Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 42 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


45 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bay Haven Charter Academy 5

Posted May 13, 2014
- a parent
North Bay Haven Charter Academy is a well-rounded, futuristic preparatory campus that is preparing my student for a medical career while allowing other areas of interest to be fostered. And the new campus is coming along well. Kudos!

Bay Haven Charter Academy 5

Posted May 12, 2014
- a parent
This school has been the best experience ever. My children are encouraged to do their best all the time. They are surrounded by other children with good manners and a good attitude to learn. The school is clean and up to date. I can't say anything negative about this school. I love it and my children love it.


Bay Haven Charter Academy 5

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
Bay Haven is an outstanding school. The teachers and adminstrators are excellent and geninuely care about their students and their success. They encourage the students to do their very best and the students strive to be successful. High expectation, high achievement! This is evident from the success of the students as well as the school. However, parental involvement is also a key contributor of the students success. It definitely is a partnership and should be! One could not ask for a better education for their children. Top notch curriculum for the students. I have a 4th grader there and have had other children attend Bay Haven as well. Parent/teacher communication is paramount and does exist. Teachers utilize various tools of communication to ensure parents are aware of their child's progress. First Class Education! Thanks Dr. Kitts for the vision and implementing it!

Bay Haven Charter Academy 5

Posted August 28, 2013
- a parent
I have two sons currently in 2nd and 3rd grade at Bay Haven. Having grown up in a foreign country and gone to an excellent private Catholic school all through high school, I am happy to see my children in a similar educational environment where they are constantly challenged and pushed. The teachers we've had so far have been terrific. They preach a balance of strict compliance and positive encouragement. Bay Haven is run more like a private school but with greater diversity. My only worry is that school expansion could signal compromising the high academic and learning standards. Bay Haven is a big reason we have chosen to live in Panama City.

Bay Haven Charter Academy 1

Posted April 02, 2011
- a parent
Bay Haven Charter Academy is an OVERRATED school. My child is currently in the 1st grade and does well academically, however, everything she learns is in preparation for the FCAT. I am already looking into homeschooling my child for next year. If you are a parent looking for an education that extends beyond the FCAT and want to see your child become their own individual then please do not buy into their hype.


Bay Haven Charter Academy 4

Posted February 08, 2011
- a parent
Better than Holy Nativity without the exorbitant private tuition fee! Excellent teachers (they know their content, are respectful of students and parents, respond quickly to communication, control their classrooms, and hold their students to high standards), Good school leadership (they hire excellent staff and try to create an environment where staff have a vested interest in staying) and a challenging academic curriculum. My children have attending school at a local private school and at schools in several other states and the parents are more involved at this school than any other. This is exactly what public schools should be like. The only reason that I did not give it a 5 is because I think the communication between teachers & administration and parents/students is lacking. Otherwise, exceptional.

Bay Haven Charter Academy 0
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
Great school, very strong academically, and with caring teachers!

Bay Haven Charter Academy 5

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
Overall excellence in academia and encouragement.. Our child flourishes in this environment educationally, emotionally and athletically. I love that they teach the entire spectrum of subject matter and not just 'teaching to the FCAT' as so many public schools do. The stricter dress code policy is admirable and teaches structure and equality. The personal learning plans for each individual student ensures maximum growth potential. Successfully completing this methodically prolific system almost certainly guarantees entry into the college preparatory high school path. It is surely raising the bar for the entire education system in Bay County.


Bay Haven Charter Academy 0
no rating

Posted February 24, 2010
- a parent
I have two children who attend Bay Haven- I have found they offer no room for individuality and my children are being indoctrinated into FCAT mode as early as 1st grade. While it's a better choice than public, I am not pleased with this FCAT factory.

Bay Haven Charter Academy 1

Posted February 01, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bay Haven Charter Academy
2501 Hawks Landing Boulevard, Panama City, FL  32405
(850) 248-3500
Last modified Bay Haven Charter Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bay Haven Charter Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. Top