Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Land O' Lakes High School

Public | 9-12 | 1670 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 25, 2013

I graduated from LOLHS two years ago. If I had attended any other school that would not have happened. I messed up BAD my ninth grade year and spent the next three years doing online and after school courses to catch up. All of my teachers and my guidance counselor really helped me. Sad thing is, I know quite a few of the best teachers there recently retired. There are flaws in any school but, I think it is most definitely the best public school in Pasco.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 21, 2013

The principal is a dictator not a Leader. No sense into appealing student punishments. Parent - principal conferences are not worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2012

Amazing teachers who really want to help students succeed. I would highly recommend this school to anyone else!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2011

I have went to both sunlake and land o lakes, Land o is a much better school. I have actually learned my 11th grade year. I went to sunlake for 2 years and hardly learned a thing. There are some good teacher like ms. Williams history teacher was one of my best teachers. I highly Recoomend land o lakes over sunlake. Land o also has an ffa team and a better environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 5, 2010

Despite my son having a bad teacher here, he also had very good teachers. He was not IB or even AP, but was accepted at FSU (first year). He is now a junior 3rd year student with close to a 3.9 GPA in Biology. He doesn't study much. I don't know what makes a student become an academic. I think intelligence is a factor. You can't always blame the teachers or the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2008

Known to be one of the best schools in Pasco County. Dynasty type of sports program. Pretty good teachers. Some small room for improvement, but overall it's a good school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

It's practically the best school in pasco county, they have classes for every level of student, and the teachers are wonderful. Plus they have an amazing sports department. Go Gators!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 11, 2008

I'm sure every teacher does their very best. This school has a great staff, great leadership, great sports program. I'm sure everyone tries to do their very best for the students. But, I am not happy with this school or the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

This school is the only school in all of pasco county who has american sign language classes and specializes in a program for deaf students... that to me is just awesome!


Posted December 17, 2007

school is helpful.everyone is nice.cummnicates very good.lots of clubs and sports.highly recommmend
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2007

The staff isn't helpful. The kids at this school are not nice to new comers.It is so overcrowded that not much learning is going on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

Our son graduated from this school and he wasn't prepared for college at all. The main reason this school is an 'A' school is because the IB program is in this school. The regular students are treated badly, but the IB kids get all the good teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2007

LOLHS is overcrowded. The teachers were average at least, but they don't communicate at all. The staff is somewhat helpful, but they'd rather avoid soving problems than trying to help you.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 27, 2007

This school is extremely overcrowded and is still growing. On several occasions when I have visited the school, I have seen loitering students and students 'hanging around' in the parking lots during class time. Based on my experience as a parent, there are too many students and not enough personnel to control them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2006

Outstanding educational opportunities. Superior drama, music, art, and athletic programs. Experienced, qualified, caring teachers. A full spectrum of challenging courses for all interest areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2005

School is overcrowded and there are no plans to build another High School in the area at this time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My daughter was placed in the school's drop out prevention program in her 10th grade year. Not only did she graduate high school, she is now attending Pasco/Hernando Community College. This program's counselor was the key to her success. For this reason, I consider this school a strong asset to the community. LOL High knows it's student body - their needs and their ambitions. From Drop Out Prevention to the International Baccalaurate Program, students are enrolled in the curriculms that encourages them to achieve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

They are a very smart school, and the kids that go to LOLHS are very kind and a great group of nice kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

416 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

380 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

388 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

417 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
62%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

369 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

318 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 62%
Hispanic 20%
Asian 6%
Black 6%
Two or more races 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 63%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 96%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 85%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 48%63%61%
Master's degree 46%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 4%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 8%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. FREDRIC I MELLIN
Fax number
  • (813) 794-9491

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Swimming

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20325 Gator Lane
Pasco County, FL 34638
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 794-9400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Sunlake High School
Pasco County, FL


Academy At The Lakes
Land O'Lakes, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT