Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Park Trails Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 984 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2007

Two of my kids have attended Park Trails Elementary since we first moved to the area in '04. My son had excellent teachers for 3 solid years. I feel strongly that his 4th grade teacher will be a reflection of the others he's had. My daughter, on the other hand, has not had it as well. She started 3rd grade with a new teacher who wasn't prepared to address her learning challenges. It unfortunately took administration about 1/2 a year to catch up to what I had told them about my daughter from Day 1. The following year, her teacher had a teaching style well-suited to her learning style. The past year was spent at 'the PAW.' We liked it. My daughter switched teachers early on, but it was worth it because the new one was of highest quality! For involved parents, this is an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2007

Great school, my kids are very happy and love their teachers and friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2006

This is one of the few elementary schools that offers Pre K through the PLACE program. Its for students with language/speech delays or other mild disabilities so they can get ready for Kinder. Its a wonderful school, with great teachers and happy students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2005

Great school. Fabulous after school programs and activities.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 29, 2005

When people say Parkland has the 'best schools' please realize, they are great for Florida. That is not saying very much as the Florida standards seem clearly inferior to the northeast.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

Having recently moved from Park Trails to an out of state school in GA I can honestly report that PT was excellent. My daughter went from 2nd through 4th grade and had great teachers. She scored perfect 5's on both the Math and Reading FCATS and loves to read because of the high academics standards at this school. When she started 5th here in GA she is working on things she did in 2nd and 3rd in Park Trails and the quality of children motivated to learn is not the same and we are living in a high income area of GA. She misses the school but after I heard the fifth grade was moving to portables on the middle school campus I thought that was unfair to the kids who spent so many years at Park Trails. I think the school spirit might suffer for it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2005

I found the academic program for K2 to be adequate. My child has had three different teachers. One I rate as 'good.' The second, I reate as 'poor.' The third (K2) I rate as 'excellent.' My child has been eager to be at school most of the time. The music program is very weak. All extracurricular activities have to be paid for. Parent involvement is high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2005

I feel the quality of education at park trails is excellent. I am very happy my kids are attending such a prestigious school .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2005

Park Trails Elementary is an excellant academic school with great teachers. My daughter has attended this school since Kindergarten and is now going into 4th grade. She loves the school and the After School Program is reliable and fun. The only negative is that it is critically overcrowded and the school houses too many portables. The builders did not take into consideration when the school was built that the area would be developed with way too many new homes and not enough schools for the children. The entire fifth grade will be put up in a local Middle School in portables until the County decides to build another Elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2004

My daughter is in first grade this year and is already taking off with a big bang. I have nothing but this highest praises for this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2003

Both my children attend Park trails Elementary... Great teachers, great school, feels like private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2003

I have three children in this school. They have received an excellent education in a caring environment.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

146 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

192 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

192 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

187 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

160 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

160 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

160 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

174 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 65%
Hispanic 19%
Black 7%
Asian 5%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 8%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%53%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10700 Trails End
Parkland, FL 33076
Phone: (754) 322-7800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Leadership Academy
Coral Springs, FL


Parkridge Christian Academy
Coral Springs, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT