Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bay Haven Charter Middle School

Charter | 6-8 | 517 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 6, 2014

My kids currently attend Pre-K at Bay Haven and I couldn't be happier. They are going to be more than ready for kindergarten next year. They learn a ton, but not in a high pressure way. The teachers are super engaged with the parents and welcome parent involvment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2014

I have gone to Bay Haven since 3rd grade. At first, I thought that I would get the help that I needed with math. But, over the years I am now in 7th grade and school has gotten even more stressful. I feel that the teachers do not take me seriously, and that I am a puppet. I feel that the strict uniform policy is a bit over the top. If I were to be myself teachers and other students would make fun of me.. (i would know because i don't fit in.) BHCA is just not my school. Classwork is stressful. Homework is stressful.


Posted January 30, 2013

This school is far too stressful. After years of attending the school, my kid (and I) had had enough. Far too much homework and they are extremely inflexible. They give zeros if the work is late, even if they just left it at home and the parent brings the work to school. Another student's grandmother told me that her granddaughter is in counseling because of the stress. Yet, the child's parents are so pleased they got her in at this school. My kid has gone from struggling at this school to straight A's at another highly ranked public school. We don't regret leaving and we don't miss the elitist attitude of many staff and parents. Be careful what you wish for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

They claim to have a Zero Tolerance Policy on Bullying but during the Summer they only have a bunch of High School kids running the show (and not enough) there is a lot of bullying especially older kids on younger kids since they don t bother to separate them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2009

This is a great school! Whenever my grades were slipping the teachers and faculty informd my parents and helped me raise them. I will always remember the friendly staff and great memories there. If you want your child to excel send them here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2009

This school is unbeliveable. My daughter has attened this school in the 6th grade. she was a straight a student...until the 2nd semester when her teachers sent home a report card saying that she is failing her classess...but out og those 9 weeks not once did i get a call from the teachers that said my daughters grades were sliping from a's to f's. not once. she never had any test those nine weeks it was based on there class participitation. she participated but she's very shy. She clamied to even told the teacher that. This school is horrible all those other reviews are talking about its a great school because its a charter school but that has nothing to do with anything. do not send your child her, its a bad influnence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2008

I attended Bay Haven all throughout midle school and I feel they accurately prepared me for high school. Sure, at first I was uneasy about the whole uniform concept, but it really doesn't hinder socialization. The staff is friendly and absolutely wonderful. I could continue to rave about them for years. I highly recommend this school.


Posted February 9, 2008

Great school. The teachers really care about the students and the parents are really involved. I recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

165 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

184 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

165 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

165 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

162 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

147 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 73%
Black 10%
Hispanic 6%
Two or more races 6%
Asian 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 45%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/AN/A
Female 55%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 73%63%61%
Master's degree 27%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2501 Hawks Landing Boulevard
Panama City, FL 32405
Phone: (850) 248-3500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Mowat Middle School
Lynn Haven, FL


Hunter Academy
Lynn Haven, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT