Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Newpoint Middle School

Charter | 6-8 | 188 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 22, 2013

My daughter is shy and was very overwhelmed by our public middle school she was zoned for, she started not wanting to go to school anymore so when I heard about Newpoint Middle School I was very thankful. Everytime I have a question or concern I almost immediately get a response from teachers or staff. They are still new but growing and improving daily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2013

Newpoint is an AMAZING middle school. By having smaller classes, this environment enables our children to have more "one on one" instructional time and the ability to ask questions in a non-stressful atmosphere. I love how this is a highly technologically advanced school and the weekly (sometimes daily) emails from the teachers are amazing! Staff and teachers have each students success a top priority and want to see them succeed! I can't say enough about Newpoint and the entire administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2013

I was extremely disappointed by the way that the school differed from what was presented at Open House. Individual, technology based learning, small class sizes, was not what we found after enrolling. I withdrew my kids after 9 weeks. After buying the computers recommended by the school they didn't use them for school work at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2013

My son's school is fantastic. Technology based and smaller classes for more one on one learning. My son has ADHD and accessing work and tests through technology helps to keep him focused on the information that he is learning. Two Thumbs UP!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

they r working very hard to have the students be the best that they can be very attentive teachers and staff willing to help their students and keep in touch with parents in any aspect of their childs school work
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2013

Newpoint Middle School is a high "C" school for 2012. They went up one letter grade while many other schools dropped their scores with FCAT 2.0. I haven't met one student there who dislikes the school. They are still growing and improving, but I am very happy with this school. It allows the students to progress at their own pace. That helps both the high-achieving student and the ones who struggle. The Administration and faculty are extremely helpful, warm and loving to the children. I love the small class sizes and the family atmosphere there. The kids can't wait to get to school and don't want to leave at the end of the day. What more can I ask for?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2012

I was really worried about middle schools in the area when my husband got orders here. I enrolled my daughter in Newpoint and have no regrets. She has progressed SO much and her confidence in her school work has done a complete 180. I recommend Newpoint to other military families that are coming in as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2011

This is a great school,but alot of drama so if you can handle it then come to newpoint the charter school it is very fun!!!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
41%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

71 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

50 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "D".
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2009-2010.
  • This school did not receive a grade in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

11 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 73%
Black 11%
Hispanic 7%
Two or more races 6%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 57%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/AN/A
Female 43%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 88%63%61%
Master's degree 13%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 100%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2355 Saint Andrews Boulevard
Panama City, FL 32405
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 215-0770

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Bacot Academy
Panama City, FL


Bacot Academy
Panama City, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT