Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Paxton School

Public | PK-12 | 669 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2009

I went to school at PHS 7th and 8th grade. i loved it there.i am a mother of two kids that was enrolled at W.S.Harlen,they struggled until i moved them over to PHS. Now they are honor roll for the past 3 years, the best choice i ever made for my children.Thanks PHS!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

I attended from 7th to 8th, i repeated the 8th grade because they didn't have summer school, academically they don't really have all the funds to do so because of the basketball team, when I went if you didn't play you didn't matter, when I turned 16 i went to Walton Vo-Tech now that school excels in teaching and preparing for higher learning . I am now a parent of a soon to be kindergartener and im sending her to W.S. Harlan. in Lockhart they rank at 9
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2009

I think this is the best school in the panhandle area.,My youngest daughter attends paxton,i wished i had sent my oldest daughter to paxton,the teachers are wonderful and really care about our kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2008

I Love this school. My son has struggled in math for the last 3 years and the teachers have gone above and beyond to help him and make sure that he knows and understands what he is doing. I have had one child graduate from Paxton and currently have 3 enrolled. I would never change my kids from here. I have been totally impressed with the teachers and other staff in Paxton school. Thanks to all the teachers and admin staff for all that you do!!! You are very appreciated!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2008

i love this school...the teachers and everything are just like family too me...please please keep up the goood work on giving the students there including me....a very good education....
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2008

If you have a struggling child they do not notify you untill its too late and they do not offer summer school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2008

I am a student of Paxton High School, soon to be graduate, and I couldn't imagine going to school anywhere else. Our school is so small and connected. Yes, our school has its bad days, but most days are easy laid back days. Our teachers and staff members are like our older brother & sisters when we need someone to truly talk to. When I leave here, I'll always know I have my Alumni behind me 100% of the way.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 29, 2008

this is a great school and i would recommend it to any caring parent that wants to send their child to great and supporting school.Fcat is an important part of the school and we have an A+ school for many years now.I am in the 7th grade and have been going here since kindergarten.i am 99.9% sure that your child would love going to a school like Paxton.There aren't many students but everone knows everyone there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 30, 2008

As a parent of 2 boys, one middle school and one high school, I have been more than pleased with Paxton School overall. The teachers are helpful, the staff is helpful, and the environment is pleasant. The smaller school atmosphere has been a blessing for both of my sons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2007

I have seven kids that all went to Paxton It is a great school for education, safety and athletics
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2006

I am a former student of Paxton High School. The school prepares students for the next level of their education. The school takes pride in both its athletic programs and academic programs. I feel the quality of education there is far better than the alternative area schools.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 13, 2006

This my senior year at Paxton High School I love Paxton School to death even though it can have good days and bad days.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 28, 2006

The level of academmics is very high at Paxton. The students love it there and the teachers are very attentive to the students needs. For there being 4 students per teacher, the requirements are reached and skills are mastered by the students. I am very proud to be a parent of a student at Paxton High. All children are very respectful and are very well behaved, simply because of the great staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2005

I think the school does not academically prepare students. They do not have the basic fundamentals to teach the students to pass the fcat. The school has been rated as a 'c' school. As far as the Paxton High School faculty are concerned academics come second to athletics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2005

It is a good school, the sports are awesome.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted April 11, 2004

I am a former student of PHS. While I was there I enjoyed it and thought I was learning a lot, until I went on to college. Paxton did not prepare me well, because they did not offer high math courses and programs like other larger schools can offer. The worst part about Paxton is that it seems they let students fall between the cracks. If you aren't a student who really pushes yourself they wont help you do it. I am very successful in my career today, but I don't give this school the credit for it. I had to work hard to get it in college.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 24, 2003

I really enjoy going to school at Paxton. I had been homeschooled for 5 years before I attended Paxton. I didn't know anyone when I enrolled there. With in a few hours I knew everyone in my 10th grade class. (there are only 35) And now I have a best friend, and a whole basketball team of friends. This school is just a little country school where everybody just wants to be your friend.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2003

i am a former student at paxton high school they have wonderful class there but most of all the Ag program is the best. If it wasn't for Odon Russell there wouldn't be an Ag program. There are a bunch of students that like helping him drive the tractor and taking care of the hogs. they will learn from this experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2003

I'm not a parent, but a former student. I attended from first til graduation. I believe this school is exceptional in many ways. Many programs were great while I was going to school there. Home economics, Agriculture, Vo-Tech, and clubs as such as Youth for Christ all extroadanary programs and teachers that taught them.My issue was some teachers payed special attention only to those students that were active in sports and had parent involvement in there education making these children the so called preps. Now there was other teachers that showed interest in the less fortunate of children like my brothers and I. I do realize that this takes place in schools all over the country. For me this has had an impact on me. I beleive I could of accomplished more in my life if only I would have been pushed harder by my parents and teachers. I took for granted the time I had in school and wish only I could go back and payed more attention. In my graduating class out of some popular girls there were two with child at graduation and one pregnant with child at graduation. This girl was our Valivictorian.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 25, 2003

This school is a wonderful school fro schools. It is a country school. It has a beautiful front yard and it has all students K-12 together. I have a 14 year old daughter that goes to this school and she loves it there!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

28 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

45 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

53 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

51 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
92%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 89%
Two or more races 4%
Black 3%
Hispanic 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 94%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 89%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 75%68%61%
Master's degree 25%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

21893 US Highway 331 N
Paxton, FL 32538
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 892-1230

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Laurel Hill School
Laurel Hill, FL


Mossy Head School
DeFuniak Springs, FL


Walton County Jail Program
Defuniak Springs, FL


Miss Southern Belle
DeFuniak Springs, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT