Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

690 students|Bay
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
45 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 52 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bay Haven Charter Academy 3

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
Grades K-4 I would give all most 5 stars..... but 5th grade has not been a positive year. Teacher is totally TEST centered with little student empathy. , homework exceeds 1 1/2 hours nightly... Parent involvement, so welcome in K-4, in now viewed as a nuisance. "My way or the highway" attitude is apparent. I have 30 years of public education experience Sadly, and with huge disappointment, I understand what so many parents warned us about for 5th grade. I only hope that having this type of experience will only make my child stronger and better equipped to deal with difficult people in the future.

Bay Haven Charter Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
5th grade over an hour and a half per night average.... K-4... about right..... THey indicate they're getting them ready for middle school, more like getting them tired of school


Bay Haven Charter Academy 5

Posted May 13, 2014
- a parent
North Bay Haven Charter Academy is a well-rounded, futuristic preparatory campus that is preparing my student for a medical career while allowing other areas of interest to be fostered. And the new campus is coming along well. Kudos!

Bay Haven Charter Academy 5

Posted May 12, 2014
- a parent
This school has been the best experience ever. My children are encouraged to do their best all the time. They are surrounded by other children with good manners and a good attitude to learn. The school is clean and up to date. I can't say anything negative about this school. I love it and my children love it.

Bay Haven Charter Academy 5

Posted October 09, 2013
- a community member
My grandson started kindergarten this year. He loves this school and his teacher. He is learning so much in so little time. His favorite subject is art. I also love this school because the whole staff works together as a team to make sure the children get the education and support, they need. My grandson is learning social skills, which will take him far in life. This school not only has a great cheerful staff , but the parents are supportive of all the children not just their own. United we stand divided we fall should be one of the motto's for this school. .


Bay Haven Charter Academy 5

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
Bay Haven is an outstanding school. The teachers and adminstrators are excellent and geninuely care about their students and their success. They encourage the students to do their very best and the students strive to be successful. High expectation, high achievement! This is evident from the success of the students as well as the school. However, parental involvement is also a key contributor of the students success. It definitely is a partnership and should be! One could not ask for a better education for their children. Top notch curriculum for the students. I have a 4th grader there and have had other children attend Bay Haven as well. Parent/teacher communication is paramount and does exist. Teachers utilize various tools of communication to ensure parents are aware of their child's progress. First Class Education! Thanks Dr. Kitts for the vision and implementing it!

Bay Haven Charter Academy 5

Posted August 28, 2013
- a parent
I have two sons currently in 2nd and 3rd grade at Bay Haven. Having grown up in a foreign country and gone to an excellent private Catholic school all through high school, I am happy to see my children in a similar educational environment where they are constantly challenged and pushed. The teachers we've had so far have been terrific. They preach a balance of strict compliance and positive encouragement. Bay Haven is run more like a private school but with greater diversity. My only worry is that school expansion could signal compromising the high academic and learning standards. Bay Haven is a big reason we have chosen to live in Panama City.

Bay Haven Charter Academy 1

Posted April 02, 2011
- a parent
Bay Haven Charter Academy is an OVERRATED school. My child is currently in the 1st grade and does well academically, however, everything she learns is in preparation for the FCAT. I am already looking into homeschooling my child for next year. If you are a parent looking for an education that extends beyond the FCAT and want to see your child become their own individual then please do not buy into their hype.


Bay Haven Charter Academy 4

Posted February 08, 2011
- a parent
Better than Holy Nativity without the exorbitant private tuition fee! Excellent teachers (they know their content, are respectful of students and parents, respond quickly to communication, control their classrooms, and hold their students to high standards), Good school leadership (they hire excellent staff and try to create an environment where staff have a vested interest in staying) and a challenging academic curriculum. My children have attending school at a local private school and at schools in several other states and the parents are more involved at this school than any other. This is exactly what public schools should be like. The only reason that I did not give it a 5 is because I think the communication between teachers & administration and parents/students is lacking. Otherwise, exceptional.

Bay Haven Charter Academy
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
Great school, very strong academically, and with caring teachers!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bay Haven Charter Academy
2501 Hawks Landing Boulevard, Panama City, FL  32405
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 52 reviews. (850) 248-3500
Last modified Bay Haven Charter Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top