Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Charles S. Rushe Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1285 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 29, 2014

I had a child who attended Rushe for 3 years and another for 2. We moved north and had to leave the school. The administration of this school is interested in the students' well being and their progress.The Principal sets high standards for excellence but also is constantly seeking ways to motivate the students and make Rushe a fun place to be.My two sons had excellent teachers.The administration is also fully supportive of the music program; the band program is excellent and leads to Sunlake which has one of the best bands in the state--lots of cooperation and interaction between the middle and high school bands.Rushe was a great place to be.We hate that our younger son did not get to finish his 8th grade year there.Kudos to the administration and the teachers! Despite County budget cuts,they make things happen.Wonderful school.Especially loved the gifted program!School was well run, safe, and clean.Administration also very open and welcoming of parents;the Principal was always willing to listen to what a parent had to say and to deal with the problem. Only drawback is lack of volunteers but a core group still makes things happen (lucky for those who don't participate)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2014

Ugh. This school is horrible. Only a few of the teachers I liked during my 6th grade year. This school has a terrible environment student wise. Teacher wise the teachers called us names. Horrible names. Names that most definently should not be coming from a teacher towards a student. The teachers were so rude that me and my friends got to the point where we started to record them. Oh and I recommend packing a lunch because they feed you slop.{submitted by a student}


Posted April 26, 2014

This is an amazing school. My kids love it for those of u out there who are thinking to go to pine view middle school don't very bad school my children went there last year it was a horrible experience
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

It's a great school. The teachers are very helpful.They will help with anything. Love the e-mail reminders and notifications. I really like their anti-bulling policies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

I ts a very good school Im happy my boy was there fo2 yeas he love it an know my other girl is goin for her second year / submitted by a parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2013

I cried on the last day of school, because of how much I loved it. I have great friends, amazing teachers, and an exellent principal. I hope I can go there again for my 7th grade year!!!


Posted August 11, 2011

Last year was my daughter's 2nd year at Rushe. I was concerned the change in Adminst. would be disruptive or change things-but I was pleasantly surprised of the changes that did take place=the enforcement of the dress code that for years has been so lax at ALL Pasco schools. The new Principal is very 'by the book' & set up boundaries for students. My daughter was upset at first because she loves her flip-flops & ripped jeans but we stuck to the school rules that ironically have been in the code book all along-especially the low cleavage on those girls! I had seen 1st hand HOW low some girls are allowed, by their parents, to dress & I have been shocked! The new code addressed the 'distraction' of improper clothing & the unsafe flip flops (it is a 3 story building after all!) The students were given ample warning & still many were caught 'bucking the system' as teenagers tend to do-including my own daughter who changed into flip-flops but was caught. I punished her further at home for disobeying-I "parent-ed" my child so the school did not have to! I have to say it has been smooth sailing the past 2 years- we look forward to #3. Teacher support is amazing. We have not seen drug use
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2011

I am wondering why the new principle is worrying so much about dress code when there is a serious drug problem at the school. When kids are pulling out drugs on the school bus I don't think in school suspension for dress code should be the main focus here. Over all there are many excellent teachers at Rushe and my child loves it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2011

My child has been a student at CSRMS since 6th grade and has had a wonderful experience until now. My child was sent to In School Suspension as a result of a violation of dress code. CSRMS has recently appointed a new principal and apparently the school has no other areas of concern to address other than dress code.Numerous students are being pulled out of their classrooms daily due to a tear in their pants. My child has had no disciplinary issues in the past and is an honor roll student- but it was necessary for her to be detained in ISS . The school's focus should be on EDUCATION, not on FASHION.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2011

In March 2009, language arts teacher Kylene Nelson behaved in an intoxicated and lewd fashion. She was placed in protective custody at a mental health facility and hospitalized under the state's Baker act. She resigned shortly thereafter, and told her story to a national audience on Inside Edition. In October 2006, while teaching at Seven Springs Middle School, she was incapacitated through alcohol. She transferred to Rushe the following school year when it opened.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

Rushe is a great school the teachers and administrative staff is awesome. I am very concerned that they don't have any traditions with this school. Such as all the surrounding middle school have an 8th grade dance and many other socials throughout the year. At Rushe 2010 graduating class will be the first group that's been there sense day one. And another will be there to honor them but years to come no memories of middle school. (No dances, field days, yearbook signing party, recognitions for 8th graders) Am I the only one that thinks this is unfair for the school not to have any dance/celebration for their graduating 8th grade class? Concerned Parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

I love Rushe! It's so fun! I reccomend it to any student no matter your personality. CSRMS makes school exiting! They have so many activities after school, I'm a cheerleader and love to cheer on my school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 2, 2010

I love Rushe! This is my first year here, and I will be going here 'till 8th grade. I'm glad! It's a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 16, 2009

I've been in CSRMS for 3 years, this being my last year. Everything that I've been going through leaves behind memories. The principle and assistance principle are all awesome. Not to forget about the teachers in school and the clubs they made. This school is just excellent in some way that can't be described.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2009

I love Rushe Middle School!!! It is the best out there!!!!!!!! My kids go there and they loveeeeeeeeeee it!!! Way better than other schools! The princible here is top notch!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2009

i love my school its so big and some students are bullying other kids but the bullying changed after corpral stimac the copral at our school tought the classes of Rod Chamberlin in G.R.E.A.T Gang Resistence Education And Training
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

417 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

416 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

438 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

426 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

435 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

435 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

434 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

423 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

442 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 61%
Hispanic 25%
Black 6%
Asian 5%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 45%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 91%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%63%61%
Master's degree 32%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 11%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. DAVID A SALERNO
Fax number
  • (813) 346-1291

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18654 Mentmore Boulevard
Pasco County, FL 34638
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 346-1200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT