Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Watkins Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 723 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 2, 2013

This school has done a TERRIFIC job with my 7 year old son who has learning disabilities. He has been there now two years and now his sister has started in kindergarten. I truly look forward to see her blossom as every young child should. Every teacher my son has had, has always been easily accessible and friendly. My daughters teacher Ms. Alverez made my daughters first day extremely memorable. Thank you Watkins Elementary, keep up the terrific job you do!! I know it isn't an easy job, BUT YOU ALL MAKE IT LOOK VERY EASY
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2008

Watkins is a really good school for my kids. The teachers did their best for the 07-08 scholl year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2007

My second grader now promoted to third came to Watkins in the 2006-2007 school year from an 'A' school. Since Watkins also obtained an 'A' rating, my expectations were high. Unfortunately I was soon interacting with less than competent teachers, counselors and school staff. As for the principle, she gave the appearance of having a take charge and correct the issue attitude, but in the end there was no resolution. My second grader often didn't receive enough instruction. At times the work didn't appear to be challenging enough and other times the work was too difficult. The Dibbles scores from the beginning of the year declined I feel as a result of the lack of teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2007

I do not think the school assists the children that need extra help. My son is in the second grade and has had difficulties since he started there. I have had numerous Parent/Teacher conferences, mtgs w/ the Vice Principle and Guidance Counselor. They all say they are going to put him in a program and get him some counseling to help but never follow through. They give a ridiculous amount of homework but yet there are no tutors to assist them. Often when my son does his homework in their aftercare program, most of the problems are wrong when he comes home. I think this school is allot of talk and no action. He will not be returning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2007

I am happy with the way the school is ahndling my 3rd grader who is coming from a gifted program in miami-dade county they are challenging her constantly. I am always informed of new programs and events that will take place at the school. Keep up the good work watkins!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2006

st say it is very disappointint to see how low the level of parent involvement there is at watkins,i dont believe there is even a pta.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2005

Very low parent involvedment. Test scores are also low.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 13, 2005

I think that the teacher and staff try to commit to the educational well-being of the students however they need to try again. The principal Dr. Wilson (a former retiree) seems as though she is all talk w/ very little action. My child is struggling in school and I have and am doing all I can to possibly assist him such as online resources, parent-teacher conferences, etc. I have been begging the school to assist me with placing my child in speech and testing him for educational disabilities all to no avail. This began in kindergarten and has continued w/ still no testing at his expense. I am disappointed and hurt and they advertise that they care however actions speak louder than words.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2004

Watkins is an excellent school. They offer 3 differents languages to learn and also have a sophistocated communications program. The principal and her staff have worked really hard with the students and I have noticed an improvement in education and behavior from the students.
—Submitted by a staff


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
44%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
35%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
27%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

119 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 81% 23%
Hispanic 16% 29%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
White N/A 42%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 91%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 51%53%61%
Master's degree 47%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 12%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Lori Mendez
Fax number
  • (754) 323-7840

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3520 SW 52nd Ave
Pembroke Park, FL 33023
Phone: (754) 323-7800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Annunciation School
West Park, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT