of the school's influence - it permeates through the student and almost by osmosis to and through their parents. The future of education looks bright for Panama City. I would not be at all surprised to hear about a future Executive Director of Managing Operations Presiding Over Counsel and Regulations one day whom once graced the halls of this fine establishment.

Newpoint Bay Charter High School 5

Posted January 27, 2011
- a student
This is an excellent school! I am a Newpoint student and feel that Newpoint schools have an amazing concept designed to create a learning environment for students who have a desire to succeed. The teachers are there for the students and aim to provide students with the fundamentals for learning and success. The school offers academic programs that are designed to challenge students at all stages of learning. Newpoint has a strong leadership base and is truly centered around the success of the students. I recomend this school to any student who has the desire to succeed and chooses to put their best foot forward!


Newpoint Bay Charter High School 0
no rating

Posted May 03, 2010
- a parent
This is my son's second year at Newpoint Bay. The staff and teachers are great, always willing to help in anyway. The curriculum is designed to prepare kids for college and independently working, being responsible and focusing on their future. Not all the drama that goes on at public high school either. I wouldn't send my child anywhere else.

Newpoint Bay Charter High School 5

Posted March 13, 2010
- a student
It's a great school, only reason it has low grades is because students are yet used to such schools, they are not used to this type of technology in schools yet, but the students that are love it!

Newpoint Bay Charter High School 5

Posted March 13, 2010
- a parent
This is a great school for any student! They are eager to learn here, and my kid actually wants to go everyday, so easy to make friends he says. So easy to get along. So nice of teachers. They really do help and you do learn at your own pace! - A parent of Newpoint Bay student


Newpoint Bay Charter High School 5

Posted December 13, 2009
- a student
I honestly love the school I attend. Most students there may complain about having to look at a computer screen all day, but since our founding year, we have already fixed that issue. The teachers have more involvement in our classes, and there is less staring at the computer screen(although I really didn't find this an issue). The teachers really care about the success of the student and you can connect with your teachers and feel comfortable around them. They are always willing to help a student in need. The staff is great and always helpful. The students are great and there is no real 'cliques' and if they do exist , they only exist for short periods of time. Students can feel at home near their peers.

Newpoint Bay Charter High School 5

Posted November 18, 2009
- a parent
This is a school for students who are looking to do something with their future. My child is motivated and is preparing for college - this is the perfect school for her. Because it is a public school, many students try it and then leave because you have to have the smarts to make it here. That is what I love about it. The bar is high and that is the way all schools should be.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Newpoint Bay Charter High School
700 West 23rd Street, Panama City, FL  32405
(850) 215-0770
Last modified Newpoint Bay Charter High School is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Newpoint Bay Charter High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top