Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Everitt Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 804 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 15, 2013

My son went to this school for 3 weeks and survived. I was extremely nervous because he is small for his age. Everything that everyone told me about this school was correct. The faculty and staff seemed to be fine but the students there ruined the school. On the second day of school a child stole and ran with a teacher's wallet. My son was the only one in class paying attention. Everyone else was jumping on the tables being loud and obnoxious. My son passed a test and a student grabbed it and tore it. I was there transferring him to another school and in that 10 mins there were 3 students that were being disciplined for disrupting the class, and another parent was also transferring their child out. It is a very sad situation with this school, but definitely a learning experience for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2012

I was a student of Everitt middle school from 2002-2005. I had an extremely enjoyable experience there, I was there when they decided to seperate the boys and girls due to a pregnancy that happened while on school campus. The teachers I had were amazing, I actually thanked by algebra teacher in my speech for valedictorian upon my graduation from high school. I have great things to say about this school. Unfortunately things have changed alot since I left, there aren't many of the teachers I had left, and my little sister had a horrible time there with lack of teachers attention and a huge lack of discipline, students were aloud to do what they pleased resulting in alot of bullying. I am not sure if I'd reccomend this school now, but in 02-05 most definitely.


Posted November 17, 2011

I had to remove my son from school because of constant bullying. After conversations with the teachers nothing changed. When I went to remove my son from school all I got was, "I'm sorry". Ridiculous!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2010

I wont even give this school 1 star! I enrolled my two children and on the first day my daughter was assaulted in the back of the head at lunch time with an apple and a bottle of gator ade. Confronted the school with this problem and was given the impression this sort of stuff happens. The principal didnt even talk to my daughter concering the incident. Alot of profanity and sexual gestures was observed by my children, this school is out of control. I drove by to pick up my kids only to see students out front fighting and cursing each other no sighn of facullty or staff present. It resembled a jail riot!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2010

My son attends this school as a 7th grader. We are military and I was skeptical. Students are not allowed to have bookbags, only drawstring bags.......The school is not awful but not the greatest either. He comes home almost daily telling me about a fight at lunch or in between classes. I think if your child already knows friends when they start then they will be OK. The school is a bit scary when you walk in during school hours as a parent. The front door is locked except to enter into the main office, from there you can enter the school hall. It has been an experience and am glad that my child attended Tyndall Elementary then Rosenwald to meet friends before coming to this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

As a current 8th grade student, I'd like to say that this school is a 50/50 but I wouldn't break my neck to go here. We're seperated from boys, our school shirts are not all that great, I wish we could use lockers & the lunch is the same week after week. Most teachers are good teachers because there are some teachers who do care about you & how good you do in their class.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 10, 2007

As a parent of a student at this school and a substitute teacher, Everitt like any other school has its flaws. There are several good points to it like the activities available to the students and the teachers are great. There are also things that I would change like the seperation between boys & girls, the right to use the school lockers, new and improved books for all the classes (including the ESE). I would also like to see a change in the school lunch for the students, who eat the same thing every week. In addition it would be nice for the parents to put in their input about what they would like to see instead of just complaining about it. We all have to do our part as teachers, administrators, students and parents. There are several things that can be modified to make this school a school to remember.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2006

Everitt is an awful school to go to. I luv the staff yet and still but they didn't help me at all.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 23, 2006

I am sorry that some of you don't like this school.For my daughter loved this school.And I have to tell you that there is some great kids there.I love the kids at this school.Yes some of them can be a handful,but as a sub teacher I can tell you they are a blessing too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2006

The academic programs of this school is average. It's just average. There is no level of excitement that will bring parent involvement. For the exception of the school's Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA) or Fellowship of Christian Students (FCS) is one of the most fascinating programs settled in Everitt. It is a bondage of students who would like to learn about life and God. Not only that, but they have fun. The school has an availability of music with a wonderful teacher who teaches both band and choir. The same teacher was the former art teacher at Everitt; that elective was removed from the Everitt school system after the year 2004-2005. Other Electives/Programs: Newspaper Staff, Library Aids, Office Assistants, Drama Troupe, Student Council, ITV (Everitt TV Crew), Yearbook, etc. Another elective would be Research, also taught by a fantastic teacher. Which lets your child get involved in projects such as Science and History Fair.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 7, 2004

This school is not what it is out to be! Thay are only nice when parent are there! Some of the kids half to share books with other to do there school work! This school needs a lot of help!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

265 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

270 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
41%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

239 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

235 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
26%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

260 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 42%
Black 34% 23%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Hispanic 5% 29%
Asian 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 74%63%61%
Master's degree 25%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 16%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Shirley Baker
Fax number
  • (850) 872-7721

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

608 School Ave
Panama City, FL 32401
Phone: (850) 767-3776

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




C C Washington Academy
Panama City, FL


Rosenwald High School
Panama City, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT