Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (4 responses)
characters left.
There are 59 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mary Help Of Christians Catholic School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 27, 2016
- a community member
I would have to say there are a couple teachers that stand out in our middle school experience that would be Miss Sexton and Miss Schaub. My kids have had them both in fact my son has had them both a couple maybe three years and he has learned so much from these extremely brilliant, loving women. WE are so blessed they teach at MHOC. A big thank you to Dr. Brown as when we came to MHOC we came from a school where the principal was awful and it makes a difference to have someone whom truly cares about the students.

Mary Help Of Christians Catholic School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 27, 2016
- a community member
The teachers at MHOC go above and beyond at MHOC to make sure that no student is left behind. They have posted hours starting at the beginning of the year for any students that may need extra help throughout the year and I have witnesses students utilizing this time. Teachers also come in before school to help students prepare for state competitions as that is the only time available, that is commitment and effectiveness.


Mary Help Of Christians Catholic School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 27, 2016
- a community member
The homework is the right amount especially with the chrome books for middle school. The homework is in direct correlation to the lesson that day in class or in preparation for a test or quiz it may be more.

Mary Help Of Christians Catholic School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted February 27, 2016
- a community member
Yes, MHOC totally develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students by rewarding the positive behavior of meeting academic goals. The kids start at an early age getting rewarded by meeting goals for math and reading. This then develops as they get older for competition purposes to get the awards and medals against other schools. It works!!

Mary Help Of Christians Catholic School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted February 27, 2016
- a community member
One way MHOC fosters respect is starting at a young age with following rules. As you follow rules and do well you earn praise and it is a cycle. Self esteem and respect will follows. Respecting boundaries respecting each other with manners.


Mary Help Of Christians Catholic School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 27, 2016
- a community member
MHOC has many activities throughout the whole year to encourage and promote compassion, caring and empathy in its students. There are food drives, shoe drives, weekly pantry filling at mass. Dress down day portion money is given to charity every month. Visits to Ashton Gardens to play games with the seniors. Caring for the animals, caring for the environment the list goes on and on for each grade. The Kind club etc.

Mary Help Of Christians Catholic School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 27, 2016
- a community member
MHOC instills honesty, integrity and fairness for all the students. The teachers and staff also are aware that these students are also kids and mistakes are going to made but there are consequences to all actions. We are all expected to communicate with kindness and respect and that is strongly followed with Dr. Brown from the students to teachers and parents.

Mary Help Of Christians Catholic School 5

Posted February 27, 2016
- a community member
Mary Help of Christians Catholic School offers the best well rounded education a parent can offer their child. This school provides a safe environment for the students to reach their full potential. I have two children at the school and we have been there for many years. I have seen my little kids mature to sensitive teenagers about the world around them. Not just themselves. As far as education it is top notch. My son is graduating this year from MHOC and is entering High School in the honors program. He got the highest scores on his high school placement test. He has been involved in many math and science competitions as has my daughter. This school has much to offer. The teachers and all the staff truly care about our children as a whole individual. We are truly blessed to have had MHOC as our home the past several years. You will be just as happy if you choose this home for your kids. Peace be with you.


Mary Help Of Christians Catholic School 5

Posted February 25, 2016
- a parent
Our three children have attended MHOC since Pre-K 2. We could not be happier with the education and faith-based curriculum they have received over the past 12 years. The caring and approachable teachers and staff have reached out to our family whether it be to congratulate a success, discuss a challenging class, or encourage an extracurricular activity.

Mary Help Of Christians Catholic School 5

Posted February 25, 2016
- a parent
We moved our children out of the local Public Middle School - Mid 6th Grade. What a Blessing MHOC has been to our family. Not only did the Principal & faculty welcome us, they have provided our children with a great education. I was very impressed that the Principal is present at all school functions, before, after and during school. This is something I have not experienced in any of the local Public Schools, Elementary or Middle. The Faculty & Staff are friendly and share the same educational & safety goals for our children. We are proud to be part of th MHOC family.

Nearby schools

Mary Help Of Christians Catholic School
6000 North University Drive, Parkland, FL  33067
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 59 reviews. (954) 323-8006
Last modified Mary Help Of Christians Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top